Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2011, 02:46:05 PM
AZ I've been onto the father-in-law, he's an ex-club captain and he was saying with handicaps involved for a fourball scramble you add them all up and divide by 8.

You can also introduce local rules.

E.g

1. Your always drive in order of lowest handicap first
2. You must use at least 2 drives from his team member
etc etc

Dinny, a huge amount of players in this will have no handicap, and then you'll have the usual bandits. All the scrambles I played in in the States just basically took total score, and that's it. I'd say we'll have more without GUI or even society handicaps than will have them.

The other thing we could do is give a shot on holes indexed 1 through x for teams if they genuinely were beginners.

I was thinking of the following.

Texas Scramble Rules
1.         Each team will consist of four players.

2.         All players can tee off at each hole.

3.         The nominated team captain then selects the best drive and marks the position (within 6 inches) with a tee peg (not nearer the hole).
            A minimum of four tee shots per player to be used.

4.         The other players then retrieve their balls.

5.         The player whose ball has been chosen then plays his next shot first.

6.         The remaining players then play within six inches of the tee peg (not nearer the hole). If chosen ball is in a hazard, then all other balls must be also played from the same hazard, within 6 inches, and not nearer the hole. Note! Golf balls shall be placed on closely mown areas (fairways and greens) and dropped if the chosen ball in play is in the rough or a hazard.

7.         The above method of play is followed until the green is reached.

8.         On the green the same method applies. The ball chosen is marked by a putter head length (not nearer the hole) and players putt from the same spot in turn.

9.         Each player must mark the ball after putting. Play continues from each chosen position until the ball is holed. Do NOT hole out unless you wish your stroke to count. Missing and then 'tapping in' will both count.

10.        The score is the total number of shots from the chosen spots (including the tee shot). Note! If a player putts and misses but then inadvertently knocks the ball into the hole, then that score counts.

At the end of the round the total for each hole is added together to give the total net medal score for the round. The winning team will be the one with the lowest medal score. (note, not Stableford Scoring)

All other rules of golf apply to the "Ball in Play" In particular please be aware of Rule 14.2. Team members are not allowed to position themselves on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

QuoteGood stuff. I think muppet has to leave Saturday evening. Mike, what about yourself?

Yep B&B for me too ...

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 09, 2011, 02:59:39 PM
QuoteGood stuff. I think muppet has to leave Saturday evening. Mike, what about yourself?

Yep B&B for me too ...

Good stuff, so that's Mike, Broken Cross and myself in a house. 4 is the ideal number so we have one spot free for the Saturday night. Any takers?

Lads, did anyone else manage to wangle 50 or 100 euro out of their local club to sponsor a hole? With the numbers, I think the hole sponsorship and the raffle on Saturday night might be the best chance of getting a few shillings for the charities, which is the reason we are doing it, as well as the craic :)

If ye are at training or coaching or meetings this week, sure float it and see what the reaction is. €50 is not a lot for good causes, and surely be to God we have enough for at least 18 clubs across the country.  Let's drive it on for the last few days. We'll have a great auld weekend with the help of God/Deity of choice, so lets get as much as we can for the Cormac McAnallen trust and Pieta House.

Cheers

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 02:55:39 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2011, 02:46:05 PM
AZ I've been onto the father-in-law, he's an ex-club captain and he was saying with handicaps involved for a fourball scramble you add them all up and divide by 8.

You can also introduce local rules.

E.g

1. Your always drive in order of lowest handicap first
2. You must use at least 2 drives from his team member
etc etc

Dinny, a huge amount of players in this will have no handicap, and then you'll have the usual bandits. All the scrambles I played in in the States just basically took total score, and that's it. I'd say we'll have more without GUI or even society handicaps than will have them.

The other thing we could do is give a shot on holes indexed 1 through x for teams if they genuinely were beginners.

I was thinking of the following.

Texas Scramble Rules
1.         Each team will consist of four players.

