Ulster Senior Football Final 17th July - Derry v Donegal

Started by tbrick18, June 26, 2011, 09:27:03 PM

Also, was very disappointed in Brennan's performance today. When it was clear that shooting from distance wasn't working he didn't change tactics.

There's a lot to be said for the laptop.

donegal lad

God its great to see some people on here talking us don't and calling our style of puke football i must of been watching a different kildare game last night as well as seemed to me their style of play when not in possession is get men behind the ball and break quick but must be ok for teams outside of ulster to play like that

Quote from: donegal lad on July 17, 2011, 11:38:35 PM
God its great to see some people on here talking us don't and calling our style of puke football i must of been watching a different kildare game last night as well as seemed to me their style of play when not in possession is get men behind the ball and break quick but must be ok for teams outside of ulster to play like that

As I've said previously its not getting bodies behind the ball that angers me but the systematic fouling and negative tactics that annoy me... You will not beat the better teams playing the way you do. I wish Donegal would just grow a set of balls and go for it!!!!!!

Quotesystematic fouling

Got laughed at when I suggested Donegal did this against Tyrone.

Refs are taking NO action against them for this.

And well done winning Ulster despite being in the preliminary round.

Quote from: tyroneman on July 18, 2011, 12:29:16 AM
Quotesystematic fouling

You mean against the tactic in general? (If its a deliberate tactic, we certainly didn't invent it this season and have suffered other teams using it against us in the past.) What action should referees be taking, apart from giving the free and punishing the tackler as appropriate?

playerfit

Think the point is the free is no being given j20. And just because its been used against donegal in past does not justify themusing and expanding on it now

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: DoireGael on July 17, 2011, 11:27:13 PM
Brennans reaction on the Gaa Media player on RTE describe how I feel.
Donegal's penalty was not justified, but I have seen them given before, so fare enough

Balls it wasn't justified.

When ye come out, get nowhere near the ball, and then trip the forward in the big box - that is a penalty. Doesn't matter if the referee is a foot away, 100 foot away, or on the f**king moon - its still a penalty.

Brennan was completely in the wrong when whining (in that unique derry style  :P ;) :D) about the referee after the match.
i usse an speelchekor

RadioGAAGAA

Oh, and for the Derry penalty - the Donegal man actually caught the ball when shouldering the Derry man that was coming in - neither had controlled possession prior to this - the ball was there to be won, he was only protecting himself from the Derry man coming in.

Tough luck - but no foul.
i usse an speelchekor

sheamy

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 18, 2011, 08:07:43 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on July 17, 2011, 11:27:13 PM
Brennans reaction on the Gaa Media player on RTE describe how I feel.
Donegal's penalty was not justified, but I have seen them given before, so fare enough

Balls it wasn't justified.

When ye come out, get nowhere near the ball, and then trip the forward in the big box - that is a penalty. Doesn't matter if the referee is a foot away, 100 foot away, or on the f**king moon - its still a penalty.

Brennan was completely in the wrong when whining (in that unique derry style  :P ;) :D) about the referee after the match.

When a keeper comes out, the forward kicks the ball over the end line and falls over the goalkeeper, it's not a penalty. When a player gets a shoulder in the face, it is. Some of Deegan's decision were shocking to say the least. Brennan is wholly justified.

However, I'd also like to say congrats to Donegal. The game would have been alot closer had the decisions been made properly. They might still have won it but they deserve credit and well done. Let me tell you if we got 5 dodgy penalties and won by a point, I'd not give a shit  :)

sheamy

Quote from: J70 on July 18, 2011, 01:36:56 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 18, 2011, 12:29:16 AM
Quotesystematic fouling

You mean against the tactic in general? (If its a deliberate tactic, we certainly didn't invent it this season and have suffered other teams using it against us in the past.) What action should referees be taking, apart from giving the free and punishing the tackler as appropriate?

