Gerry's moving south...

Started by Maguire01, November 14, 2010, 12:46:10 PM

Quote from: Maguire01 on November 15, 2010, 10:30:47 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 15, 2010, 05:57:52 PM
anyhow enough of praising sf and adams.
in short I dont think adams is the man to lead a modern sf. Conor murphy should be sent over the border into the louth constituency imo and take up the role as sf head man. mary lou, just doesnt do it , I still think Donegal man pearse has not done anything to prove himself as yet- while murphy has distinguished himself in debate and work this past number of years - imo.
that said my expectation levels are low for all politicians.
the wum's on here are just people that obv hate adams or sf. I dont particularly like adams that much but the petty childish jibes at him speak more about the posters than the ineffective Gerry (he was effective once , but those days and talks are long over).
To be honest, I think they need to get someone from the south to be a credible leader in the south. Murphy might be an able politician, but he'd still be seen by many as a northern politician from a northern party being parachuted in. Not sure there's a quick answer.
no offence maguire, but even ghandi wouldnt be credible to you and folks in the same boat as yourself if he became leader of sf.

Murphy would romp home in louth, imo no doubt about it.
As for a leader - well take a step back and look at what else sf have ...imo nothing in the south apart from mary lou and I dont think shes the right choice. Murphy or maybe de Bruin would be best for them.

look also at other party leaders. theres not one fecking credible one amongst them to be honest !
same goes for the parties in the northern assembly too - imo of course.

youd just about pick a gov in Ireland from all the cross party politicians .

in the north of Ireland you'd not even get enough for a decent five a side team !

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2010, 10:37:08 PM
What is the industrial wage down south these days?
we don't have any industry, that's beneath us, we outsource it to poland.

I see Gerry's got his Election Posters up already:

Plus one more, for internal, rather than public, purposes:

[With all due ackowledgement to the (excellent) "Bavarian-Orange" Blog]

Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 16, 2010, 10:18:06 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 15, 2010, 10:30:47 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 15, 2010, 05:57:52 PM
anyhow enough of praising sf and adams.
in short I dont think adams is the man to lead a modern sf. Conor murphy should be sent over the border into the louth constituency imo and take up the role as sf head man. mary lou, just doesnt do it , I still think Donegal man pearse has not done anything to prove himself as yet- while murphy has distinguished himself in debate and work this past number of years - imo.
that said my expectation levels are low for all politicians.
the wum's on here are just people that obv hate adams or sf. I dont particularly like adams that much but the petty childish jibes at him speak more about the posters than the ineffective Gerry (he was effective once , but those days and talks are long over).
To be honest, I think they need to get someone from the south to be a credible leader in the south. Murphy might be an able politician, but he'd still be seen by many as a northern politician from a northern party being parachuted in. Not sure there's a quick answer.
no offence maguire, but even ghandi wouldnt be credible to you and folks in the same boat as yourself if he became leader of sf.
Murphy would romp home in louth, imo no doubt about it.
As for a leader - well take a step back and look at what else sf have ...imo nothing in the south apart from mary lou and I dont think shes the right choice. Murphy or maybe de Bruin would be best for them.

look also at other party leaders. theres not one fecking credible one amongst them to be honest !
same goes for the parties in the northern assembly too - imo of course.

youd just about pick a gov in Ireland from all the cross party politicians .

in the north of Ireland you'd not even get enough for a decent five a side team !
I wouldn't vote for him, but I can acknowledge credible politicians with different views to my own!

I agree, Murphy wouldn't have a problem getting elected in Louth. But that probably wouldn't be a catalyst for the rest of the country.

Mary Lou definitely isn't the right choice - if she can't get herself elected, she's not going to lead the rest of the party to do it.

I see a Naomh Gall man is taking over from Gerry in West Belfast. Pat Sheehan, i wish him all the best.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: dodgy umpire on November 14, 2010, 03:02:08 PM
While the positives for Sinn Fein were he to be elected are obvious, how will grass root members in louth feel about him being parachuted in? Was there another obvious local choice after Morgan?

Does Ms Ruane live in that constituency?

All of a Sludden

Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 17, 2010, 08:45:36 AM
While the positives for Sinn Fein were he to be elected are obvious, how will grass root members in louth feel about him being parachuted in? Was there another obvious local choice after Morgan?

She lives in Carlingford, not too far away from Arthur in Omeath. She is a blow in from Mayo.
Morgan comes from a very well respected local family and would have attracted a lot of voters in the Cooley peninsula who wouldnt normally vote for Sinn Fein. Many of those voters will not vote for Adams in my opinion. The disappeared issue, especially Jean McConville and the murder of Tom Oliver, have not been forgotten by many in Cooley. Adams will get a lot of support in Dundalk, in spite of his brothers case. There is a large nordie contingent in Dundalk, who see Adams as the second coming.
Morgan was elected after the fourth count last time round. He attracted a lot of transfers, something that I cant see Adams doing. This isnt the foregone conclusion that some people think, but we have a very unpopular Minister for Justice seeking reelection and I dont think An Ceann Choraile has to run which leaves only 5 seats. It could get interesting indeed.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

:D Now there's a safe pair of hands!

spanner

Quote from: Maguire01 on November 17, 2010, 06:02:54 PM

:D Now there's a safe pair of hands!

Aye, apparently she's trying desperately to get rid of her 11 plus fingers...

Orangemac

Saw Ruane on Lets Talk the other night. Can we not export her to Louth?

Sitting grinning inanely as other people were speaking, calling the NI economy a basket case ( which it is but she is supposed to be in government) and never turning up for engagements on a regular basis.

spanner

Quote from: Orangemac on November 17, 2010, 11:38:22 PM
Saw Ruane on Lets Talk the other night. Can we not export her to Louth?

Sitting grinning inanely as other people were speaking, calling the NI economy a basket case ( which it is but she is supposed to be in government) and never turning up for engagements on a regular basis.

Does anyone have the number for her hairdresser?

Shall we ignore the fact that Alaisdair McDonnell made the largest t*t out of himself than anyone last night. "The republics economy is basically sound", says he in a precise quote.

Banana Man

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 18, 2010, 02:17:46 AM
Shall we ignore the fact that Alaisdair McDonnell made the largest t*t out of himself than anyone last night. "The republics economy is basically sound", says he in a precise quote.

missed the show but it sounds like i didn't miss much if you get me. McDonnell would know just about enough not to ate his own fingers ffs

Jays the relief! I saw this thread heading and thought the Germans were finally mobilising, with Austria first on the list again.

They're taking over anyway, of course, except these days they don't use Panzers and concentration camps - it's Euros and interest rates.

Quote from: Hardy on November 18, 2010, 10:36:47 AM
Jays the relief! I saw this thread heading and thought the Germans were finally mobilising, with Austria first on the list again.

They're taking over anyway, of course, except these days they don't use Panzers and concentration camps - it's Euros and interest rates.

I wonder what we will argue about people wearing for Remembrance Sunday in 30 years, maybe little badges the shape of Pound signs!!!