FGs Michael Ring says Queen should get an apology on Dublin visit next year

Started by Minder, October 28, 2010, 08:12:38 PM

Quote from: Rossfan on October 29, 2010, 05:47:43 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 29, 2010, 09:53:47 AM
  FF need to be put out but not at the cost of putting their FG cousins there instead of them.

Only way to get FF out is  to put FG in  :-\

Correct and then ideally something new would emerge which we could use as a stick to wave over FG if their performance wasn't up to it, rather than vote FF back in again. It would be great if in 4-5 years our Civil War politics was over and we had Government rather than Croneyism, but I'm not holding my breath.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 29, 2010, 02:19:06 PM
Hey I disagree strongly with his comment, but Ring always comes across to me as a bit of a wind-up-merchant, thats why I don't take this comment seriously.

To be honest I can't believe this topic is getting people wound up here.
Maybe he wasn't serious. But the humour or sarcasm isn't exactly coming across in the news reports: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11652926

Mayo lads

Will you please do all in your power to ensure this gobshite does not get re-elected. I don't giveashite if he's a great man for the medical cards or can sort out the light outside Mrs. Murphy's home. His remit is, at best, a county councillor, no more than that. The fact that he's now championing IndaKinny means that Inda has promised him something come Fine Gael's triumphant return to power.

Lads, talk about a Hobson's choice come the next election. They are all unelectable. Where's yon TV mast guy in Donegal gone. Can he not go national. Feck it, free Sky Sports for all. I'll vote for that.

I may run in Dun Laoghaire as an Independent. I'll be up agin Gilmore, Mary Hannifin, Barry Andrews, Richard Boyd Barrett, Some Fine Gael dinosaur, Chemical Cuffe and a token Shinner.

Could GAAboard try and run a candidate in every constituency for the craic?

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 29, 2010, 11:40:22 PM
Mayo lads

Will you please do all in your power to ensure this gobshite does not get re-elected. I don't giveashite if he's a great man for the medical cards or can sort out the light outside Mrs. Murphy's home. His remit is, at best, a county councillor, no more than that. The fact that he's now championing IndaKinny means that Inda has promised him something come Fine Gael's triumphant return to power.

Lads, talk about a Hobson's choice come the next election. They are all unelectable. Where's yon TV mast guy in Donegal gone. Can he not go national. Feck it, free Sky Sports for all. I'll vote for that.

I may run in Dun Laoghaire as an Independent. I'll be up agin Gilmore, Mary Hannifin, Barry Andrews, Richard Boyd Barrett, Some Fine Gael dinosaur, Chemical Cuffe and a token Shinner.

Could GAAboard try and run a candidate in every constituency for the craic?

Shamrock shore, I'm not endorsing or doing the opposite but Micheal Ring will come second in Mayo after Enda Kenny. The Mayo lads, FG, FF, or other will probably concur.

He will come second ( and will push Kenny close for first) and that is depressing!
To give an example of what Ring is like, w=i was going for planning permission a few years ago. I got turned down initially so sent correspondence to the local polititions ( on all sides). the day the planning came through ( after a lot of shite!) Michael Ring rings my parents house and tells them 'I'm delighted to tell you that i got your son his planning permission'. That day the planning came in the post, i found out after that everyone that posts an interest in the planning process gets the planning decision so he did send a letter recommending me but so did all the other polititions but he was the only one to claim the credit for it! And to think that some people would buy his bullshit!
This is not to say he is a bad man ( far from it) but SS said it best he does not belong in the Dail but at Co Co level, of course there is a M Ring in almost every constitunity!

Quote from: ludermor on November 01, 2010, 10:22:43 AM
He will come second ( and will push Kenny close for first) and that is depressing!
To give an example of what Ring is like, w=i was going for planning permission a few years ago. I got turned down initially so sent correspondence to the local polititions ( on all sides). the day the planning came through ( after a lot of shite!) Michael Ring rings my parents house and tells them 'I'm delighted to tell you that i got your son his planning permission'. That day the planning came in the post, i found out after that everyone that posts an interest in the planning process gets the planning decision so he did send a letter recommending me but so did all the other polititions but he was the only one to claim the credit for it! And to think that some people would buy his bullshit!
This is not to say he is a bad man ( far from it) but SS said it best he does not belong in the Dail but at Co Co level, of course there is a M Ring in almost every constitunity!

Did the letter go out automatically or did he/they actually look at the submission and possible objectors? I'd hate to think there was blind support for plannig by politicans :-X

Im sure they was very careful analysis of the planning case!
And then the automatic letter was sent.

QuoteThis is not to say he is a bad man ( far from it) but SS said it best he does not belong in the Dail but at Co Co level, of course there is a M Ring in almost every constitunity!

Local government is so dispossed of any power in this country that a councillor with any ambition has to run for the Dáil.  So Ring's true vocation should be at Co. Co. level, but if that was his position he would not be able to achieve any of the things he does for his constituents.  So there lies the crux - Ring represents his constituents' local needs, but has no intention really of working in the national legislature. 

Peter Solan the Great

Martin Ferris
Jackie Healy Rae
John O Donohue

And we are accussed of having gombeen polticians.

Ring and JHR are the most obnoxiously unfit politicians to serve on the national stage but the sensible ones are not much better. Ireland has a crowd of politicians elected for the good days when money came down with the rain. The current challenges facing the country are beyond the capacity of its political class. The country was bet on neoliberalism at 2/1 on and the bet was lost.  Irish Elites of all persuasions (with the honourable exceptions of a few sports teams) have failed- that cuts cross religions, politics, administration and business. A whole generation of business leaders for example has been effectively wiped out although many of the spoofers are still drawing big salaries. for nothing in return.

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: seafoid on November 01, 2010, 05:02:21 PM
Ring and JHR are the most obnoxiously unfit politicians to serve on the national stage but the sensible ones are not much better. Ireland has a crowd of politicians elected for the good days when money came down with the rain. The current challenges facing the country are beyond the capacity of its political class. The country was bet on neoliberalism at 2/1 on and the bet was lost.  Irish Elites of all persuasions (with the honourable exceptions of a few sports teams) have failed- that cuts cross religions, politics, administration and business. A whole generation of business leaders for example has been effectively wiped out although many of the spoofers are still drawing big salaries. for nothing in return.

The role of a T.D is to serve the needs of its constituents in the case of Michael Ring its Mayo and he does it very well. The role of the parliamentary party is to serve the needs of the country at large. Michale Ring nor Jackie Healy rae are part of the parliamentary party.