Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

QuotePhoto Auction update with about 24 hours to go, thanks again to everyone, really good response so far, will let it roll on until tomorrow night.

Photo  Top Bid     No. of Bids
1         €50.00         4
2         €50.00         3
3         €40.00         2
4         €30.00         2

Anyone now for the last couple of choc ices ??

Any word from the course? Sky Sports seems to be focussing on some other event.

Good news for my teammates, I found a scatter of nice golfballs and tees, so we don't have to worry about that anyhow. The clubs are clean and I'm ready to go.

Fair play to all involved in this event. I'm unable to attend due to my fiancée having our first baby 10 weeks ago so at a pass to play golf and have pints down the country is a no no.

Hopefully this becomes an annual event as I'd love to attend next year.

Again well done to all you lads (and lassies)!

The Auction is over and I am sending the winning bidders a PM , on their approval I will publish the winning bidders. We made just shy of €300 which is just fantastic, thanks to everyone.

One photo went to a non-gaaboarder on Facebook.

Just to wrap up the auction:

Photo 1 €60 - Orangeman
Photo 2 €50 - Muppet
Photo 3 €150 - O'Neill , RedandGreenSniper & Fear ón Srath Bán get a copy for €50 each
Photo 4 €35 - Facebook anonymous

Thanks again to every one. I'm away to pack the bag for tomorrrow.

Just like to say a public thanks to Budwiser and his minions Seanie, AZ and Conal for organising this event. Really enjoyed the golf and craic afterwards on Friday night unfortunately I had to leave straight after the golf on Saturday so didn't get a chance to catch up with AZ, BC1 and Kerrymike.
Just observations for future reference

1. Declan is a top golfer expect when hungover..
2. Heffo and Declan attract 'friendly' guys who like to sing the odd Prince tune
3. Never entrust Croí with responsibility unless you like sleeping on the floor
4. Muppet has a range of snoring that a Coloratura soprano would be proud of
5.Also bring a concrete block to hang around Croí's head
6. Seanie Magpie and Muppet could make a career as an Oasis tribute band..
7. Lynchbhoy actually loves all things Belfast...
8. Budwiser is a very multi-talented man..

And as a Cavan man, what is the most important question? 

Quote from: Denn Forever on May 15, 2011, 07:53:11 PM
And as a Cavan man, what is the most important question?

What happened your U-21's in the AI final?

Me head, me head, Oh sweet Jesus me head.  The best ever craic. Kerry Mike did everyone proud at around 4am this morning. Az found roaming around the kitchen at 5.45am like an Offaly Rover looking for an all important Blackberry whereupon he was told by a drunken Bud to try "Ringing it" (Scowl and a cut ya in two stare) but all ended well. It was actually in KM's shoe-under his foot.

Bud's mess ups:

Not recognizing Dinny Breen who I would love to have met and probably talked to under his real name.
Not getting Muppet to do an unplugged session with those fancy acoustic bar chords instead of putting him up at the mike like an egg on a dresser.
Not telling Anto (Daly) that he can take Conal K off Gilroy but not off us, although Conal did arrive with the NHL Cup and was on the course on Friday.
Mixing up Niall ??? with Niall (Heffo) and refusing to accept that Heffo put €75 euro in my hand to pay for a few beds much to poor Muppets consternation when in fact it was a different Niall altogether-if you know what I mean!! (Having said that, when you pay for your beds and lose your keys and end up bumming around, does it make a difference?)  Muppet has the answer to that one  ;))
Not having the time to get to know everyone, simply impossible when under pressure.
Not giving each player a voucher for steak that they could have redeemed at any time, although when they did arrive you could bull cows after them !.

The bottom line.

The bottom line, is that we will now make up the final figure to €3,000 because if there is a shortfall it will be subsidised, although I think we have made it anyway.  Each charity will get €1,500.  If that buys one Defib for one club, or provides the cost of one Freephone number for one month for Pieta House and saves just one life then it was all worth while.

Later, I will put some pics on the website, some astonishing tales of the human capacity for liquid, but, most of all, a good description of the type of lads, ambassadors for the GAA who subscribe to this board. In a word - unbelievable.

It is dangerous to go down the road of thanking individuals in cases like this but it has to be said that AZ, Magpie Seannie, Kerry Mike, Declan and Dinny come for special mention along with the lads from Cross.

A full report will filter through in the coming days.

For now, there are lots of people on this board who do not play golf or who, through different circumstances, were unable to support a sponsorship. It is important for you to know that once your heart and thoughts were with us that the vibes came through and spurred us on and you all played that final putt on the 18th for us as well.

Photos and tales of debauchery tomorrow !!

Thanks.

Thanks Bud for all the work. Golf, steaks, drink, accommodation, one man band (literally) & one man band (metaphorically).

Two great days craic, unfortunately missed the second night so didn't get to see how Kerry Mike and the Cross-boys sing-song went.

Enjoyed the golf both days. Was with Heffo the big hitter on day one and with Kerry Mike (who only started hitting the ball in September the last two holes), AZOffaly who was our banker off the tee and Brokencrossbar1 who never held a club before but by the end was hitting the pin on the 18th from the fairway!

I thought everyone mixed really well rather than the usual talking in small groups. Magpie Seanie gave a few great renditions while I took 4 minutes to find the first note of a song! Next time Croí promised he will sing one.

New rule: Always, always make sure when someone leaves the key at reception that someone picks it up before the residents bar closes. Always.

Enjoyed meeting Croí, Dinny and Declan even if it was on the floor in Magpie Seanie's kitchen. Dinny my snoring was tactical to wake someone who would get the key when reception opened. Seemed to work too. Lynchboy seems to have had more clubs than Robbie Keane which means he knows people from all over the place, which is the state the rest of us ended up in.

Also had the craic with the others who came with boardmembers who I won't name without their knowledge.

BTW who brought the falsetto guy who sang the Prince song?

Finally the steaks were great so well done to Conal & co at Avon Rí.

Dying.com

Great to meet up with BC1 , Bud and Seanie finally. Also great to meet, even briefly, a good few others, many of whom were worse for wear after Friday. And of course good to meet lads like Muppet and Kerry Mike again.

Our  fourball had a bit of craic, even if the weather refused to cooperate. Thanks to Muppet, Kerry Mike and Broken Cross for sticking it out and seeing it through. All worth it as novice BC1 rattled the pin from the fairway on 18.

I'll probably write more when I come around  a bit, say Wednesday :), but fair play to everyone for all their efforts. I think €3,000 for charity, with a great night or two thrown in, mde this venture more than worthwhile. It also convinced me that we can use this board to do a bit of good as well.

Thanks, sincerely, to Bud, who put in an amount of effort, and I'm delighted it went off well for your sake.

To everyone else, thanks for confirming my impression and experience that anyone I've met off the board has been dead sound in person, even Man United fans :D

Sorry I missed this outing. I played at my club on Saturday and the weather was horrendous, so I hope it didnt affect you boys too much.

Maybe next time.

That's a horrible thing to say. Hopefully next time it doesn't affect them too much again.