Cavan break GAA’s winter training ban

Started by Carbery, December 13, 2010, 09:39:33 AM

Celt_Man

By the way, if it comes down to keeping the substantial National League takings from being taken off us.... If I was the County Board Chairman, I would simply say to Mr. Cooney...

"There wasn't anyone from the 2010 panel present, no rules were broken...  Prove it that anything else happened - are you going to take the word of a Journalist over a County Chairman..."

I'd lie through my teeth on this one (if any rules were broken) and then I'd move heaven and earth to get this fooking stupid lopsided rule changed or abolished quickly
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

I agree Celt Man,if they ask for the National League takings,tell them  to f**k off
This  shit-stirring John Fogarty individual should be run out of Cavan if he ever sets foot here again.

cornafean

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 16, 2010, 04:02:02 AM
This  shit-stirring John Fogarty individual should be run out of Cavan if he ever sets foot here again.

and so should his newspaper.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Here we have a perfect storm of GAA anarchy:

- Ridiculous rule brought in without any thought about intended or unintended consequences.
- Response to ridiculous rule: break it.
- Response to disciplinary measures for breaking properly constituted rule: outrage.
- Response to media commentary on the farce: pitchforks.

Winnie Peg

Quote from: Celt_Man on December 16, 2010, 01:54:45 AM
By the way, if it comes down to keeping the substantial National League takings from being taken off us.... If I was the County Board Chairman, I would simply say to Mr. Cooney...

"There wasn't anyone from the 2010 panel present, no rules were broken...  Prove it that anything else happened - are you going to take the word of a Journalist over a County Chairman..."

I'd lie through my teeth on this one (if any rules were broken) and then I'd move heaven and earth to get this fooking stupid lopsided rule changed or abolished quickly

Correct me if I'm wrong but was it not the players who campaigned for a two months closed season.

Lawrence of Knockbride

I'd have to agree with Hardy. The rule is stupid but it's a rule nonetheless. Why they played Mackey is beyond me. I can't see a defense for it and given that the rule and the punishment were known I can't see anything other than them being applied.

Cavan broke the rule and I dont think Val andrews will give a feck. He needed to see the players in action.
The Breffni boys should take their punishment now.
However out of badness, they should declare that all NFL home games are 'free in'.
Or maybe 5 cents or something like that !
the Central Council or whoever can take their percentage of the 5 cent a head gate receipts !!

Cvan have a lot of money behind them and dont need gate receipts.
I'd also guess that Val is a hell of a lot cheaper than Carr so they wont need to raise as much in Dublin 15 this year for the Cavan cause !!

anglocelt39

Lynchbhoys view is exactly along the lines of what I was thinking. If they fine, well lets make it not worth their while on the takings. While a few of us Cavan lads don't want a bar of this particularly stupid rule some of us are very keen to fully apply the stupid rule about under 16's playing in the recent Ulster JFC final.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

tommysmith

Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 16, 2010, 07:47:17 PM
Lynchbhoys view is exactly along the lines of what I was thinking. If they fine, well lets make it not worth their while on the takings. While a few of us Cavan lads don't want a bar of this particularly stupid rule some of us are very keen to fully apply the stupid rule about under 16's playing in the recent Ulster JFC final.

Thats cheating another team out of a possbile Ulster title though.

Quote from: cornafean on December 16, 2010, 09:51:36 AM

and so should his newspaper.

You are a journalist. You know several counties break this ridiculous training ban. But no proof. You then witness it in Cavan with your own eyes. You should be sacked if you don't report it. That's his job. And no, I'm not John Fogarty :P

dublinfella

I agree Celt Man,if they ask for the National League takings,tell them  to f**k off

Bullshit. He is an eyewitness to a breach of the rules. Its his job to comment on it.

Its a shite rule, we all agree on that, but its a rule. If Cavan are dense enough to do it in front of a f**king journalist, they should be fined for stupidity too.

put-it-up-again

Lads will ye relax, the boy's weren't training at all. They were just meeting up at a starting point for a few Christmas beers and normally the piss-ups start from Breffni after a championship exit so it was only fitting to start the session their to celebrate the baby jebus's birthday  ;) Tradition and all that for the season that is in it!

Quote from: dublinfella on December 19, 2010, 11:25:57 PM

Bullshit. He is an eyewitness to a breach of the rules. Its his job to comment on it.

Its a shite rule, we all agree on that, but its a rule. If Cavan are dense enough to do it in front of a f**king journalist, they should be fined for stupidity too.

What the f**k would you know about it anyway?
you probably wouldnt be fit to pick out Cavan on a map,seeing as your "soccer" team never has to play down here.   :D

Dougal

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 20, 2010, 05:18:42 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 19, 2010, 11:25:57 PM

What the f**k would you know about it anyway?
you probably wouldnt be fit to pick out Cavan on a map,seeing as your "soccer" team never has to play down here.   :D

that doesnt take away from the fact that he's right though.
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Quote from: tommysmith on December 16, 2010, 08:11:48 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 16, 2010, 07:47:17 PM

Thats cheating another team out of a possbile Ulster title though.

Listen to yourself man dear, did you really grow up playing GAA sports?  I know that I (or any of my team mates) would not be running about crying about losing a Senior match because the other team had an U-16 playing.  We would be embarrassed to even bring it up as an issue.  Where has the dignity went in the GAA?  I love the mind set of the older generation, who think that all modern footballers/hurlers are softies in comparison to them, with their war stories of playing through games with this injury and that, and giving off about these Ham String things that everybody cries about today.  Go into your local bar and have a chat with some of the older stalwarts, and see what their reaction is to you complaing about a Senior team getting beat by a team containing an U16, and then see what their reaction is when you mention that the sore losers are appealing against the result because of the boys involvement.  I'm sure you will not get a response in line with your own.