The Luke "Ming" Flanagan Thread

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, March 08, 2011, 11:44:12 AM

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2014, 12:16:23 PM
Quote from: Collie Brolly on May 28, 2014, 12:10:45 PM
Luke Flanagan is an oustanding politician.The people have spoken.The bitter minority have been silenced.We will never be silenced.We are the Rossies.

Politically we are about to enter the dark ages in Ireland.

About to? As opposed to the last 20-25 years of enlightened times?

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2014, 12:34:50 PM
Luke Flanagan is an oustanding politician.The people have spoken.The bitter minority have been silenced.We will never be silenced.We are the Rossies.

Bad as they were, they will appear enlightened in the next 10 years.

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2014, 12:36:38 PM

Genuinely want to know what you mean by that in more detail if you can?

Ever hear the Pharaohs dream of the 7 fat cows and the 7 thin cows?

The fat cows partied.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 28, 2014, 12:45:22 PM

The public are so sick of the mainstream parties, and the lack of emergence of anything new and credible, that they seem to want to vote for every crackpot going. Charisma is confused with substance. Anyone who is anti-something gets votes. The majority seem to want to exercise their votes as a protest, which they are entitled to do.

I think the next few Dáils will be packed with single issue independents and any sort of stable government will be very unlikely for a long time. Implementing any sort of reform, policies or legislation will become very, very difficult so I foresee a period of, either, aimless political drifting or the introduction of daft ideological agendas only to have them overturned by the next coalition of crazies with other ideologies.

In such an environment there will be no leadership or direction and we will be vulnerable to political whims and corruption that could makes the recent years look like utopia.

I could see Ireland becoming like Italy.

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2014, 01:10:55 PM

The public are so sick of the mainstream parties, and the lack of emergence of anything new and credible, that they seem to want to vote for every crackpot going. Charisma is confused with substance. Anyone who is anti-something gets votes. The majority seem to want to exercise their votes as a protest, which they are entitled to do.

I think the next few Dáils will be packed with single issue independents and any sort of stable government will be very unlikely for a long time. Implementing any sort of reform, policies or legislation will become very, very difficult so I foresee a period of, either, aimless political drifting or the introduction of daft ideological agendas only to have them overturned by the next coalition of crazies with other ideologies.

In such an environment there will be no leadership or direction and we will be vulnerable to political whims and corruption that could makes the recent years look like utopia.

Me too. Being in Government implementing a tranche of a very, very long "adjustment" process is a kiss of death, as FF, the Greens and now Labour have found out.
None of the Indos have any solutions. Neither do the Endas.

I'm telling ye lads. Democracy. Doesn't. Work.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 28, 2014, 01:36:04 PM
I'm telling ye lads. Democracy. Doesn't. Work.

I suspect the ants would be very left leaning populist ants, or the junta type ants which could be even worse.

Ming is not a one issue candidate. I agree with his positions on a wide range of topics. Same with SF and others. I don't think the "Vote for me or they'll shut the nursing home" type independent is prevalent any more. It's usually about broader and not always local  issues.

Your fears may be warranted but I reckon if we can escape from the FF/FG/Lab straightjacket of groupthink politics and "old boys network" for want of a better term we just couldn't be worse off. If I had my way there would be no parties at all - they're a perversion of democracy.

Collie Brolly

Your not called Muppet for nothin.

Quote from: seafoid on May 28, 2014, 01:30:01 PM

Me too. Being in Government implementing a tranche of a very, very long "adjustment" process is a kiss of death, as FF, the Greens and now Labour have found out.
None of the Indos have any solutions. Neither do the Endas.

If Fine Gael hang on for the full term the country will be in good nick and they'll be seen more like they are outside Ireland inside Ireland. Labour get slaughtered as all junior partners do and the bubble that is Sinn Fein's support will slowly deflate. Very little will change, if Labour don't shit the bed with their new leader.

Independents like Ming (as opposed to Independents like Healy-Rae) are essential to a stable, strong democracy. Ireland is routinely rated as one of the most stable and democratic countries in the world.

