Paddy O'Rourke Out!

Started by tevez, February 28, 2011, 10:29:29 PM

I don't have it word for word but he says he has never spoken to anyone in the ACB about coaching any Armagh team but that he would be very happy to coach any Armagh team at any level or something to that effect.

Aoise

TAC I couldn't agree with you more!  It only amazes me that more people are not making their voices heard on this issue.  I for one as an Armagh supporter feel completely useless and ashamed!  Useless because I can't do one damed thing abut this and ashamed because we have a CB who obviously don't give a shit about Armagh gaelic football and its progress!  I'm calling a spade a spade because for too long Armagh supporters have been too diplomatic and quiet and what has happened, Armagh are now, within 10 years of winning an All-Ireland a very mediocre team with not one of those who won that said All-Ireland involved in the running of that team.  And then to top it all off, we have a man who sweated blood for that team, a proven trainer, saying he would love to be involved but no-one has asked him, so now he'll trot off to Down, where they can make good use of him.  Holy sweet Jesus - what the hell has happened to the Gaelic Athletic Association as I thought I knew it????
I'm stating categorically now, that if nothing changes in Armagh football this year, for the first time in my life, I'm refusing to attend!  That will be a shot to the CB and not the players as I have the highest regard for those that are doing their best in a very trying situation.  I also feel for POR as he has been caught in a mess which the CB does not have the balls to get him out of.  He is not right for Armagh, pure and simple.  Someone mentioned on here the other day that we can't change when there's no alternative.  Tell me, how much are they really looking for one?????

Enough Said and Enough Read!  Armagh should be better than this!

Paul mc Shane has stepped down as minor manager.......

QuotePaul mc Shane has stepped down as minor manager.......

I know his name was reasonably associated with U-21s, is this more significant than that??
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Sandy Hill

Quote from: Take Your Points on August 27, 2011, 04:38:50 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 27, 2011, 03:29:12 PM
Paul mc Shane has stepped down as minor manager.......

The minors did miss out on a sure AI final.

Agreed!
"Stercus accidit"

QuoteThe minors did miss out on a sure AI final.

You could say they did this for 2 years in a row.

The U-21s were beaten in the first round for 2 years in a row.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Hope McShane takes on the U21s then, a bit of continuity and maybe on through to Senior a la Mickey Harte would be nice.

loughshore lad

Quote from: Take Your Points on August 27, 2011, 10:22:28 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 27, 2011, 08:52:22 PM
Hope McShane takes on the U21s then, a bit of continuity and maybe on through to Senior a la Mickey Harte would be nice.

Mickey Harte's ability to take the minors through u21 and on to senior AI wins is not something that can be replicated by very many others. Those AI winning minor managers who have followed Mickey Harte have largely failed to repeat his success at u21 level.  The fabled Tyrone talent conveyor belt has ground as minor success has lead to little more in terms of u21 success or breakthrough to the senior team.  In 2007, Tyrone minors won the AI, Omagh CBS won the Hogan Cup and the Tyrone Vocationals won the AI and that is where it all ended for those players and that talent.  The same minor management team took another group to AI success in 2010 and Dungannon have won successive MacRory Cups and a Hogan same Cup, again no progress.  Over the last four years Tyrone failed every year at u21 level with the same management team.

You can't depend on bringing on a minor squad to senior AI success.  Armagh needs a manager who can take charge and make the required changes like Gerry O'Neill in 76, the two Brian's in the late 90s and Big Joe in 02 to 05 with the talent that is currently available.  we are currently in one of those inbetween periods probably best compared with the Jim McCorry years.  If the right move is made now Armagh can regain some ground to become competitive in the top 8, if not then the talent will disapate and we will decline to the mediocrity of hoping for a three or four game championship each year.

Tyrone won the AI minor title in 2008 and the management team of Munroe et al are only in their first term of U21 management.

