Spillane

Started by Jinxy, May 22, 2011, 04:48:47 PM

Would he ever just f*ck off.
Players can't kick points nowadays apparently.
Despite the fact that scoring averages are significantly higher now than they were when he was playing.
His latest drum which he will no doubt be banging all summer is this "bulking up" thing which means that players can't practice their kicking because they live in the gym.
Players from the 70's and 80's (and that includes you Larry Tompkins) would seriously want to sit down and watch some of the games they were involved in next time TG4 are showing them.
Putrid muck altogether.

WeePeteIsALegend

The quality today (as in these two games in Leinster) isn't much worse than it was 40 years ago. Pretty pathetic effort from all 4 teams involved. Shooting has been a shambles, and the wind hasnt been to blame for it all.

Also, as a whole, I do think players are spending to much time in the gym these days as well.
''Im very glad you won dat fight Matt, but Im a not imprezzed by your performance''

Absolute tripe spoken by Spillane. Players do gym sessions on their own. It doenst get in the way of extra kicking. I saw a county team training recently and their free takers were there 30mins before the rest of the squad. Most of the forwards stayed on after to kick points and much of the training was based on kicking scores.

People who talk about all this gym stuff usually havent a bloody clue what they are on about. It's the latest bandwagon which Spillane will jump on and drive it all year.
Take a look at Kerrys golden years dvd. You will see some tight shite on there as regard to kicking and skills.

Shut up Spillane you complete tosser! We are still waiting on him to get this rugby team together and win an All-Ireland.
A bollix of a man is all he is.

We're only a couple of games into the season and I'm already sick of his negative shite.
He's utterly incapable of analysing each game on its merits.
I'm sure if we watched Laois and Longford play each other in 1978 they would have been kicking the ball over the bar from all angles.

I think the wind has been in the gym.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 05:12:42 PM
We're only a couple of games into the season and I'm already sick of his negative shite.
He's utterly incapable of analysing each game on its merits.
I'm sure if we watched Laois and Longford play each other in 1978 they would have been kicking the ball over the bar from all angles.

The reason Spillane does not analyse games properly is the same reason he has never gone into managment,,, He is incapable. He chooses sensationalist points to concentrate on instead of analysing the game in depth. His BS article in a rag of a newspaper does the same. He appeals to the lowest level of football knowledge which is probably the majority of a TV audience.
He thrives on being an arrogant ballbag with over the top sensationalist views and RTE accomodate him cos "he makes good TV". People generally will choose to watch a jack in the box idiot instead of a "boring", informed and educated analyst. He is just a glorified entertainer (as is Brolly).

Oh jesus can we just take the coverage off RTE altogether.
Between Marty, Martin and Spillane I'm fit to put my boot through the telly.

Club Rossa

He's nothing but a moaning oul c**t

EagleLord

Really really gets on my nerves. He says players spend too much time i nthe gym but sure he said earlier about some player 'he needs a session i nthe gym cuz hes not strong enough' or did I hear that wrong?? He really needs to take a look at some of those game from decades gone alright, duno who said it there before me. In them days it was all just hoofing the ball away, back and forth back and forth it was brutal to watch! Only it the 90s did we really start seeing players using the ball a bit wiser, keeping it, no crime in that. The game has evolved and is better for it, some dinosuars should just face it. I dont know what more they want, there is some class tackling, hits, scores, goals, passing moves and high catches every week, our game is still alot more exciting to watch than virtually any other feild sport in the world!

He accused Johnny Doyle of having a poor kicking technique today at one stage FFS.  ::)
I don't understand why ex-players, that are widely hailed as greats of the game, feel the need to inflate their own legacy by running down the modern game.
If basic skills are poorer in the modern era, exactly what era are we are comparing them with?
What is the baseline?
The 60's?
The 70's?
The 80's?
Every year we have to put up with this absolute spoofer sucking the life out of the championship until it gets to the latter stages.
I'm actually looking forward to TV3s first game.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 07:17:23 PM

I don't understand why ex-players, that are widely hailed as greats of the game, feel the need to inflate their own legacy by running down the modern game.
I don't know why the ex-greats need to do it once they sit in the pundits chair. It's a common enough ailment with ex-player pundits.

But it's a fact of life, that the youth of today .............

NaomhBridAbĂș

he puts the **** into cuntentious
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

There are plenty of intelligent, articulate lads recently retired from intercounty football that understand the modern game.
Get them on and get Spillane off.
The only ones that like Spillane are people that have no interest in the GAA that think he's great craic.

CorkMan

Quote from: Club Rossa on May 22, 2011, 06:37:23 PM
He's nothing but a moaning oul c**t

Quoted for truth

Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 04:48:47 PM
Would he ever just f*ck off.
Players can't kick points nowadays apparently.
Despite the fact that scoring averages are significantly higher now than they were when he was playing.
His latest drum which he will no doubt be banging all summer is this "bulking up" thing which means that players can't practice their kicking because they live in the gym.
Players from the 70's and 80's (and that includes you Larry Tompkins) would seriously want to sit down and watch some of the games they were involved in next time TG4 are showing them.
Putrid muck altogether.

For the amount of time put into training now Jinxy compared to the 70's I think he has a point. That was pure dung today.

Players cannot kickpass the ball accurately anymore. The handpass is destroying the bloody game.