Roscommon v Mayo Connacht final 2011

Started by ross4life, June 24, 2011, 07:23:17 PM

Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 10:45:54 PM

the contemptible decision to send off his brother in 01, a decision that cost us that particular final.

Was talking to a disappointed MWR man after that glorious day who said it was all McMenamon's fault .." If he had only kicked the ****in' ball bloody wide like he always does...."
;D :D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2011, 10:59:34 AM

the contemptible decision to send off his brother in 01, a decision that cost us that particular final.

Was talking to a disappointed MWR man after that glorious day who said it was all McMenamon's fault .." If he had only kicked the ****in' ball bloody wide like he always does...."
Or Nestor trying some dodgy flick hand pass over his head on the stand side of the pitch!Christ!

Quote from: ross4life on July 12, 2011, 11:23:36 PM
Cost ye the game good god almighty! Wrong man was sent off as it was Peter Burke that threw the punch. Noel Connelly is a first man in the Mayo media to tip Roscommon, all the others went for a easy Mayo win.

our own Willie Hegarty tipped Mayo.

I didn't think ye were soft enough to consider this a punch in Ros??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y86U8s-95Ik&feature=player_detailpage#t=297s

I see Noel Connelly is going for a Roscommon win - better forwards and proven free-taker. He could be right but as a former manager of a lot of these guys it doesn t say a lot about his faith in them. As a former player and captain I would expect a more bullish attitude.

On a different note it is good to see that he is still bitter about the contemptible decision to send off his brother in 01, a decision that cost us that particular final. So we re due a break in this one but my experience of Collins as a referee I wouldn t be surprised by another shafting. It s a wonder they didn t send down that Monaghan ***** to show us what a great referree he is again before he goes. That way both counties would have something to protest about.

You're not having a good day Moysider. Connelly should never have been sent off and what Dolan did was disgraceful. But cost ye the game??????
You've taken Mayo's sense of self pity to a whole new level. David Nestor's "back flick" cost ye the game. Ross were down to 14 men themselves along time before that.

And dont blame the ref considering he missed Colm "the body" trying to take Conor Connelly out of it off the ball and not to mention current sports journalist of the year David Brady repeatedly punching an 18 year old seamie o'neill in the head.

Mayo have more than dished it out to Ross since if vengeance was a motive. On Sunday ye have the players and the experience to win by a few points provided mort and Mcgarrity are back. Ye hardly need perceived grievances to motivate ye.

Quote from: ross matt on July 13, 2011, 11:42:53 AM

I see Noel Connelly is going for a Roscommon win - better forwards and proven free-taker. He could be right but as a former manager of a lot of these guys it doesn t say a lot about his faith in them. As a former player and captain I would expect a more bullish attitude.

On a different note it is good to see that he is still bitter about the contemptible decision to send off his brother in 01, a decision that cost us that particular final. So we re due a break in this one but my experience of Collins as a referee I wouldn t be surprised by another shafting. It s a wonder they didn t send down that Monaghan ***** to show us what a great referree he is again before he goes. That way both counties would have something to protest about.

You're not having a good day Moysider. Connelly should never have been sent off and what Dolan did was disgraceful. But cost ye the game??????
You've taken Mayo's sense of self pity to a whole new level. David Nestor's "back flick" cost ye the game. Ross were down to 14 men themselves along time before that.

And dont blame the ref considering he missed Colm "the body" trying to take Conor Connelly out of it off the ball and not to mention current sports journalist of the year David Brady repeatedly punching an 18 year old seamie o'neill in the head.

Mayo have more than dished it out to Ross since if vengeance was a motive. On Sunday ye have the players and the experience to win by a few points provided mort and Mcgarrity are back. Ye hardly need perceived grievances to motivate ye.

:D :D He's a good laugh on Newstalk in fairness - that's the role he should be targetting, I don't think the majority will ever take him seriously as a tactical analyst!

And by the way, I'd be pretty certain Mort won't be togging on Sunday (assuming you're referring to Conor).

neilthemac

Quote from: Tubberman on July 13, 2011, 11:32:08 AM
Quote from: ross4life on July 12, 2011, 11:23:36 PM
Cost ye the game good god almighty! Wrong man was sent off as it was Peter Burke that threw the punch. Noel Connelly is a first man in the Mayo media to tip Roscommon, all the others went for a easy Mayo win.

our own Willie Hegarty tipped Mayo.

great goal at the end there.... good man Gerry!!

Quote from: ballinaman on July 13, 2011, 11:23:30 AM

Or Nestor trying some dodgy flick hand pass over his head on the stand side of the pitch!Christ!

f**king hell I can remember that so frigging clearly. Why the hell didn't the hoor just kick it wide!!! :-\

Yeah Tubberman. Listeners (and colleagues) laughing at him rather than with him though.

I'm referring to Conor yeah. I thought he was definitely togging. He played club last week did he not?
Surely able to come on if needed and hit frees?
Genuinely beleive this match will be that tight that something as basic as this could be the difference although like I said before McGarrity on form would definitely swing midfield Mayo's way against any opposition.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2011, 11:56:27 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 13, 2011, 11:23:30 AM

f**king hell I can remember that so frigging clearly. Why the hell didn't the hoor just kick it wide!!! :-\

Because he was playing for the Brazil of gaelic football Farrendeelin.