I did hear tonight that Cathal O'Rourke was approached for the infamous role of 'super coach' and has met with POR.
Look, I know this could be complete BS but it came from someone who would be in the know. He also said that Cathal wasnt the only one approached.

I just think the whole thing is an absolute farce. The Armagh county board are taking the P*ss. I read on Friday that POR will be more 'autorcratic' this year and will not be consulting the players with regard to tactics. My god, the Armagh board should take a good look at themselves if they think POR is going to have the respect of players after all this. A complete shambles of the highest order!

Quote from: ck on August 27, 2011, 10:53:52 PM

I just think the whole thing is an absolute farce. The Armagh county board are taking the P*ss. I read on Friday that POR will be more 'autorcratic' this year and will not be consulting the players with regard to tactics. My god, the Armagh board should take a good look at themselves if they think POR is going to have the respect of players after all this. A complete shambles of the highest order!

For christ's sake man are you just going to take Paddy heaney's agenda driven shite at face value??? 
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 27, 2011, 10:22:28 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 27, 2011, 08:52:22 PM

Mickey Harte's ability to take the minors through u21 and on to senior AI wins is not something that can be replicated by very many others. Those AI winning minor managers who have followed Mickey Harte have largely failed to repeat his success at u21 level.  The fabled Tyrone talent conveyor belt has ground as minor success has lead to little more in terms of u21 success or breakthrough to the senior team.  In 2007, Tyrone minors won the AI, Omagh CBS won the Hogan Cup and the Tyrone Vocationals won the AI and that is where it all ended for those players and that talent.  The same minor management team took another group to AI success in 2010 and Dungannon have won successive MacRory Cups and a Hogan same Cup, again no progress.  Over the last four years Tyrone failed every year at u21 level with the same management team.

You can't depend on bringing on a minor squad to senior AI success.  Armagh needs a manager who can take charge and make the required changes like Gerry O'Neill in 76, the two Brian's in the late 90s and Big Joe in 02 to 05 with the talent that is currently available.  we are currently in one of those inbetween periods probably best compared with the Jim McCorry years.  If the right move is made now Armagh can regain some ground to become competitive in the top 8, if not then the talent will disapate and we will decline to the mediocrity of hoping for a three or four game championship each year.
McShane has done enough to merit a chance. 

What is your grand plan as a matter of interest?

Don Johnson

Quote from: ck on August 27, 2011, 10:53:52 PM
I did hear tonight that Cathal O'Rourke was approached for the infamous role of 'super coach' and has met with POR.
Look, I know this could be complete BS but it came from someone who would be in the know. He also said that Cathal wasnt the only one approached.

ck, I've trailed through the various Armagh threads on the board to see if there is a general consensus that Cathal O'Rourke should have been in the running for any sort of post in the Armagh set-up. It turns out that you were the only poster who suggested this. In fact you suggested it several times in different threads. You now claim that COR was offered the role of 'Super-Coach', in hidnsight this would have been ahead of the much respected and coveted Paul Grimley. Again, I find it strange that I have not heard or read this rumour anywhere else.

If I was cynical in my nature I might be tempted to think you were some kind of agent antagonising on Cathal O'Rourke's behalf - if I was even more cynical I might be tempted to think there was a much more embarrassing explanation still...

DJ, no hidden agenda on my part my friend. I only stated what I had heard from a pretty trustworthy source. I had heard Aidan was approached for this later to be changed to Cathal. Clearly this was BS but if there were truth in it then perhaps they were approached in some shape or form?. Anyway, it's all speculation now and Grimley is now "super coach" for his sins!
Good luck to Armagh, I have long admired them and look forward to their return as a super power.

I would love to see Grimley head us up with AOR on his staff, I would tell McGurn to feck off as he is not getting the job done and costs a fortune.

For me the three men we need in the Armagh camp the most are Grimley, O'Rourke and Geezer.

randomtask

This thread seems like a distant memory, Paddy seems to be finally getting it right and fair play to him

ardchieftain

This year's transformation is down to Paul Grimley.