Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 04:19:56 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 10, 2011, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 03:22:09 PM
Are we wearing club or county jerseys or would that be a bit much?

Was gonna wear my Westmeath Polo Shirt which has my board name on the crest, I presume the rest of ye will be wearing name badges...  :P

I love the bit where you introduce yourself to a fellow gaaboarder. Its hilarious!

So club and county jersies folks? What do we think?

I'm certainly wearing my Offaly Polo shirt out golfing, but I'll change into my Newport one for the photo at the sponsored Tee :) I'll leave the jersey for later on :)

All my jersies and stuff are in cold storage, I'll maybe wear my medals round my neck  :P

Latest Draft of the Rules.

Texas Scramble Rules
1.         Each team will consist of four players.

2.         All players can tee off at each hole.

3.         The nominated team captain then selects the best drive and marks the position (within 6 inches) with a tee peg (not nearer the hole).
            A minimum of three (3) tee shots per player to be used.

4.         The other players then retrieve their golf balls.

5.         The player whose ball has been chosen then plays his next shot first.

6.         The remaining players then play within six inches of the tee peg (not nearer the hole). If chosen ball is in a hazard, then all other balls must be also played from the same hazard, within 6 inches, and not nearer the hole. Note! Golf balls shall be placed on closely mown areas (fairways and greens) and dropped if the chosen ball in play is in the rough or a hazard.

7.         The above method of play is followed until the green is reached.

8.         On the green the same method applies. The ball chosen is marked by a putter head length (not nearer the hole) and players putt from the same spot in turn.

9.         Each player must mark the ball after putting. Play continues from each chosen position until the ball is holed. Do NOT hole out unless you wish your stroke to count. Missing and then 'tapping in' will both count.

10.        The score is the total number of shots from the chosen spots (including the tee shot). Note! If a player putts and misses but then inadvertently knocks the ball into the hole, then that score counts.

Handicaps

Individual Player Handicaps will be assigned as follows.

GUI Handicap Holders = GUI Handicap
Non Handicap Golfers = 18 Handicap
Novice golfers = 22 Handicap

The Team Strokes Received will be calculated as follows.

(Team Member (TM) 1 Handicap + TM 2 Handicap + TM 3 Handicap + TM 4 Handicap)/8 (eight) = Strokes Received. (Rounded Up if .5 or greater)

At the end of the round the total for each hole is added together to give the total gross score for the round. The Strokes Received (see above) are then subtracted to give the net medal score for the round. The winning team will be the one with the lowest medal score. (note, not Stableford Scoring)

All other rules of golf apply to the "Ball in Play" In particular please be aware of Rule 14.2. Team members are not allowed to position themselves on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 10, 2011, 04:27:23 PM
All my jersies and stuff are in cold storage, I'll maybe wear my medals round my neck  :P

What you mean is they are now too small for you.

Best stay away from the lake shore so  ;)

You're really riding them with the tee shot quota AZ.

Cool, if you play sh*te we'll have something to strangle you with!  ;)

QuoteAll other rules of golf apply to the "Ball in Play" In particular please be aware of Rule 14.2

I'll have Frank Murphy on speed dial just in case there is any dispute.

One small thing are free kicks off the ground or out of the hand ?

Quote from: Puckoon on May 10, 2011, 04:39:22 PM

Why, would you only have it at 2? I think that's too easy.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 10, 2011, 04:42:52 PM
QuoteAll other rules of golf apply to the "Ball in Play" In particular please be aware of Rule 14.2

http://golf.about.com/cs/rulesofgolf/a/rule14.htm

14-2. Assistance
In making a stroke, a player must not:

a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements; or
b. Allow his caddie, his partner or his partner's caddie to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

Penalty for Breach of Rule 14-1 or -2:
Match play — Loss of hole; Stroke play — Two strokes.

Does this mean you can't play with the wind?

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 04:44:22 PM

Given there seem to be a large amount of novices - yeah. It seems more like a charity day's craic than a competition. But I'm not organising nuttin. Just saying and I probably shouldnt have.  :)

EDIT - Maybe three isn't that bad. 4 was harsh.

Quote from: muppet on May 10, 2011, 04:45:29 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 10, 2011, 04:42:52 PM

http://golf.about.com/cs/rulesofgolf/a/rule14.htm

14-2. Assistance
In making a stroke, a player must not:

a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements; or
b. Allow his caddie, his partner or his partner's caddie to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

Penalty for Breach of Rule 14-1 or -2:
Match play — Loss of hole; Stroke play — Two strokes.

Does this mean you can't play with the wind?

That means you can't have a lad with a big beach windbreaker set up when you're pucking it out.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 04:32:49 PM

What you mean is they are now too small for you.

Something like that alright  :D

Quote from: Puckoon on May 10, 2011, 04:48:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 04:44:22 PM

Given there seem to be a large amount of novices - yeah. It seems more like a charity day's craic than a competition. But I'm not organising nuttin. Just saying and I probably shouldnt have.  :)

EDIT - Maybe three isn't that bad. 4 was harsh.

I agree 4 was harsh. Muppet was beginning to worry me :D I think 3 is okay though, because even novices need to feel the sphincter tightening that goes on when you 'need a good shot' on a par 5 :D

Dave

How many of ye are actually going from the forum? There only seems to be about a dozen of ye going by the posts on this thread.
Is that not a poor return from nearly four and a half thousand members?