Connacht SFC Q/Final London v Mayo 29.5.11 in Ruislip

Started by RedandGreenSniper, April 12, 2011, 01:37:06 PM

ildanach

5 weeks until the london game there is time enough naming a panel the weeks off it and keeping another 10 on stand by with a chance to rejoin if they are playing well or injuries occur
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 14, 2011, 12:58:45 PM
The Crown in Cricklewood is usually the Mayo base for the weekend Tubberman. We stayed there in 2006 and it was a great spot on the Friday and Saturday nights. I'll probably not be staying there this time around - it is quite expensive, but Cricklewood is a decent base. The city centre is A1 too, especially with a view to being in there to get a good spot on Saturday to watch the Heineken Cup final and the Champions League final. And Ruislip is accessible enough by Tube, just can't remember which one.

The Crown in Cricklewood is booked out for months on the Saturday night. We hope to stay in the city centre but hotels are a little expensive with the Champions League final in town.

R&GS, is the Heineken Cup final not on May 21st?

Yeah, hands up. I was going off second hand info there that said it was on May 28. Anyway, still a good Saturday to be around London. And we won't be in a quare state at midnight so if we don't have to be in the pubs for a 3pm rugby game - although many might do that 'to get a clear run of things'!

The champions league is on the 28th.
I was in the Crown the last time and it was mental! Id imagine this time will be no quiter.
There is f**k all around Ruislip, its not the easiest place to get to especially at weekends when there is a lot of work being carried out on the underground lines.
http://www.tfl.gov.uk/livetravelnews/planned-works/calendar/default.aspx
You can get to ruislip on the central line from the city centre ( around 50mins) id say it would be better to try and base yourself nearer the centre and make your way out to the game on the day unless you know the place and have a base sorted.

Have been to Galway v London twice so far in 1999 and 2004. Good craic for the weekend for sure. I think the last weekend in May is usually a bank holiday over in the UK. It was definitely a bank holiday when we were over in 2004 anyway.
My advice would be to stay in the centre of London and just travel out to Ruislip on the day of the game. The nightlife around the centre of London is very good. It's a class city in fairness.
Much better off taking in all that the city has to offer by staying central & travelling out via the tube on the day of the match. We got the underground from city centre right out to Ruislip the last time. Took about 45mins to an hour from what I remember. Just get a 3 day travel pass and you can use the underground unlimited times. Brilliant way to get around.
Ye can hang around Ruislip/Cricklewood etc for a while after the game on the Sunday and taxi it back to city centre later. That's the way we did it the 2 times we were there anyway and it worked out well.

Anywhere around central London would be handy as the public transport is so good. We stayed at Jurys Kensinton the last time which was grand. Also stayed in Paddington last summer which was also handy. Stayed in EasyHotel Paddington where the rooms are tiny but I think I paid only £35 per night for a single room. Was perfect for me as I was out and about the whole time.

Quote from: galwayman on April 14, 2011, 04:44:38 PM
Have been to Galway v London twice so far in 1999 and 2004. Good craic for the weekend for sure. I think the last weekend in May is usually a bank holiday over in the UK. It was definitely a bank holiday when we were over in 2004 anyway.
My advice would be to stay in the centre of London and just travel out to Ruislip on the day of the game. The nightlife around the centre of London is very good. It's a class city in fairness.
Much better off taking in all that the city has to offer by staying central & travelling out via the tube on the day of the match. We got the underground from city centre right out to Ruislip the last time. Took about 45mins to an hour from what I remember. Just get a 3 day travel pass and you can use the underground unlimited times. Brilliant way to get around.
Ye can hang around Ruislip/Cricklewood etc for a while after the game on the Sunday and taxi it back to city centre later. That's the way we did it the 2 times we were there anyway and it worked out well.

Anywhere around central London would be handy as the public transport is so good. We stayed at Jurys Kensinton the last time which was grand. Also stayed in Paddington last summer which was also handy. Stayed in EasyHotel Paddington where the rooms are tiny but I think I paid only £35 per night for a single room. Was perfect for me as I was out and about the whole time.

Cheers for that galwayman. Could you recommend many good spots to watch the Champions League final in London? Pubs I mean, not Wembley! Which I'm not giving up hope on yet but a man needs a plan B.

Ye Connacht lads get great trips to New York and London every year, we can only look forward to an auld trip up to Jones Road a couple of times a year or so  :P

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 14, 2011, 01:17:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 13, 2011, 10:06:55 PM

When ye beat us last Jan in the FBD (our only defeat in 2011 so far i might add) Benson & Ronaldson where the two main scorers.. just gives example of the shear strength in depth you guys have  :o

I really can't see past ye for connacht this summer.

Go on away out of that back to the New York thread you cute hoor. That was a very weak Roscommon team as I'm sure you'll agree. Actually, I think you did agree or am I mistaken?

Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:08:37 PM
How many of that Mayo team today would be first 15? for Roscommon about 5 i would say.

You need a bit of practice at playing the poor mouth ;D

You are mistaken.

Don't need to practice any poor mouth, remember we are the ones that have to endure long famines after each Connacht title.

