Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

A few more photos from Day 2 of the golf, The Mayo man shows us all how to Putt

Also in the same hole from AZ

while BC rolls it just wide , Its the green balls !

And some photos from Croí na hÉireann from Day 1 of the Classic in South County Golf Club

I don't know any of these lads so they will have to put the comments in.

Pull low, and hard and early!

I'm sure we could have played with these big balls too on the Saturday, looks easier !!

And that picture was the last I saw of my measuring tape.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on May 20, 2011, 06:47:22 AM
And that picture was the last I saw of my measuring tape.
Dec and I left it in the changing rooms of south county dublin GC - alng with the poles for longest drive and nearest the pin - we thought the tape belonged to SCDGC !
Sorry Bud !

Unbelievable ! I rang them there and they have it in the Pro Shop for collection on Monday when we go up for a game.  I have to say, South County Golf Club were first class and embraced what we were trying to do.

On a final note, poor AZ is collecting the hole sponsorship and when it is all in we will put a page on the website with a password which I will mail to everyone that took part and sponsored a hole. The calculations will then be simple as each golf course cost us €25 per player plus €10 for a steak (less than half price)

This meant you multiply the number of players by €15 euro, less 10 each for the Cross lads who we let off at 40 euro because they got drenched and did not finish the course. Some might say this is madness driving from Cross for the sake of €20 but this is precisely why we can continue this next year, if we can half that type of commitment and thise that drove down from Sligo then we are home and hosed before we start.

Likewise, yes, we could have aimed at making more than €50 for the round of golf and the steak but shur whats done is done now.

The raffle brought in €360 so we made it up to €400 and then we had Kerry Mikes contribution.

The band was sponsored by Heineken and the only other cost was €190 for prizes/trophies.

That's the basics of it but as I say, for clarity I will put the spreadsheet file on the web page when all the funds are in.

Thanks again to all - roll on next year.

Some of those unnamed lads in the middle never sleep!

It's not where they never slept Muppet, its where they stayed awake ! !! 

FL/MAYO

Well done to all concerned. It's nice to be able to put a face to some of the names from the board. Muppet watch out as you might get a slap on the back of the head some day when your around Castlebar;)

Well done to all involved  - apols for the belated post.

Had a great time both days and enjoyed the pints and singsong Friday night - it was great meeting those I'd met before again and meeting those I hadn't met before - all very sound lads. I was getting worried about the fella Seanie invited to join us - he took some shine to Declan!

Hopefully it'll become an annual event now.

Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 20, 2011, 07:54:53 PM
Well done to all concerned. It's nice to be able to put a face to some of the names from the board. Muppet watch out as you might get a slap on the back of the head some day when your around Castlebar;)

Sure they all do that to me down there!

QuoteUnbelievable ! I rang them there and they have it in the Pro Shop for collection on Monday when we go up for a game.  I have to say, South County Golf Club were first class and embraced what we were trying to do.

On a final note, poor AZ is collecting the hole sponsorship and when it is all in we will put a page on the website with a password which I will mail to everyone that took part and sponsored a hole. The calculations will then be simple as each golf course cost us €25 per player plus €10 for a steak (less than half price)

This meant you multiply the number of players by €15 euro, less 10 each for the Cross lads who we let off at 40 euro because they got drenched and did not finish the course. Some might say this is madness driving from Cross for the sake of €20 but this is precisely why we can continue this next year, if we can half that type of commitment and thise that drove down from Sligo then we are home and hosed before we start.

Likewise, yes, we could have aimed at making more than €50 for the round of golf and the steak but shur whats done is done now.

The raffle brought in €360 so we made it up to €400 and then we had Kerry Mikes contribution.

The band was sponsored by Heineken and the only other cost was €190 for prizes/trophies.

That's the basics of it but as I say, for clarity I will put the spreadsheet file on the web page when all the funds are in.

Thanks again to all - roll on next year.

Just to let you all know I got an anonymous bid of €100 from another one of the gaaboard members after the photo auction finished last weekend, as all the other photos were sold at that stage he said he was not concerned about getting one of the photos and just wanted to make the donation to the charities but out of good faith I have offered him any one of my other photos. That late bid is the kind of generous spirit that will make a success of next year.
Thank you ************** , you know who you are !!

So I have €405 to add to the charity fund.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 20, 2011, 09:45:27 PM
So I have €405 to add to the charity fund.

Do any charities give golf lessons to donors?

Haven't been around for a few days but nice pics Croi. Jaysus me ol swing looks semi decent!!!

Hardstation? A Priest? That's my Canterbury Body Armour for keeping out cold. Unfortunately, doesn't work on torrential rain.

On a more serious note, I have now almost completed the collection. sincere thanks to everybody, ye are a good bunch behind it all. To those of you who sent cheques, I know you're probably sick of waiting for them to clear from your account, so I hope to have that done this week, once I get the last one in.

I'll be liaising with Bud to figure out where to send the total amount, but we have cleared the €1000 mark in Hole sponsorship, so well done ye.

As I said, hopefully we'll have the money gone from your account this week.

Cheers

Yes, AZ, give me a ring around Friday and we will go on a session.  Do you think we have enough to hire an Emerald Star Line Cruiser for a week? Shur if we only got from Banagher to Garrykennedy we would be grand.

I forgot to mention that after the raffle was over a lady came up to me and gave another 100 euro and said she didn't want to be in the raffle, just to put it in the fund.

As you say yerself, there are a good old bunch on the board.

Give me a ring when you have all and I will give you what I have, the funds should be presented from GAABOARD.COM if we want to continue next year.