Referees just need to recognise it's happening and have common sense. Many many fouls went unpunished in terms of yelllows. The tactic has been around for ages and Derry people shouldn't complain. We beat Tyrone in 2006 doing the exact same. Tyrone won AIs doing same. Donegal did a massive amount of it with no sanction from the ref at all. It'll eventually cost down the line. Everyone knows the whole rules of the game change for the 1/4's and beyond. However, again you do what you can get away with. Nice boys win nuthin and all that.

oakleafgael

Firstly congratulations to the men from the hills, if they had been playing anyone but ourselves I would have been delighted for them. On the game itself, there definitely wasn't 6 points between the teams but thats what the scoreboard showed when the long whistle went.

I actually don't think Derry played that badly and where well in the game when the penalty was awarded. The biggest complaint I would have about the team was they dropped their heads a bit after the goal was scored and let Donegal get another couple of scores which left to big of a gap against a packed defence.

The penalty was the turning point in the game and it was on the soft side but if it had been at the other end I would have felt hard done by if it hadn't been given. Deegan made a complete balls of it by awarding it and then going to his umpires. If he was so convinced he should have stuck to his guns and had it taken quickly, this contributed directly to the melee which followed straight after.

The penalty shout that Derry had was a stone wall penalty and should have been given. It was clear as day. McGuckin had the ball in two hands at chest height when he was shouldered in the chest and head. The only possible defence for Deegan was that he couldn't see through the crowd of Donegal defenders so couldn't give it, although he gave the Donegal penalty from a lot further out and from directly behind it.

I said before the match we would struggle to score 10 points and so it proved. We have very rarely managed to beat a team who play the system that Donegal employ, the only time I can remember is in Omagh in 06 against Tyrone. Donegal have taken that system to a completely different level and play it very well. Their systematic fouling around the midfield is well worked and its here that Deegan is entirely to blame. I can understand the two penalty decisions, Donegal's looked like it was from his position and he was maybe unsighted for the Derry one, but his failure to deal with the fouling from Donegal gave them a massive advantage and was one of the deciding factors in the winning of the game.

The loss of Eoin Bradley was felt badly from two perspectives. His scoring ability and tieing up Lacey. He was excellent yesterday around midfield winning possession when Donegal couldn't get their hands on kickouts.

It will be hard to lift the Derry team for Kildare next weekend, which is a farcical situation to be in, but the way Kildare play will suit us better than the match yesterday. If it was in a fortnights time I would quietly fancy our chances.

Great atmosphere at the ulster final yesterday.
Donegal deserved to win.
the penalty Donegal were awarded was not a penalty - not even in the current rules where most things seem to be easy frees.
I am a bit astonished how people on this thread point out there was 'contact' !!
Do you think this is tiddlywinks ?? Of course there is contact, its a fecking contact sport !!
The same kind of challenges are not blown when midfiedlers contest the ball - so how would this be a penalty ? (contact  ::) FFS). I wouldnt have expected to be awarded this if I was playing and was the forward in that situation.
However Murphy and Donegal were not going to turn this down.
The Derry shout was more of a penalty but the result might have been closer, I dont think the result would have altered.
Derry didnt kick the ball into the FF line- the loss of Bradleys meant they didnt believe in their own ability without him and continued to pass the bal across the field rugby style then have a pop. Yesterdays weather didnt suit that.
Cant see Derry being able to put up anything more than a token rearguard against Kildare. We cant score and we dont play the ball into the danger zone so that will be that.

I also think that the pesistent fouling by donegal should have resulted in something more from the ref, but all the good teams do this. With the exception of a nearly naive Cork (who if they did bring this into their play ,would be near unbeatable) all the top teams will foul their opponents to stop them building momentum into a quick attack, Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin and not Kildare with the old armagh defensive influence and tactic.
Best of luck to Donegal, will be interesting to see how they get on in the remainder of the championship. Could be a dark horse. I always said I believed they had the talent. Now they have the discipline, belief and gameplan.

I have said this before, but why is Barry McGoldrick on the Derry Panel never mind team?  I have never seen a man contribute as little as he does, and I have watched him quite a few times now.  Every time he plays a match, he is constantly in a referees faces squealing about something.  I couldn't believe it yesterday, no matter where an incident happened, he was there badgering away and at his usual pushing and shoving.  Has there ever been a footballer in the GAA that annoyingly pushes, shoves and squeals as thon boy?  I still smile at him being put on his hole by Colm Cavanagh.