Galway v Armagh

Started by bennydorano, February 22, 2007, 11:12:04 AM

Goats Do Shave

I presume Big Paul Courtney was in midfield!?

Good to hear he done well...we need a big year out of him in Ballyhegan!

Malone Aristocrat

Paul had a horse of a game. he won a load of ball round the middle and himself and big CV are a great pairing for queens.

Sandy Hill

QuoteArmagh team for sunday:
Armagh: C McKinney, A Mallon, E McNulty, F Moriarty, P McCreesh, C McKeever, T McClelland, G Swift, C Vernon, P Toal, J Lavery, M O'Rourke, S McDonnell, P Keenan, M O'Rourke

Interesting; glad to see Martin O'Rourke still there.
"Stercus accidit"

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 22, 2007, 02:34:21 PM

Goat, any of your players live in Richhill?

A must win game for Galway otherwise its D2 football for us next season.  We were very poor v Derry and medicore at best v Laois, although we still should have taken at least a point from that one.  Big improvement needed from our midfield and forwards this weekend.  Both sectors have been very poor to date and scoring returns of 7 points in both our games is evidence enough of this.  Bergin needs to revert to midfield as both Cullinane and Geraghty are too similar in style and it just doesn't work.  I would probably partner him with Geraghty as IMO he is the better of the two. 

I have no doubt that confidence is low in the camp but hopefully the lads can put together 70 fully committed mins of football this weekend and get the 2 very badly needed points we require.  I will travel in hope, Galway by 2 !

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 22, 2007, 02:34:21 PM

Bit of an understatement there
Ballyhegan are very very poor indeed
IMO you lot need 4/5 Courtneys

Goats Do Shave

Well he has 2 brothers, one is a senior footballer, the other is a B player at best!

Our parish stretches that far & includes Mullavilly - Where Paul McGrane is from, however most of our members are from the Stonebridge side of the parish. I can't think of anyone from Richill on our teams - not the village anyway!

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 23, 2007, 10:36:41 AM

Well he has 2 brothers, one is a senior footballer, the other is a B player at best!

Our parish stretches that far & includes Mullavilly - Where Paul McGrane is from, however most of our members are from the Stonebridge side of the parish. I can't think of anyone from Richill on our teams - not the village anyway!

Goat that brother of Courtney who plays for the B team he is the biggest Hallion ever to put on a pair of boots, he played against us in a B league match a few years back and every young cub on our team was battered by him. There is no football in him at all but a big trier.

Goats Do Shave

There's more football in a goal post, he never played football in his life till 2 years ago.  :D

He'a a good lad though!

DJGaliv

Wind fecked up the game as is usual at Salthill.
Armagh were six points to no score up at half time I think, but we seemed to make more of the wind in the second half, keeping Armagh to only a couple of scores. Great to see Joyce back.
Good win today. Hopefully now people will start realising that Galway's problems aren't in defence, but in midfield, and to a lesser extent in the forwards. We have the best defensive record in the division, despite losing two out of three. We also have scored the least, which doesn't surprise me. We need to sort out the midfield, and get our forwards to gel. The front six haven't put on a show in quite some time.
Everyone outside Galway thinks we have a shaky defence, but a great forward line. Lads it's the other way around.

Galway weren't that good. Armagh were awful, and would be on zero points if it weren't for the last minute goal against Louth.

Cant understand why Forker was brought on, at least Keenan was a threat.

Rufus T Firefly

Avoided finding out what the score was and watched the deferred coverage on TG4. Very disappointing at the end to lose the game, having led for so long. Given that it was the proverbial game of two halves, difficult to know what to make of it. That said, I thought the defence showed up well enough although the attack looked quiteweak.

Young Moriarty showed up well again, Andy Mallon was excellent - the others showed well in patches - midfield was second best in the second half and the attack should have been more ruthless in the first half and lived off scraps in the second. Young Keenan I thought showed up well, but still to me appears to lack self confidence and determination that could make him into a very good player.

What is the score with Geezer - I would have thought that the second half would have been ideal for him, when we were trying to hold out, and what the hell is happening with Philip Loughran - I take it he's still on the panel?  ???

Lastly - ref was poor enough today I thought - Galway's score to take the lead saw Enda McNulty receive the old third man tackle as he tried to cover, and the ref would do well to take a refresher course as regards forwards grabbing the arm of a defender and pulling him down! He appeared to  miss it every time! 

"Lastly - ref was poor enough today I thought - Galway's score to take the lead saw Enda McNulty receive the old third man tackle as he tried to cover, and the ref would do well to take a refresher course as regards forwards grabbing the arm of a defender and pulling him down! He appeared to  miss it every time!"

From An Armagh man :D :D

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: Tyrones own on February 25, 2007, 06:52:15 PM

"Lastly - ref was poor enough today I thought - Galway's score to take the lead saw Enda McNulty receive the old third man tackle as he tried to cover, and the ref would do well to take a refresher course as regards forwards grabbing the arm of a defender and pulling him down! He appeared to  miss it every time!"

From An Armagh man :D :D

Believe me - was waiting on that reply.

My reading is obviously not good - you though appear to be a clever chap  ::) - could you let me know the title of this thread again?   

Louis the Red

Toal was very quiet today. I can't understand why he plays so deep, particularly as he is one of the few of the forwards that can take a score ???