Gerry's moving south...

Started by Maguire01, November 14, 2010, 12:46:10 PM

BarryBreensBandage

I think that Caitriona Ruane would be a great host for a cookery show - that voice...
Ireland's answer to Nigella Lawson
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: Hardy on November 18, 2010, 10:36:47 AM
Jays the relief! I saw this thread heading and thought the Germans were finally mobilising, with Austria first on the list again.
They're taking over anyway, of course, except these days they don't use Panzers and concentration camps - it's Euros and interest rates.

Quote from: All of a Sludden on November 17, 2010, 12:12:34 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 17, 2010, 08:45:36 AM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on November 14, 2010, 03:02:08 PM
While the positives for Sinn Fein were he to be elected are obvious, how will grass root members in louth feel about him being parachuted in? Was there another obvious local choice after Morgan?

Does Ms Ruane live in that constituency?

She lives in Carlingford, not too far away from Arthur in Omeath. She is a blow in from Mayo.
Morgan comes from a very well respected local family and would have attracted a lot of voters in the Cooley peninsula who wouldnt normally vote for Sinn Fein. Many of those voters will not vote for Adams in my opinion. The disappeared issue, especially Jean McConville and the murder of Tom Oliver, have not been forgotten by many in Cooley. Adams will get a lot of support in Dundalk, in spite of his brothers case. There is a large nordie contingent in Dundalk, who see Adams as the second coming.
Morgan was elected after the fourth count last time round. He attracted a lot of transfers, something that I cant see Adams doing. This isnt the foregone conclusion that some people think, but we have a very unpopular Minister for Justice seeking reelection and I dont think An Ceann Choraile has to run which leaves only 5 seats. It could get interesting indeed.

I have a lot of contacts in Louth with 90% of my family living there and I have a good contact in SF there and he is a) Not over the moon with adams coming in and b) Reckons he will be tight to get in. Morgan was the 1st SF person ever elected here so its not Cavan/Monaghan we are talking about. Adams showed he wasn't in touch with the southern issues at the last election when he parachuted in when in fact O Caolain should have been doing the most talking. He made a knob of himself (always harping on about the peace process to people who were really not interested) to such an extent that McDowell ran rings around him and people won't forget that.

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 18, 2010, 02:17:46 AM
Shall we ignore the fact that Alaisdair McDonnell made the largest t*t out of himself than anyone last night. "The republics economy is basically sound", says he in a precise quote.
Can we see/hear/watch the quote in context? I heard an 'economic expert' say something similar on Radio Ulster earlier this week, but it was a well qualified comment. 

Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 18, 2010, 03:19:13 PM
I think that Caitriona Ruane would be a great host for a cookery show - that voice...
An eye and hearing test for this man please!

What the south needs is a good dose of northern work ethic.

Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 09:49:50 PM
What the south needs is a good dose of northern work ethic.
Yep, just look at how we've sorted that draft budget!

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: Maguire01 on November 18, 2010, 09:46:33 PM

What? Speak up! Where are ye?

Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 18, 2010, 10:07:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 18, 2010, 09:46:33 PM

What? Speak up! Where are ye?

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: Disillusioned on November 18, 2010, 10:19:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 18, 2010, 09:45:28 PM
Shall we ignore the fact that Alaisdair McDonnell made the largest t*t out of himself than anyone last night. "The republics economy is basically sound", says he in a precise quote.
Can we see/hear/watch the quote in context? I heard an 'economic expert' say something similar on Radio Ulster earlier this week, but it was a well qualified comment.

Interesting to hear Nally Stand has swallowed the British propaganda about the state of the RoI economy, even more interesting to have SF and British media singing from the same hymn sheet.

The best BBC economics reporter has repeated on every broadcast to deaf presenters that the RoI economy is quite robust and doing well despite the mess caused by the government guaranteeing to cover the losses of their mates in Anglo and AIB.

Well said D on the point in bold - it is easy to get sucked in, but, I always have to remind myself that this whole circus of people, from politicians, media et al that for them, this is their livelihood, and they are all helping each other out.

Not just talkng about the ROI, every politician says they care about the people - yeah? Then go and work in an old peoples home and empty a few bedpans.

They are all looking after their own career - let's face it, if I was in as much shite in my job as these people, I would be doing as much back-pedalling and back-slapping as they are, although I would like to think I would take SOME responsibility.

But then, if I had have been as incompetent as they have been, I would be a house-husband and actually considering a career in politics...

Quote from: Disillusioned on November 18, 2010, 10:19:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 18, 2010, 09:45:28 PM

Interesting to hear Nally Stand has swallowed the British propaganda about the state of the RoI economy, even more interesting to have SF and British media singing from the same hymn sheet.

The best BBC economics reporter has repeated on every broadcast to deaf presenters that the RoI economy is quite robust and doing well despite the mess caused by the government guaranteeing to cover the losses of their mates in Anglo and AIB.

OK, so let me clarify this:

1. I'm swallowing british propaganda and you attempt to refute it by quoting a BBC expert?

2. SF and the British media (apart from the BBC and their expert apparently), are the only ones who feel the Irish economy is not "basically sound"?

Gotcha.

QuoteGerrys moving South to Munster!

f**k off we have enough ex-IRA hiding out down here already.

glens abu

Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 18, 2010, 11:22:39 PM
QuoteGerrys moving South to Munster!

f**k off we have enough ex-IRA hiding out down here already.

They are not hiding anymore.