Roscommon v Mayo Connacht final 2011

Started by ross4life, June 24, 2011, 07:23:17 PM

Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 15, 2011, 11:59:10 AM
Things must be looking up for Mayo - Liam Hayes has forecast a 'relatively easy win for Roscommon' (last night's 'Off The Ball' on Newstalk). Not only that, but Mayo's record over the last 25 years makes them a 'failed entity' according to Liameen. In fact, he doesn't see any evidence as to why Mayo should be considered one of the big two in Connaught!!!

Fortunately Eugene McGee was on hand to talk some sense. Although he went for a Ros win too.

Ros may win, but I don't see it being 'relatively easy'...

Liam is a bit of a "failed entity" himself when it comes to match analysis. Mayo should feel honoured... Kerry are the other side he frequently targets.

Quote from: Blowitupref on July 15, 2011, 02:17:29 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 15, 2011, 12:46:38 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 14, 2011, 07:56:52 PM
I heard from a fella with garda friends that enda will definitely be at the match.
He will be leading the teams around in the parade and singing the national anthem.
ok, the second sentence is made up, but he will be at the match.
Well you Mayo folks sure are thick-skinned but i suppose he had little choice after what Ming said about him.

Roscommon TD laid down the gauntlet to Enda Kenny, arguing that he should not stay away. "It would say a lot about his feelings on the issue if he doesn't come to the match," Luke 'Ming' Flanagan told The Mayo News last night (Monday). "What would that say about his stance? It would tell me that he is 100 per cent aware of the betrayal he has perpetrated on the people of Roscommon. What would it say about the Taoiseach of this country if felt he could not attend a GAA game?"
If Mr Kenny does go, he will not only face demonstrators, but also a strong symbol of their grievance, said Deputy Flanigan. "All that is between Hyde Park and the hospital is the graveyard and people can draw any amount of conclusions from that. Will it be his political graveyard?

TBH well said by Ming.

I dont agree. We cant have it both ways. Most Roscommon people who are incensed over his handling of the hospital situation would be further provoked to see him in the Hyde supporting Mayo on Sunday. As Tubberman says all the atttention will be on tha match now and thats as it should be.

Quote from: ballinaman on July 15, 2011, 12:35:50 PM
Things must be looking up for Mayo - Liam Hayes has forecast a 'relatively easy win for Roscommon' (last night's 'Off The Ball' on Newstalk). Not only that, but Mayo's record over the last 25 years makes them a 'failed entity' according to Liameen. In fact, he doesn't see any evidence as to why Mayo should be considered one of the big two in Connaught!!!

Fortunately Eugene McGee was on hand to talk some sense. Although he went for a Ros win too.

God I can't stand that bollix. He dedicates his summer to having a swipe at Mayo football every year.

i used to feel the same way but then i just stopped reading the shite he wrote and stopped listening to him  and guess what it worked, He hasn't a clue and comes across as a very bitter person   

Yes for all concerned it's best Enda Kenny is not attending but i wonder who will get the honours of painting a yellow stripe down his back  ;)

boosabum

Quote from: ross matt on July 15, 2011, 02:26:01 PM

Liam is a bit of a "failed entity" himself when it comes to match analysis. Mayo should feel honoured... Kerry are the other side he frequently targets.

yes, heard liam on the radio with liam mchale a few weeks back. Liam h was saying that football should be about having 15 lads on the pitch being big enough to stand up and see a game home and none of this crack of bringing on subs or needing a panel. this is the same hayes who castigated Micko on TV3 when his wicklow side went 5 or 6 games unchanged and without using a sub. I think he call him a stubborn old goat who has alienated half his panel. i know he is suffering from illness but by god he's full of the brown. Entertaining when he's talking about other teams though!

Hmmmm. At this stage it looks like only Paddy Power fancies us.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 15, 2011, 01:46:31 PM
Interesting preview from former Roscommon manager John Maughan in the Mayo Advertiser:

I have been chatting to a few of my Roscommon friends All the pressure of this final is on Roscommon and it will be interesting to see if they crack under it.

That must have been a short conversation  :D :D
How is there ANY pressure on Ros? We already won a Connacht 12 months ago , a year ahead of our usual 10 year schedule . Most genuine Ros fans see it as a test as to where we are and what progress we've made ( if any) and let's see how it goes.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2011, 06:14:54 PM

He's the lad you want fancying ye!

Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2011, 06:14:54 PM

Plenty of the Mayo men in the media have tipped you, Last year Roscommon were 5/1 with some bookies even though they were both Div 3 teams in the final. I wonder what the odds would be if Roscommon were a Div 1 team hadn't lost to Mayo for 10 years & beat them by 20pts the last time they played them?

I hear the Liam Hayes interview was pretty tough listening for a Mayo supporter - anybody know where you'd find it online.

Very hard to know what is going to happen on Sunday. The Rossies here are trying to play the poor relation and talk about seeing how far they have come - they don't believe that. They know that this is a Mayo team that is beatable and deep down expect to win and have full confidence in their young players.

It is very hard to know where Mayo are. We were uncertain before the Galway game. Galway were atrocious. This team has only played one match together. Did Galway fail to find us out or are we on the right track?

I have a feeling it could be another tough day at the office and home advantage might swing it for the Ros. They will want to avenge the pain of two years ago.

Tatler Jack

Bhuel  níl ach tamallín beag fágtha anois go dtabharfaidh an dá fhoireann seo aghaidh ar a chéile i bPáirc de hÍde agus an teannas is an teaspaí ag eirí.

Is iad Maigh Eo rogha na cotianta agus ní haon hionadh sin. Cé go raibh droch bhliain acu anuraidh sa craobh bhí siad cuíosach maith sa sraith.  Ag an am cheap a lán daoine go raibh dul chun chinn déanta ag Horan agus iad rogha na coitianta don Chraobh Chonnachta leis na geallghlacadóirí.  Ansin tháinig an tromluí i gcoinne Londain agus géarchéim de mhuinín arís. Bhí an easpa muiníne soiléir sa chéad leath i gcoinne Gaillimh i gcluiche chomh measa is a bhí le feiceáil le fada an lá. Ach bhí Maigh Eo i bhfad níos fearr sa dara leath nuair a d'aimsigh siad cúl is ocht gcúilín. Cé go raibh Gaillimh go dona tabharfaidh an taispeántas sa dara leath muinín dóibh  agus tabharfaidh siad aghaidh ar an cluiche ceannais lán de féin mhuinín agus dóchais. Ní bheidh aon faitíos orthu roimh Ros Comáin mar le blianta fada anois tá an lámh in uachtar acu i gcoinne "rógairí na gcaorach"

Cad faoi fhoireann Ros Comáin? Tá siad ag ag tógáil fhoireann céim le céim le cúpla bliain anuas bunaithe ar fhoireann a bhuaigh cluiche ceannais chraobh peile na mionúir i 2006. Bhí  bua acu gan coinne anuraidh i gcraobh Chonnachta ach níor ghlac a lán daoine gurbh iad an fhoireann is fearr sa cúige agus go raibh an t-ádh acu. Beidh triail i bhfad níos deacra rompu sa cluiche seo. An bhfuil siad níos fearr ná anuraidh? De réir na torthaí sa sraith agus an cluiche i gcoinne Liatroim tá roinnt fheabhais san fhoireann. Tá Senan Kilbride agus Conor Devanney ar ais ach tá David O'Gara ar iarraidh. Ta cúpla cosantóirí nua an bhliain seo ach fós níl cosaint socraithe láidir acu agus tá easpa airde is nirt sa líne lán chúil. Sílim nach bhfuil na cúlaithe maith go leor fós mar aonad chun smacht a choimeád ar tosaithe Mhaigh Eo ar feadh an seachtó nóiméad. Is "work in progress " an fhoireann seo agus is é mo bharúil nach bhfuil siad fós réidh chun dul in iomaíocht leis na bocanna móra maidir le Mhaigh Eo!!

