Paidi O Se on rural depopulation, and why he's wrong

Started by Eamonnca1, March 06, 2011, 04:52:37 PM

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 12:20:34 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on March 06, 2011, 11:30:19 PM
i'm going against all of ye on this. there is no reason to say an urbanised population means a more developed country - thats bull.

Our rural depopulation is due to decisions taken at planning level and local government. people would live in rural Ireland through sustainable spatial development

If villages had private or public houses built in them on a sustainable cluster plan and not the linear planning obsession which prevails in Ireland then the local post office could be kept open, along with the local school, garda station, shop, pub and GAA club. allied to that services could easily be provided in the village - sewage, broadband etc
Allied to this a proper local bus service could then be provided as a centralised population is in each village.

it would follow the dutch model where the countryside is kept green and houses are built in small hamlets/villages

the main obstacle to this is every two bit farmer wanting to build 2/3 houses on their land with road frontage.
councils need to be far more proactive in provising serviced sites in villages which will promote proper rural living

I knew a Dutch girl and she said she was from a village, turns out its population was 80,000. One mans Village is another mans City.

All very interesting, but did you close the deal?

I see Páidís young fella is a chip off the old block.
Busted some lad just after the throw-in and got the line in the Munster schools final yesterday.  :o

Quote from: Jinxy on March 07, 2011, 10:15:44 AM
Busted some lad just after the throw-in and got the line in the Munster schools final yesterday.  :o

Only difference is Páidí didn't get the line..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0h3QQIBH6Y

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 06, 2011, 04:52:37 PM

I'm going to disagree with you there, Paidi.  This isn't going to be a popular view, but rural depopulation and increased urbanisation is a sign of a developed country.

South America is far more urbanised than Europe. Are you saying that South America is more developed than Europe?
Likewise a lot of African countries have greater rates of urbanisation than a lot of European countries.
On what grounds is your comment based?

Chris agus Snoop

Broke his jaw and concussed him, tahge Kennelly style within 10 seconds of throw in. The animal kingdom indeed.

no condoning this whoever the player, thankfully the player is not as seriously injured as first thought at the game, hopefully will make a full recovery..

I'd still rather be a Kerry Animal than a Cork langer however.

Quote from: blanketattack on March 07, 2011, 10:50:54 AM

South America is far more urbanised than Europe. Are you saying that South America is more developed than Europe?

Likewise a lot of African countries have greater rates of urbanisation than a lot of European countries.
I have to ask you for a citation there.
On what grounds is your comment based?

It's a known fact that the industrial revolution was all about a mass migration from country to town because of mechanised agriculture (fewer farm labourers needed) and new large scale manufacturing in towns (more factory workers needed). What England went through all those years ago is now happening in Brazil, China and India. But if you want a more specific reference:

"In the richer countries of the West, cities have survived the tumultuous end of the industrial age and are now wealthier, healthier, and more alluring than ever.  In the world's poorer places, cities are expanding enormously because urban density provides the clearest path from poverty to prosperity."

Glaeser, Edward. Triumph of the City. P1. Penguin Press, 2011.

tommysmith

Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on March 07, 2011, 01:43:22 PM

Broke his jaw and concussed him, tahge Kennelly style within 10 seconds of throw in. The animal kingdom indeed.

http://munster.gaa.ie/video/

It not nice to see the young lad having a fit on the ground.

urbanization is the solution in countries where People are seen as an issue to be dealt with .not as the true owners of the country
do you really think the like os Lagos pop 7-15million or dhaka 7- 12 million would be good industrialized places to live? or does a nice bungalow a few miles outside the town near a good school with no blacks or tinkers not sound like a better bet?

Ask the people who are flocking to Lagos and Dhaka.

Your racism is noted.

Chris agus Snoop

Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 07, 2011, 02:06:43 PM
no condoning this whoever the player, thankfully the player is not as seriously injured as first thought at the game, hopefully will make a full recovery..

I'd still rather be a Kerry Animal than a Cork langer however.

No doubt he was listening to his cousin Dara on how you'll never get sent off in the first few minutes no matter what you do?
Time for kerry to clean up their act, discipline is shocking with the seniors and this gets passed down to the younger lads.
monkey see monkey do ;)

QuoteTime for kerry to clean up their act, discipline is shocking with the seniors and this gets passed down to the younger lads.

coming from a county where grabbing fellows by the throat, head butting lads in hurling, sly digs and verbals in every game etc is the norm and goes unpunished and who have bent every rule in the book to get players off, a manager who is famous only for grabbing a kerry legend by his nuts, going on strike to get their way, yeah sure you think anyone is going to be lectured by someone from Cork. You would need some scrubbing to clean up that Black Kettle and Pot that you normally keep in the Trophy cabinet ! 

HiMucker

Quote from: rosnarun on March 08, 2011, 12:35:37 AM
urbanization is the solution in countries where People are seen as an issue to be dealt with .not as the true owners of the country
do you really think the like os Lagos pop 7-15million or dhaka 7- 12 million would be good industrialized places to live? or does a nice bungalow a few miles outside the town near a good school with no blacks or tinkers not sound like a better bet?
A tad racist their!!  Although the conditions in Lagos horrify us westerners im sure it beats starving to death in the countryside. 

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 08, 2011, 12:54:02 AM
Ask the people who are flocking to Lagos and Dhaka.

Distress migration, Eamonn, is not driven by dreams. People don't go to Dhaka or Delhi to live in a slum with no running water because they fancy the lifestyle. They go because there is no other option.    The world's population is twice what it was in 1960. 

They go to Dhaka or Delhi because the cities offer more opportunities than the rural areas they came from. Yes there is poverty in the city just as there is in the country.  But there are ways out of urban poverty, not so for rural poverty. Hence, the cities are more attractive.

The post before seemed to imply that the choice was between an urban slum and a pretty rural bungalow with a nice driveway;  that's not the choice people have in the developing world.