Gerry's moving south...

Started by Maguire01, November 14, 2010, 12:46:10 PM

spanner

I seriously doubt that GA will move himself and his family to live in Louth.
If he does, he will lose access to the NHS and he will then have to pay for his visits to doctors, dentists etc...
But then I'm sure he is willing to sacrifice those little things BECAUSE HIS COUNTRY NEEDS HIM!

Hurler on the Bitch

Now that man is perceptive .... TD by Christmas? :P

there have been numerous references to the predilection debate with mad mullah McDowell 1. the rte presenter was far from impartial. 2. Gerry Adams or any of the opposition parties don't have access to government facts or figures. 3. sinn fein were labled economic illiterates UNLIKE the Pd's, Fianna fail, and the greens who lead the country into 100 years of debt and mass emigration. 4. Gerry tried to raise to serious subject of suicide that night and McDowell shouted him down, meanwhile the suicide count in ireland has rocketed. 5. wheres McDowell now- helping himself to a huge pension and still doing work for tribunals as a barrister-- megabucks from the Irish taxpayer.

Gerry Adams is not motivated by money if he was he'd be on the lecture trail with Bertie ahern worth $400,000 a year.

he's taking a chance- Arthur Morgan is a very capable politician, a louth man.

i see a change in the south, a definite swing away from the crass arrogant politics of the 3 main parties when something like suicide comes to your door it makes you think people want a more caring society

a coalition with labour is not a runner as labour don't have any policies except to continue with Fianna fails shite

on the economy in the south basically its fukd wages are too high and exports out strip imports 60/40. ask any haulier 60% of traffic out of ireland leaves the country empty, loads out of ireland pay the boat if your lucky simply because there aren't enough of them. compare this to 12 years ago loads out of ireland paid better than loads in and loads back were scarce with many trucks coming back empty.

every time a factory closed the story was 'well we don't want that type of work anyway we only want highly paid E jobs' sure buy a couple of houses and rent them out with your redundancy.. ::)

sinn fein opposed entry into the euro the timing was wrong and they were right. each time they have put forward an economic policy time has proved them right. they oppose the fianna fail 4 year budget that will see whats left of health service trashed, and the most vunerable people dumped on the roadside. their 6 year plan has been stress tested by dept of finance officials and has stood scrutiny and will try to stimulate the economy and protect the poor/working class.

Ger's biggest problem is RTE the pro government media will trash him. republicans are potrayed as Marxist communists who know nothing about running a country and would turn the place into Cuba, and then the trump card 'UNITED IRELAND?!!' how can we afford that? we're broke! as if they folk down south would have to buy the place. forget that both Fianna fail and Fianna Gael both claim to be republican parties (just like the SDLP)

hope he does the business his heart is in the right place no matter where he lives

Quote from: spanner on November 20, 2010, 12:41:55 AM

I seriously doubt that GA will move himself and his family to live in Louth.
If he does, he will lose access to the NHS and he will then have to pay for his visits to doctors, dentists etc...
But then I'm sure he is willing to sacrifice those little things BECAUSE HIS COUNTRY NEEDS HIM!
why would he lose access to the NHS?? 

quiet surprised that the shinners haven't put gerry forward now. angus seems to be doing all the talking to the media and he's got a slight stammer when nervous 

Some interesting points on Slugger in relation to the electioneering approach in Donegal:

QuotePretty much all of the Donegal world agus a bhean chéile thinks Pearse Doherty is going to top the poll with ease this time out. Since they managed only to scrape 8k last time out, that's likely to be a game changing moment for the party. On the ground, Sinn Fein have run a pretty canny campaign. In contrast with the 2007 general election, there is little evidence of Gerry Adams on any of their posters.

In fact they've put out three different kinds of posters throughout the constituency: those clearly branded Sinn Fein; those with a Sinn Fein logo even smaller than Brian Ó Domhnaill's Fianna Fail logo (and that is small); and those without any SF logo whatsoever. A canny, (very FF-like) campaign in which the candidate is uncharacteristically elevated above party. Accordingly, expect Sinn Fein to ship a record number of first preferences, and a record number of transfers
http://sluggerotoole.com/2010/11/25/as-donegal-south-west-goes-to-the-polls/

There's no doubt that Doherty is a credible candidate and that he deserves any bounce for driving the by-election in the first place. But it does indicate that it might be a personal vote rather than a 'party' vote. It won't really matter to SF in so far as they'll (most likely) have another seat... but it may well be something that is not replicated across the country. Unless they can unearth more candidates like Doherty that is, who in my opinion, is far removed from the SF candidates and representatives we're used to.