Tá idir taithí agus imreoirí nua ag Mhaigh Eo agus an féith is tréine acu ná an seilbh a bhuacaint – san aer nó ar an dtalamh. Is minic nach mbaineann siad mórán tairbhe as an seilbh seo ach i gcoinne Ros Comáin is malairt an gcás agus tá siad in ann scóranna a aimsiú gan stró. D'imir na deartháireacha  O' Sé go maith i lár na páirce i gcoinne Gaillimh agus  McGarrity le fáil freisin ceapaim go mbeidh an lámh in uachtar acu i lár na páirce. Tá Andy Moran ag imirt go sár mhaith faoi láthair agus tá sé in ann rith go díreach i dtreo an chúil. Imríonn Alan Dillon go maith i gcónaí i gcoinne Ros Chomáin agus tá se ar cumas an beirt seo scrios a dhéanamh. Sa líne lán tosaithe tá Freeman agus Doherty ábalta cúil a aimsiú agus gan dabht beidh seansanna acu.  B'fhéidir nach bhfuil cosaint Mhaigh Eo gan locht ach ceapaim nach dtiocfaidh siad faoi an bhrú chéanna is a mbeidh ar chosaint an fhoireann baile

Táim ag súil ar taispeántas bríomhar, díograiseach, macánta ó Ros Comáin. Ach an leor é sin? Tá níos mó taithí ag Mhaigh Eo, iad níos fearr ag buachaint seilbh agus leis an muinín ar ais ceapaim go mbeidh an bua acu le farrasbarr ceithre nó cúig cúilín Ach nílimid gan dóchas!!!!

Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2011, 06:17:33 PM
Interesting preview from former Roscommon manager John Maughan in the Mayo Advertiser:

I have been chatting to a few of my Roscommon friends All the pressure of this final is on Roscommon and it will be interesting to see if they crack under it.

How is there ANY pressure on Ros? We already won a Connacht 12 months ago , a year ahead of our usual 10 year schedule . Most genuine Ros fans see it as a test as to where we are and what progress we've made ( if any) and let's see how it goes.

Don t be coddin yourself Rossfan :D If you think that, I suspect you are in a small minority. But I doubt you either are going to settle for a good showing against a Div one side. You don t go from winning the bloody thing last year to putting on a good show against what would be percieved in Roscommon as a county anybody can take in the championship. And with Ros being by all accounts better than last year.
  Most Roscommon fans would have less respect for Mayo football than likes of Liam Hayes. That they see us as a yardstick to measure their progress is having a laugh. I don t have to wait until 1 o clock on Sunday, when I ll see and hear that confidence in the Hyde, to know that they ll be bubbling with confidence like they always have been with only a couple of exceptions down the years.

Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2011, 09:15:15 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2011, 06:17:33 PM

Don t be coddin yourself Rossfan :D If you think that I suspect you are in a small minority. But I doubt you are going to settle for a good showing against a Div one side. You don t go from winning the bloody thing last year to putting on a good show against what would be percieved in Roscommon as a county anybody can take in the championship. And with Ros being by all accounts better than last year.
  Most Roscommon fans would have less respect for Mayo football than likes of Liam Hayes. That they see us as a yardstick to measure their progress is having a laugh. I don t have to wait until 1 o clock on Sunday, when I ll see and hear that confidence in the Hyde, to know that they ll be bubbling like they always have been with only a couple of exceptions.
Jasus Moysider I don't know who or where they are all these Rossies who have no respect for ye're abilities or who have great confidence in our lads.
We really don't know how good (or bad ) we are and Sunday will give us some answers.
As for winning it last year... only 9 of that team line out Sunday.
Mar a dúirt an Tatler  " Nílimid gan dóchas" ach .....
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

I wonder what the odds would be if Roscommon were a Div 1 team hadn't lost to Mayo for 10 years & beat them by 20pts the last time they played them?
I don't think it's possible for a Mayo head to put the boot on the other foot. Even when they comfortably beat Galway they where trying to pin the favourite tag on us, how we would love any type over Galway never mind a win pulling up.

The truth is we got the monkey off our back by winning Connacht last July for the first time in nine long hard years however we are still work in progress a lot of the team is made up of 22/23 year olds & Kevin Higgins,Niall Carty,Donal Ward,Senan O'Grady & Senan Kilbride will be starting in their first ever Senior Connacht final. What Mayo have over us is vast experience in the like's of Keith Higgins,Alan Dillon,Andy Moran,Ronan McGarrity etc.. those guys could lead a sinking ship to safety.

For me home advantage will only come into effect if happen to be still in the game with 10mins to go so here's hoping.

P.S i wouldn't pay much attention to Liam Hayes he clearly hate's Mayo & anyways he went for a easy Sligo win last year.