Spillane

Started by Jinxy, May 22, 2011, 04:48:47 PM

Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2011, 10:00:18 PM
Quote from: Eire2010 on June 13, 2011, 08:59:22 PM
IMO Martin McHugh is the greatest pundit, his mix between the modern era and that of the 80s/ 90s makes his views so unique and different. He always seems to be right and his points make so much sense after he explains himself. You can tell he had a great brain as a footballer, as he picks up key points during the game, that not many can instantaneously. Not a big fan of Burns, however at times he does talk alot a sense. I see the pundits on RTE a laugh, especially Brolly and spillane, they spend more time arguing than providing opinions on the game! Such similarities to Dumphy, Brady and likes on the soccer scene!

Jesus wept!

Bitter, negative and talks way too fast!

+1 How this guy was successful coaching any team with the tripe he comes out with is beyond me.

He was ok when he started but he lost the plot quite a number of years ago and has never recovered.

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 13, 2011, 10:42:30 PM
IMO Martin McHugh is the greatest pundit, his mix between the modern era and that of the 80s/ 90s makes his views so unique and different. He always seems to be right and his points make so much sense after he explains himself. You can tell he had a great brain as a footballer, as he picks up key points during the game, that not many can instantaneously. Not a big fan of Burns, however at times he does talk alot a sense. I see the pundits on RTE a laugh, especially Brolly and spillane, they spend more time arguing than providing opinions on the game! Such similarities to Dumphy, Brady and likes on the soccer scene!

Jesus wept!

+1 How this guy was successful coaching any team with the tripe he comes out with is beyond me.

He was ok when he started but he lost the plot quite a number of years ago and has never recovered.

The problem with McHugh is that he never really actually says anything. He starts talking, changes topic mid-sentence, changes topic again, and again, and 30 seconds later he'll shut up having gone on about five different things but not having made a complete point, or even a complete sentence, about anything.

Armaghgeddon

Quote from: AFS on June 14, 2011, 12:57:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 13, 2011, 10:42:30 PM

Jesus wept!

The problem with McHugh is that he never really actually says anything. He starts talking, changes topic mid-sentence, changes topic again, and again, and 30 seconds later he'll shut up having gone on about five different things but not having made a complete point, or even a complete sentence, about anything.

Just watched a quick clip of the Tyrone vs Monaghan game. He talked about a point, then he talks about a point he watched so and so score in a club game and then he talks about the age of the Tyrone team. Then says Monaghan have made switches in defence I will tell you about them later.

f**k, im not going to be able to listen to him again.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

I remember listening to McHugh during the Tyrone - Donegal match at the start of the year. There was an off the ball incident and McHugh confessed to not having seen it. When the ref then showed the Donegal player involved a red card McHugh was furious and claimed the offence did not justify a red card ;D. Spent the rest of the half complaining about the injustice of the decision too.

micka the dub

mchugh is a looper.his latest shite regarding dublin is we are havent been succesfull lately because we have too many college lads that have never had to do anything for themselves,for example buy a car,get a license etc ,therefore when it comes to the crunch in tight games in croker we choke because our players have been to college and turn into emotional wrecks because they havent lived in the big bad world.  the man is off the wall altogether. in general dublin fans hate him

Ah cmon lads. I think you are being harsh on McHugh. Yeah he speaks fast and jumps from point to point but he does provide some inside analysis. He will always come up with a few interesting points that you are unlikely to have heard before. Yes, some will just say they are off the wall but for me it just means he is an original thinker. Also - he has managed a team that has won something, unlike other so called pundits!

Compare McHugh to Spillane and Brolly who provide zero analysis or insight and are more content on getting one over on each other. They have never been asked to manage or coach any teams for obvious reasons but they are regulars on the GAA 'talknight' circuit. Says it all really.

Incertus

McHugh  like the entire bbc gaa coverage is a joke. They should have a massive clear out. Get Jerome in and a few characters like pat and joe. How many people watch the beeb gaa coverage over rte when they have the choice. I am guessing less than 20 percent.

squire_in_navy_slacks

McHughs not the worst............ what about jarlath burns or bernard flynn  ::)

Quote from: ck on June 14, 2011, 08:03:50 PM
Ah cmon lads. I think you are being harsh on McHugh. Yeah he speaks fast and jumps from point to point but he does provide some inside analysis. He will always come up with a few interesting points that you are unlikely to have heard before. Yes, some will just say they are off the wall but for me it just means he is an original thinker. Also - he has managed a team that has won something, unlike other so called pundits!

Compare McHugh to Spillane and Brolly who provide zero analysis or insight and are more content on getting one over on each other. They have never been asked to manage or coach any teams for obvious reasons but they are regulars on the GAA 'talknight' circuit. Says it all really.

Does Spillane not coach Templenoe and put his name forward for the Kerry U-21 job the last few years but aint been given the job

And to be fair to Brolly he's still playin Senior club football

Some craic about him talkin to his kids when on to Newtalk-i'd say he set that up for the craic!

Quote from: Gold on June 14, 2011, 11:14:03 PM

Does Spillane not coach Templenoe and put his name forward for the Kerry U-21 job the last few years but aint been given the job

Some craic about him talkin to his kids when on to Newtalk-i'd say he set that up for the craic!

No, as far as I know Spillane was chairman of his club for a while and coached them in one of the low down divisions. As for Brolly, again No, He doesnt play anymore. He played for his club in Belfast a few years back, makes the odd cameo appearance at reserve level these days.

I agree with that statement about McHugh interrupting himself a lot and speaking very fast.
He often doesn't come across that well in control of his thoughts so often ye think he's saying the 1st thing that comes into his head

Brolly, though annoying and arrogant, makes some very good points and in my eyes has good analysing skills.
He does come out with the odd very biased comment here and there for people he doesn't like but to me he was the first guy who highlighted Tyrone's tactic in 2010 of dragging defenders out into the wings and leaving the "central channel" free for defenders to come running in late for easy scores.

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 15, 2011, 01:04:43 PM
I agree with that statement about McHugh interrupting himself a lot and speaking very fast.
He often doesn't come across that well in control of his thoughts so often ye think he's saying the 1st thing that comes into his head

Brolly, though annoying and arrogant, makes some very good points and in my eyes has good analysing skills.
He does come out with the odd very biased comment here and there for people he doesn't like but to me he was the first guy who highlighted Tyrone's tactic in 2010 of dragging defenders out into the wings and leaving the "central channel" free for defenders to come running in late for easy scores.

Hardly the most incisive piece of analysis ever completed! Just because he was the first 'pundit' to mention it doesnt mean alot.

isourboydownyet

Quote from: ck on June 14, 2011, 11:19:25 PM

No, as far as I know Spillane was chairman of his club for a while and coached them in one of the low down divisions. As for Brolly, again No, He doesnt play anymore. He played for his club in Belfast a few years back, makes the odd cameo appearance at reserve level these days.

i think you need to do a little more research,the 2 men mentioned do more for the gaa at grass roots level than most of us put together and whats your point regards them being guests on talk nights?

NaomhBridAbĂș

Quote from: ck on June 14, 2011, 11:19:25 PM

Brolly played Senior club football already this year... but was only on for 5 minutes or so
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

5 mins? As I say, he doesnt play any more bar a cameo show, which I'd say suits him rightly.
Who did he play for in Belfast anyway? He was on the radio one evening recently saying that he can't get playing any more and now hopes to come on for the reserves and score winning goals. That's were i got that from.