Good to see Dennis Naughton speaking on Primetime last night. Very smart man with actual principles, something all too rare in main party pedigree politicians. Between himself and Ming we've had good representation in the Dail recently.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2014, 02:38:37 PM

Ming is not a one issue candidate. I agree with his positions on a wide range of topics. Same with SF and others. I don't think the "Vote for me or they'll shut the nursing home" type independent is prevalent any more. It's usually about broader and not always local  issues.

Your fears may be warranted but I reckon if we can escape from the FF/FG/Lab straightjacket of groupthink politics and "old boys network" for want of a better term we just couldn't be worse off. If I had my way there would be no parties at all - they're a perversion of democracy.

Ming is not a single issue candidate, in that he is against many policies and pieces of legislation.

I think Labour will be gone for a long time, like the PDs and the Greens, and good riddance. Joan Burton does my head in completely. She will not be satisfied until all private pension funds have left the country, and the industry with them. But then she has a publicly funded pension herself.

I am beginning to think that it would be best for all if Sinn Féin are in government, briefly, the sooner the better. Then the attractive scent of being anti-everything is removed and the spotlight is really shone on them. But that spotlight won't happen for the never ending supply of populist independents who will never have the burden of having to honour their promises, as the vast majority will never be in government.

Voting for all of these independents is the equivalent of throwing a punch at an opponent when your team is losing. It feels like the right thing to do, you are frustrated, but the consequences for your own side only sink in afterwards.

I think I will have to vote for some version of FG/FF candidates the next time out. Which is so pathetic at this stage it is frightening.

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2014, 03:26:25 PM

Ming is not a single issue candidate, in that he is against many policies and pieces of legislation.

I think Labour will be gone for a long time, like the PDs and the Greens, and good riddance. Joan Burton does my head in completely. She will not be satisfied until all private pension funds have left the country, and the industry with them. But then she has a publicly funded pension herself.

I am beginning to think that it would be best for all if Sinn Féin are in government, briefly, the sooner the better. Then the attractive scent of being anti-everything is removed and the spotlight is really shone on them. But that spotlight won't happen for the never ending supply of populist independents who will never have the burden of having to honour their promises, as the vast majority will never be in government.

Voting for all of these independents is the equivalent of throwing a punch at an opponent when your team is losing. It feels like the right thing to do, you are frustrated, but the consequences for your own side only sink in afterwards.

I think I will have to vote for some version of FG/FF candidates the next time out. Which is so pathetic at this stage it is frightening.

That sounds like the usual big party line of trying to diminish candidates even though they're the ones who handed them their P45s. Some of those independents are simply excellent, articulate public representatives and they'd get elected in any election climate.

FF/FG is easily the most natural coalition in Irish politics and it may finally properly align centre-left and centre-right parties. Those policies have the broadest support in the country and so should be the ones in power. Choosing between FF and FG is like choosing Mayo midfielders, it's all about who has the better haircut that week.

Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2014, 03:36:09 PM

That sounds like the usual big party line of trying to diminish candidates even though they're the ones who handed them their P45s. Some of those independents are simply excellent, articulate public representatives and they'd get elected in any election climate.

FF/FG is easily the most natural coalition in Irish politics and it may finally properly align centre-left and centre-right parties. Those policies have the broadest support in the country and so should be the ones in power. Choosing between FF and FG is like choosing Mayo midfielders, it's all about who has the better haircut that week.

Believe me, the last thing I want to find myself doing is arguing for FG/FF.

I honestly wish FF had ditched Mícheál Martin and the last refugees from the crash, rebranded and renamed, and started again. FG could do the same after they get turfed out (I don't want us to make the same mistake of re-electing a no better than low-average government - it sends them completely the wrong message).

Good post. The "vote for anybody as long as he's anti-something" syndrome applies not just here, but throughout Europe. The difference, for which we should possibly be grateful, is that here we're electing mostly apes, whereas elsewhere in Europe there are dangerous people sidling closer to the levers of power.

Quote of the month.