Spillane

Started by Jinxy, May 22, 2011, 04:48:47 PM

lenny

Quote from: Incertus on June 14, 2011, 08:44:17 PM
McHugh  like the entire bbc gaa coverage is a joke. They should have a massive clear out. Get Jerome in and a few characters like pat and joe. How many people watch the beeb gaa coverage over rte when they have the choice. I am guessing less than 20 percent.

Agree bout mchugh but jerome was a joke as a presenter also. Biased and childish and never allowed mchugh or burns to develop any points they were making. Sidebottom is pathetic as a commentator but people like Canavan and Madden are pretty good as co commentators. Canavan has a dour voice but is intelligent and provides excellent analysis. Enda Gormley is also very good in this role when he has been used. Brolly and O'Rourke are the most enjoyable to listen to but quite often they revert to lazy analysis using stereotypical ideas about teams rather than analysing what is actually happening on the pitch.

isourboydownyet

Quote from: isourboydownyet on June 16, 2011, 04:04:12 PM
Quote from: ck on June 14, 2011, 11:19:25 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 14, 2011, 11:14:03 PM
Quote from: ck on June 14, 2011, 08:03:50 PM
Ah cmon lads. I think you are being harsh on McHugh. Yeah he speaks fast and jumps from point to point but he does provide some inside analysis. He will always come up with a few interesting points that you are unlikely to have heard before. Yes, some will just say they are off the wall but for me it just means he is an original thinker. Also - he has managed a team that has won something, unlike other so called pundits!

Compare McHugh to Spillane and Brolly who provide zero analysis or insight and are more content on getting one over on each other. They have never been asked to manage or coach any teams for obvious reasons but they are regulars on the GAA 'talknight' circuit. Says it all really.

Does Spillane not coach Templenoe and put his name forward for the Kerry U-21 job the last few years but aint been given the job

And to be fair to Brolly he's still playin Senior club football

Some craic about him talkin to his kids when on to Newtalk-i'd say he set that up for the craic!

No, as far as I know Spillane was chairman of his club for a while and coached them in one of the low down divisions. As for Brolly, again No, He doesnt play anymore. He played for his club in Belfast a few years back, makes the odd cameo appearance at reserve level these days.

i think you need to do a little more research,the 2 men mentioned do more for the gaa at grass roots level than most of us put together and whats your point regards them being guests on talk nights?

Quote from: ck on June 16, 2011, 10:34:37 PM
5 mins? As I say, he doesnt play any more bar a cameo show, which I'd say suits him rightly.
Who did he play for in Belfast anyway? He was on the radio one evening recently saying that he can't get playing any more and now hopes to come on for the reserves and score winning goals. That's were i got that from.

at 42 he only played 5 mins this year!so what exactly is your argument?
sure dont let facts get in the way,as i said before love them or hate them they have put more into the gaa more than most and that includes the likes of you and me

NaomhBridAbĂș

Quote from: ck on June 16, 2011, 10:34:37 PM
5 mins? As I say, he doesnt play any more bar a cameo show, which I'd say suits him rightly.
Who did he play for in Belfast anyway? He was on the radio one evening recently saying that he can't get playing any more and now hopes to come on for the reserves and score winning goals. That's were i got that from.
[/quote

Naomh Brid...
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Quote from: isourboydownyet link=topic=19321.msg974897#msg974897
at 42 he only played 5 mins this year!so what exactly is your argument?
sure dont let facts get in the way,as i said before love them or hate them they have put more into the gaa more than most and that includes the likes of you and me
think he's only a year older than yourself - looking forward to the big birthday this year young chap ?
I'd say Brolly will possibly be making a few more senior and reserve appearances for Naomh Brid soon, as his workplace is now off for the next two months

Those Bare Ass stards have some life of it.

Has anyone ever met Spillane out in the pub after a game.
He was at Hill16 last year after the Tyrone Dublin game.

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 30, 2011, 02:28:47 PM

Met him in the Burlinton one Sunday before a big game at Croke, reading the papers and having coffee. Spot on fella and took time to have a small chat. Still a dick ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2011, 02:32:46 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 30, 2011, 02:28:47 PM

Met him in the Burlinton one Sunday before a big game at Croke, reading the papers and having coffee. Spot on fella and took time to have a small chat. Still a dick ;)

lol I'd say those boys are all good craic alright but yes, Spillane is still an awful gobshite on TV with his sweeping statements and shite talk.

I had to smile at the BBC post game closing credits - a camera shot of McHugh and Burns leaping out of their chair to celebrate Donegal's late goal. Of course McHugh leaped the highest but Burns wasn't far behind.