Also interesting however, is that the approach here is the opposite of what we might expect for Louth.

theres no hiding place for ff this time doubt if they'll even canvass the doors. fat lips waiting.. >:(

sick shameless basdards. they just dont get it. i hear seymore crawford has pulled the plug (fg) couldnt take the heat. this storm is shaking off the deadwood

Quote from: Zapatista on November 25, 2010, 10:45:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 25, 2010, 07:20:38 PM
Some interesting points on Slugger in relation to the electioneering approach in Donegal:

QuotePretty much all of the Donegal world agus a bhean chéile thinks Pearse Doherty is going to top the poll with ease this time out. Since they managed only to scrape 8k last time out, that's likely to be a game changing moment for the party. On the ground, Sinn Fein have run a pretty canny campaign. In contrast with the 2007 general election, there is little evidence of Gerry Adams on any of their posters.

In fact they've put out three different kinds of posters throughout the constituency: those clearly branded Sinn Fein; those with a Sinn Fein logo even smaller than Brian Ó Domhnaill's Fianna Fail logo (and that is small); and those without any SF logo whatsoever. A canny, (very FF-like) campaign in which the candidate is uncharacteristically elevated above party. Accordingly, expect Sinn Fein to ship a record number of first preferences, and a record number of transfers
http://sluggerotoole.com/2010/11/25/as-donegal-south-west-goes-to-the-polls/

There's no doubt that Doherty is a credible candidate and that he deserves any bounce for driving the by-election in the first place. But it does indicate that it might be a personal vote rather than a 'party' vote. It won't really matter to SF in so far as they'll (most likely) have another seat... but it may well be something that is not replicated across the country. Unless they can unearth more candidates like Doherty that is, who in my opinion, is far removed from the SF candidates and representatives we're used to.

Also interesting however, is that the approach here is the opposite of what we might expect for Louth.

Seriously? If you put a poster of Adams up and left out his name and his party I'd say nobody would notice. I think if you see one you automatically think the other. Different ball game altogether. I'd say more than 50% of any vote Adams gets will be personal.

You'd need to look at candidates like Mary Lou McDonald or Angus O'Snodaigh to see if it's a Country wide tactic.
It will be interesting to see how it is played out across the COuntry. I thought it worked well for FF last time out. They didn't do as bad as I thought in the locals. Some of them even dropped FF from their web sites which O'Dea has done since he got the road.
Agreed. SF and Gerry Adams are the same brand essentially, so leaving off the SF logo or making it smaller will make no difference. Which is why i'd expect them to use the standard posters.

I'd say Doherty is different than the likes of McDonald, O'Snodaigh and Ferris as well who are more established SF candidates.

Ulick

FFS lads, the man's name is not Angus. Surely it's not that difficult to get right?

true ulick. but with the nit pickers u have to watch your spelling so your right using angus is lazeness. maybe you'd put us right :)

just watched rte news sinn fein trying to form 'technical group' with a couple of independents this i think will give them more clout in the dail and a decent shot at puting forward their 6 year plan

Quote from: lawnseed on November 26, 2010, 09:40:18 PM
true ulick. but with the nit pickers u have to watch your spelling so your right using angus is lazeness. maybe you'd put us right :)

just watched rte news sinn fein trying to form 'technical group' with a couple of independents this i think will give them more clout in the dail and a decent shot at puting forward their 6 year plan
I like what you did there.  :P

What is the 6 year plan btw? Haven't heard any detail.

Ulick

Quote from: lawnseed on November 26, 2010, 09:40:18 PM

I've a lot of time for Aengus - put me up for the night 7 or 8 years ago after missing the last train home. A very modest, unassuming kind of a bloke. Not many teatotallers would do that for a half-pissed nordie they'd never met before.

not 100% percent sure what the 6 year plan is but i think it revolves around  'that you cant take feathers off a frog' and hammering the top earners in the country. bond holders your fukd. tds find out what the average industrial wage is- your fukd. intel and other huge multi-nationals your gonna find out what its like to pay tax. (serves you right for interferring in the lisbon referendum) no more mercs and perks. a general dung out

The main reason SF are trying to get "7" TDs in an alliance is so that they can raise motions in the Dail. The main one they want to put out there is a "no confidence" in the government and see what the opposition, the independents and the FF backbenchers are made off. For some reason FG and Labour won't do it themselves, it would appear the IMF have warned both parties not to rock the budget boat. I think we should be rocking the hell out of the boat and telling the IMF to f**k off and tell them we'll give them a shout when we run out of money next year. The IMF are afraid of "Contagion" and the destruction of the euro and they want to bail us out more than we need to be bailed out. That is a position of strength for Ireland in negotiations but the clowns in FF, FG and Labour don't seem to have grasped that even though most of the independent economists out there are yelling it from every newspaper article they write.