2.         All players can tee off at each hole.

3.         The nominated team captain then selects the best drive and marks the position (within 6 inches) with a tee peg (not nearer the hole).
            A minimum of four tee shots per player to be used.

4.         The other players then retrieve their balls.

5.         The player whose ball has been chosen then plays his next shot first.

6.         The remaining players then play within six inches of the tee peg (not nearer the hole). If chosen ball is in a hazard, then all other balls must be also played from the same hazard, within 6 inches, and not nearer the hole. Note! Golf balls shall be placed on closely mown areas (fairways and greens) and dropped if the chosen ball in play is in the rough or a hazard.

7.         The above method of play is followed until the green is reached.

8.         On the green the same method applies. The ball chosen is marked by a putter head length (not nearer the hole) and players putt from the same spot in turn.

9.         Each player must mark the ball after putting. Play continues from each chosen position until the ball is holed. Do NOT hole out unless you wish your stroke to count. Missing and then 'tapping in' will both count.

10.        The score is the total number of shots from the chosen spots (including the tee shot). Note! If a player putts and misses but then inadvertently knocks the ball into the hole, then that score counts.

At the end of the round the total for each hole is added together to give the total net medal score for the round. The winning team will be the one with the lowest medal score. (note, not Stableford Scoring)

All other rules of golf apply to the "Ball in Play" In particular please be aware of Rule 14.2. Team members are not allowed to position themselves on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

Non-affiliated GUI members normally in these events get a handicap of 18.  I just think that you have to give the non-golfers a chance, if you have 2 low handicapers on one team it will make the event non-competive as they will clean up.

I've no problem if that's the preferred route.

What I would suggest doing in that case is give all complete newbies 22, non handicapped golfers 18, and everyone else their GUI.

then add all 4, divide by 8, and subtract that number from the total score at the end.

So, our team would be

AZ (18 (no GUI)), BC (22), KM (22), Muppet (18) = 80/8 = 10.

We shoot 85, net = 75.

What do you think of that?

Rounding would be down below .50, and up from .50 up.

If the total/8 was 17.5, then it would be 18.
If the total/8 was 17.25 then it would be 17.

QuoteA minimum of four tee shots per player to be used.

We need to talk.

Quote from: muppet on May 06, 2011, 06:13:27 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 06, 2011, 04:43:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 06, 2011, 04:06:00 PM
Croí 4/1

Radical change or not that's mental :D

Disclaimer: Busted my thumb playing Junior football last night so unless there's such a thing as a set of long clubs to go with a long putter the ball won't get off the tee box four times.

Croí 4/1 40/1

Put the house on it at 40/1, came through 60 mins strapped up yesterday so the odds may tighten a little.

Booked a house there for the Fri night for myself, Dinny & Declan. Lynchbhoy are you sure you can't secure the release for the night? In the case that he can't, we'll be looking for ANOther to even it up as it's €100 for the night (there's 2 doubles and a twin). Or if there's two (or more) of ye stuck and ye don't mind sharing a double, oh matron, or taking the couch then get your oar in. Can give a lift to anyone coming from the south city either.

Really looking forward to this now, well apart from the golf bit.

Our house is in the same boat as Croi, but for Saturday night, so anyone who fancies a place to Kip on Saturday night, let me know.

Will a fellow get away with a pair of runners for this now that the Blackthorns football boots are banned. And I have a Mikasa glove I "borrowed" from Mikey Sheehy from around 1985 around at home somewhere which might look the part too

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 09, 2011, 05:56:19 PM
Will a fellow get away with a pair of runners for this now that the Blackthorns football boots are banned. And I have a Mikasa glove I "borrowed" from Mikey Sheehy from around 1985 around at home somewhere which might look the part too

I've an auld elastic knee bandage a la Pat the Puke, is it allowed?

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2011, 06:22:35 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 09, 2011, 05:56:19 PM

I've an auld elastic knee bandage a la Pat the Puke, is it allowed?

As long as you don't putt it on!