Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 09, 2011, 11:25:47 AM
QuoteI took down the golf clubs for the first time in a year last night. Spent 20 minutes brusing mildew off the Arizona Cardinals golf bag

That auld cute hoorism is not fooling anyone !! I am still clubless but chasing a few leads and will tog out at full back as planned on Sat, BTW what time is the throw in tee off on Sat ?

I agree there is no need for prizes put whatever money raised to the charities.

I have a call into Bud to see what time we're pucking out at. I'm hoping it's around the middle of the day, because it's probably a 3 hour spin to Wicklow from Tipp I'm imagining. and I have to be there in good time to stretch, go to the range, putting practice and have a pint before we start.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 09, 2011, 11:25:47 AM
QuoteI took down the golf clubs for the first time in a year last night. Spent 20 minutes brusing mildew off the Arizona Cardinals golf bag

That auld cute hoorism is not fooling anyone !! I am still clubless but chasing a few leads and will tog out at full back as planned on Sat, BTW what time is the throw in tee off on Sat ?

I agree there is no need for prizes put whatever money raised to the charities.

AZ 8/1 2/1 Evens

Quote from: muppet on May 08, 2011, 10:11:52 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on May 08, 2011, 08:09:19 PM
On the issue of prizes?  How many prizes should I get and what type?  Should I get trophies or practical prizes?  Any ideas or suggestions welcome - only days to go.

I hope to have a few vouchers for four which can do as a minor prize for a 4ball. Will know more on Tuesday. I haven't booked into a 4ball on the friday, any team with 2 spaces willing to take a muppet and a Deise that day?

Heffo was going to play with my crew (had 10 initially) but I've had two casualties since so we're down to 8. Would probably make sense, if it suits Heffo, that he join you two and ye will only need another to make up a 4 ball? Is that alright with all parties?

Agree with the lads on the prizes. Don't go spending too much money on prizes, that's not necessary.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 09, 2011, 12:07:30 PM
On the issue of prizes?  How many prizes should I get and what type?  Should I get trophies or practical prizes?  Any ideas or suggestions welcome - only days to go.

I hope to have a few vouchers for four which can do as a minor prize for a 4ball. Will know more on Tuesday. I haven't booked into a 4ball on the friday, any team with 2 spaces willing to take a muppet and a Deise that day?

Heffo was going to play with my crew (had 10 initially) but I've had two casualties since so we're down to 8. Would probably make sense, if it suits Heffo, that he join you two and ye will only need another to make up a 4 ball? Is that alright with all parties?

Agree with the lads on the prizes. Don't go spending too much money on prizes, that's not necessary.

That'd be great MS - cheers

By any chance (If I need it) would you be able to take a 100 yd detour off the N81 and pick me up on the Friday??

Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2011, 12:09:39 PM

By any chance (If I need it) would you be able to take a 100 yd detour off the N81 and pick me up on the Friday??

Sounds great to me too. I can pick anyone up that needs a lift also.

Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2011, 12:09:39 PM

No problem. I'll be coming from the north of the city aiming to be at South County well before 3pm to organise my group of galoots. Haven't even looked at a route yet. Will send you a pm.

By the way, I assume no shenanigans will be at play for you Muppet, given that you'll be on one team on Friday and on another on Saturday? If I see you missing 2 foot putts I'll be asking to see your card from Friday.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 12:21:06 PM
By the way, I assume no shenanigans will be at play for you Muppet, given that you'll be on one team on Friday and on another on Saturday? If I see you missing 2 foot putts I'll be asking to see your card from Friday.

If my missing a two foot putt is critical it will be because yourself, BC1 and KM have all missed the same putt!

AZ 8/1 2/1 Evens 25/1

Quote from: muppet on May 09, 2011, 12:27:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 12:21:06 PM

If my missing a two foot putt is critical it will be because yourself, BC1 and KM have all missed the same putt!

AZ 8/1 2/1 Evens 25/1

No it won't. Sometimes we'll let you go so you can feel you are contributing :)

right, I seem to have managed to get someone to trust me with a set of clubs, they are brand "Seve" whatever that means, so hopefully the great man can steer me clear of rough, bunkers, water and too many pints beforehand at the bar with AZ !

Right, Bud in his infinite wisdom has entrusted the rules to me (buwahahahaha), so I'll post them here. Suffice to say they will be the simplest scramble rules I can get.

Secondly, I've my name on a house there, so anyone staying on Saturday Night that is not sorted out with a gaff, let me know ASAP. I think the houses hold 6 (Bud, can you confirm that?).

Obviously preference goes to my teammates, so Muppet, Mike and Broken Cross, can ye let me know asap?

It's €100 for the house, so if we have 4 it'll be 25 a head.

Cheers

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 02:22:51 PM
Right, Bud in his infinite wisdom has entrusted the rules to me (buwahahahaha), so I'll post them here. Suffice to say they will be the simplest scramble rules I can get.

Secondly, I've my name on a house there, so anyone staying on Saturday Night that is not sorted out with a gaff, let me know ASAP. I think the houses hold 6 (Bud, can you confirm that?).

Obviously preference goes to my teammates, so Muppet, Mike and Broken Cross, can ye let me know asap?

Cheers

Got the clubs myself today. Jeez this will be fun!!!!  I am sure there is a hurl in the bag as well!  I hope my team mates will approve of my "yerra hit it like f**k and hope it goes somewhere close" approach. I want to re emphasise that I have zero, I repeat zero, golfing experience apart from hitting a few balls in the field beside Paddy Moleys house about 20 years ago. Some hit the cow shit some didn't. It was simply a case of luck! 

AZ put my name down for the house. Will confirm today is the rest of the Cross lads are staying.  AFAIK they are. 

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2011, 02:37:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 02:22:51 PM

Cheers

Got the clubs myself today. Jeez this will be fun!!!!  I am sure there is a hurl in the bag as well!  I hope my team mates will approve of my "yerra hit it like f**k and hope it goes somewhere close" approach. I want to re emphasise that I have zero, I repeat zero, golfing experience apart from hitting a few balls in the field beside Paddy Moleys house about 20 years ago. Some hit the cow shit some didn't. It was simply a case of luck! 

AZ put my name down for the house. Will confirm today is the rest of the Cross lads are staying.  AFAIK they are.

Good stuff. I think muppet has to leave Saturday evening. Mike, what about yourself?

AZ I've been onto the father-in-law, he's an ex-club captain and he was saying with handicaps involved for a fourball scramble you add them all up and divide by 8.

You can also introduce local rules.

E.g

1. Your always drive in order of lowest handicap first
2. You must use at least 2 drives from his team member
etc etc