My point was about Mayos Strength in depth which seems to be a touchy subject among Mayo folks?

For example.. In that FBD game Mark Ronaldson scored 1-7 but now he can't make the panel  :o  & about 9/10 of that Roscommon team will now play in the Championship due to a long injury list we now have.

Quote from: ross4life on April 15, 2011, 04:22:26 PM

When ye beat us last Jan in the FBD (our only defeat in 2011 so far i might add) Benson & Ronaldson where the two main scorers.. just gives example of the shear strength in depth you guys have  :o

Go on away out of that back to the New York thread you cute hoor. That was a very weak Roscommon team as I'm sure you'll agree. Actually, I think you did agree or am I mistaken?

How many of that Mayo team today would be first 15? for Roscommon about 5 i would say.

You are mistaken.

Don't need to practice any poor mouth, remember we are the ones that have to endure long famines after each Connacht title.

My point was about Mayos Strength in depth which seems to be a touchy subject among Mayo folks?

For example.. In that FBD game Mark Ronaldson scored 1-7 but now he can't make the panel  :o  & about 9/10 of that Roscommon team will now play in the Championship due to a long injury list we now have.

If the team you played in the FBD, or anything close to that, goes out in the Connacht championship ye are indeed in trouble. But I don't see that happening myself.

Quote from: ross4life on April 15, 2011, 04:22:26 PM

You are mistaken.

Ronaldson is a rope Horan has made for himself. we still have hope he knows what hes doing

Quote from: AbbeySider on April 13, 2011, 09:04:04 AM
So its probably common knowledge that there were some cuts since the weekend. Some fairly big names wont be involved in 2011. Very brave calls by the management.

Those I heard that got cut so far are:

Barry Moran, Aidan Kilcoyne, Mark Ronaldson, Brian Benson, Tom Parsons

I think that Kevin Dolan and Rochford and a couple more are being given a chance to prove themselves in the next few weeks which suggests there will be a final cut before Ruslip?
Seems  you got it right, Abbey.

Five players cut from Mayo squad

Mike Finnerty

FIVE players have been released from the Mayo senior football squad following the end of the Allianz League last weekend.
Mayo manager James Horan informed Aidan Kilcoyne, Barry Moran, Tom Parsons, Mark Ronaldson and Brian Benson earlier this week that they would not be part of his plans for the upcoming Connacht championship campaign.
The Mayo News understands that a number of other players will be released in the coming weeks as the Mayo management team decide on the final 30 footballers that will make up their championship panel.
Among the newcomers who are still in line to be included in Mayo's championship panel for the first time are Alan Feeney, Richie Feeney, Robert Hennelly, Eoin O'Reilly, Lee Keegan, Cathal Hallinan, Ruaidhrí O'Connor, James Burke, Ronan Rochford, Jason Doherty and Jason Gibbons.
Donal Vaughan and Trevor Howley, both of whom have been sidelined with injuries so far this season, have also been retained in James Horan's plans.
Tourmakeady's Kevin Dolan, who broke his jaw three months ago during his inter-county debut against GMIT, has also been included.
However, it is the omission of Aidan Kilcoyne, Barry Moran, Tom Parsons and Mark Ronaldson that will generate most debate in Mayo GAA circles.
All four were part of Mayo's 2010 championship panel and the quartet also lined out at various stages of this season's National League campaign.
Charlestown's Tom Parsons started against Monaghan last Sunday, while Aidan Kilcoyne and Barry Moran, who has been suffering from a leg injury in recent months, were both introduced as second half substitutes.
However, Mark Ronaldson was an unused replacement last weekend.
Brian Benson, who had been training with the Mayo squad in recent months, did not feature in any of Mayo's seven league games. The Crossmolina forward did play against Roscommon in the FBD League before picking up an injury that stalled his progress.
Mayo begin their Connacht championship campaign against London in Ruislip on May 29.

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=12441:five-players-cut-from-mayo-squad-&catid=14&Itemid=100008

Ruaidhri O Connor was also let go from the panel. I didnt hear of anyone else

QuoteCheers for that galwayman. Could you recommend many good spots to watch the Champions League final in London? Pubs I mean, not Wembley! Which I'm not giving up hope on yet but a man needs a plan B.

www.waxyoconnors.co.uk/london/
I watched Galway v Sligo and England v Germany on a Sunday last summer in Waxy O'Connors in the Soho area of central London.
Was a grand spot to watch a game. It's fairly big and there's a few bars in the place so they can show different games on tvs in the different bars.
Went out to a pub not far away from that one of the nights called O'Neills, which was great craic.

If you're heading with a gang of mates and ye don't plan on spending much time in the hotel have a look at www.easyhotel.com.
The earlier you book the cheaper the room is as far as I know.Got a room for €20 in the EasyHotel in Berlin last year. Great value.
If heading with the missus I'd book elsewhere as the rooms are very small.

A ballycastle man manages O'Neills beside Waxys so id say the place would be wedged with Mayo lads ( as it is most weekends anyway!)

On the injury front at the weekend Seamie O'Shea picked up what appeared to be a pulled quad muscle. Richie Feeney didn't play for Mitchels either with a calf strain.