Bod Mor

Quote from: Tubberman on July 13, 2011, 11:32:08 AM

Christ, will ya look at the crowds at them games!!

If we get a game as entertaining as either of them to games, then we're in for a treat!
I have a feeling it will be a draw on Sunday and it will put the whole championship schedule upside down.

Starting to get in the mood for it now surely. Jesus lads isn't it great to be back in a Connacht final again. Come on Mayo!

Hope to make my first Mayo game in 2 years on the  bank holiday weekend. The blood is boiling already.
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

Quote from: ross matt on July 13, 2011, 11:59:58 AM
Yeah Tubberman. Listeners (and colleagues) laughing at him rather than with him though.

I'm referring to Conor yeah. I thought he was definitely togging. He played club last week did he not?
Surely able to come on if needed and hit frees?
Genuinely beleive this match will be that tight that something as basic as this could be the difference although like I said before McGarrity on form would definitely swing midfield Mayo's way against any opposition.

Well if you place any trust in what managers say these days, Horan has more or less ruled him out for now:
"Conor has made great progress and it was good to see him coming on against Claremorris but he knows himself that he has a bit to go yet. He needs to be playing consistently at club level before he can expect to make the step-up to inter-county fare after an injury like that," Horan told The Western People newspaper.

I think he's right too - Conor only came on as a sub in the club game, he's not near fit enough for a Connacht Final I'd say.
McGarrity will be playing at some stage, but most people expect him to be held in reserve and brought on.
Seamie O'Shea will work himself into the ground and will probably need to be replaced, so McG could come on then, or earlier if we're being cleaned.

On Brady, he was definitely trying too hard on TV3 at the start, and he ended up looking a bit of an eejit - people were definitely laughing at him rather than with him then. But he's a bit more comfortable now (on Newstalk anyway, is he still on TV3?), and doesn't take himself too seriously - you will probably say that's because nobody else does either  :D

A few things. Enda Kenny will go to the match. He can't not. He'll be seen to be running scared if he doesn't go.

Can't see any changes in the Mayo team.

If any Mayo player needs motivation, they only need to look at the YouTube clip of that 2001 Final. Still galls me how we left that one behind. Ray Connelly sending off was wrong and probably was crucial. 15 men playing against 14 wouldn't have conceded that goal at the end. People blame Nestor for the stupid flick but the ball still had to be worked 100 yards up the field before it hit the net.

With the Enda Kenny issue added to the typical 'fierce' rivalry between the counties, Sunday's game could be poisonous in terms of atmosphere. Could be the same on the field too. I hope I'm wrong, I hope we get a cracker because I'm really looking forward to Sunday, just worried that things could be a bit hateful.

And as for the North Mayo argument - the cheek of you moysider trying to pass Pat Holmes off as a west Mayo man. A son of Moygownagh, right in the heart of north Mayo. I know you know that but your effort at rebranding him was deadly!

Ros first out of the blocks to name an unchanged team:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0713/roscommon.html

QuoteRoscommon manager Fergal O'Donnell has kept faith with the same starting 15 who defeated Leitrim for Sunday's Connacht SFC final against Mayo.

Cathal Cregg meanwhile is determined to prove that Roscommon are worthy Connacht champions by reclaiming the title this year, while he also wants to avenge the heavy defeat of June of 2009.

He said: 'You'd still hear a lot of people saying that we got the easy route to the final last year and that Sligo took their eye off the ball.

'Sligo brought us back to level, we went ahead and they brought us level again and we still kicked on and won that game.

And as for the 20-point drubbing in 2009: 'I was just a sub that day but it was pretty humiliating and it'd be great to put that right this weekend.

'To beat one of the Big Two in this Connacht final would definitely be massive, and especially to retain back-to-back titles.'

Roscommon XV v Mayo in the Connacth SFC final at Dr Hyde Park, Sunday, 2pm:

1 Geoffrey Claffey, 2 Seán McDermott, 3 Niall Carty, 4 Stephen Ormsby, 5 David Keenan, 6 Peter Domican (Capt.), 7 Donal Ward, 8 Michael Finneran, 9 Karol Mannion, 10 Senan O'Grady, 11 Kevin Higgins, 12 Cathal Cregg, 13 Conor Devaney, 14 Senan Kilbride, 15 Donal Shine.

It's some set of forwards in fairness. The Mayo defence will need another strong performance to convince people of their worth, and they'll really have their work cut out on Sunday.

Quote from: Bod Mor on July 13, 2011, 12:12:59 PM

Jesus lads isn't it great to be back in a Connacht final again.

For fcuk sake it's only 2 years ago since ye're last one  ::)
We had gone 6 years last year.
We've named the same 15 as started v Leitrim......... :D
Connacht Final Ros v Mayo .... like turning the clock back to 89 to 93 when we met 6 times in the Final incl replays.
Little did we see the famine we were to experience afterwards.
As for sunday it's a step up for us and the question is can we take that step or have we bit to go yet?
Sunday will tell the tale .... and I don't really want to be going to McHale Park for a replay... unless we're one score behind with time almost up of course  :D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.