Does it feel like an All Ireland Final is approaching?

Started by Trout, September 13, 2010, 05:32:03 PM

Trout

Feels weird. Usually the third Sunday I September you can look forward to the two best teams in the land battling for Sam. I just feel that Down are not even in the top five teams in Ireland at present and their presence is devaluing the final somewhat. Don't get me wrong I would love to see them beating the Rebels but when I think of All Ireland winning teams, well Down don't fit the bill for me. Cork have also been a shadow of what they are capable of this year. The argument that Tyrone, Monaghan and Armagh are better teams than Down actually stands up to fairly robust scrutiny.

Good luck to both teams on Sunday anyway but this will be a handy All Ireland for whoever wins.
Sinn Fein delivers -

British rule

Lazer

Have you actually watched Down play this year?

They have really upped their game

Didn't lose a game in the league (except the fianl), and the best Defensive Record in the league - Ok it was division 2 - but still not a bad record
Down beat Armagh in the League and it was a convincing win, although Armagh then beat them in the final but not as convincing of win

What basis do you have for saying Armagh are a better team then?

There presence in the Final is well deserved, the pl;ayed extremely well against Sligo, Kerry and Kildare. Kerry And Kildare are both good teams, its not a handy All Ireland

Down for Sam!

only seen a bit of the down kerry game and the down lads were impressive. Down are in the final for a reason, tyrone etc are out for a reason too. good luck to both teams, i would like to see down win but am not bothered either way. No such thing as a handy allireland unless its kerry and mayo.

Trout

Ah common now boss, Tyrone made them look like wee boys in Casement. The Sligo result was due to the quick turnaround after the Connacht Final. Kerry were complacent and missing players and well you wouldn't back Kildare in a tight game in the latter stages of the All Ireland, they don't have it upstairs.
Sinn Fein delivers -

British rule

Lazer

Quote from: Trout on September 13, 2010, 05:53:20 PM
Ah common now boss, Tyrone made them look like wee boys in Casement. The Sligo result was due to the quick turnaround after the Connacht Final. Kerry were complacent and missing players and well you wouldn't back Kildare in a tight game in the latter stages of the All Ireland, they don't have it upstairs.

I'll give you the Tyrone one.

The odds going into the Sligo match were pretty much evev
No-one expected Down to beat Kerry - obviously Us Down people hoped they would, and knew they could, but just didn't think it was likely. Now after the game - the comments are all about how we beat an easy Kerry team - but well you can only beat what is put in front of you.
Kildare - I have a lot of respect for Kildare and enjoy there style of football, and it finished a very close match because Kildare kept fighting

I think If Down play to their best they are moe than capable of winning on Sunday, I've always said that about Down - I've seen them play well even before this year and know they are capable which its why it was so frustrating to watch them throw away games in teh past with stupid mistakes

I think we have now got the experience to play to our full potential which should be enough to beat cork!

Cork didn't win the semi final - Dublin Lost it - conceding penalties and frees from scorable positions so near the end of the game
Down for Sam!

Down are indeed the worst team to make an al ireland final in a very long time. that is on the back of a year of very low standards. the levelling (botoming) out of the quality of the better teams has made for an exciting championship but with a whole plethora of evenly matched middlin teams. Down were just the luckiest of the bunch.

although they've been poor this year, i hope cork win it because they have been two or three levels above this years standard for a couple of the previous years. If cork refind that form, down could get a right trimming.

artisan2010

Isnt it  pity that we cant have a phone vote for those counties that "deserve" to be in the final rather than the two teams that have qualified as a result of being succesful in accordance with the competition rules.

Sour grapes anyone!!!

i seen few games, but the fact remains that Down are there, regardless of looking like boys. Maybe kerry and tyrone are slipping a bit?
I did actually see the dublin meath match, and then the kildare meath match in which kildare looked like they had plenty upstairs, just maybe not enough in the boots  but sure you have to forgive them, dublin,kerry and tyrone were a little short too this year. I suppose the same can be said for brazil in the other code.

Could this be the first time the crowd is at capacity for the minor game and then leave before the senior?

Trout

I have nothing against Down, I have friends and relations in Holywood, Ballynahinch and Newtownards.
Sinn Fein delivers -

British rule

Lazer

Quote from: Trout on September 13, 2010, 07:59:05 PM
I have nothing against Down, I have friends and relations in Holywood, Ballynahinch and Newtownards.

And where are you from?
Down for Sam!

I wonder if Down win Sam, will people still say they're no good?

wavesofTORRES

Quote from: Trout on September 13, 2010, 07:59:05 PM
This is either a very elaborate wind or your confusing the AI Final with All Ireland Loyal Order Convention. I suspect the former! ;)

Banana Man

Re: Does it feel like an All Ireland Final is approaching?
« Reply #13 on: Today at 08:49:38 PM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote from: ONeill on Today at 07:48:54 PM
Could this be the first time the crowd is at capacity for the minor game and then leave before the senior?

Same thought occurred to me, Shane. 

If Down win there will be uproar about the backdoor system and it shows how a poor team can make it through with some lucky draws, meeting poor team and those on the decline.  How could a team destroyed by the mighty Tyrone make it to the final?

If Cork win it will be different and all will say that they deserved to win, they have been knocking on the door for a few years.

aye and 2 of tyrone's all irelands have come through the back door, catch a grip ya begrudging hoor, down's 5 to date came from going through the front, if we get 1 through the back i won't complain, are you saying tyrone are really only on one all ireland then

as for you trout, you don't know what side of the house you are and this is a worst thread than some of that celebrity shite you have started

i'm sick of hearing sh!t about Down being a poor team, they got lucky etc - take a reality check, fact is we're back in the final and us boys don't know how to lose them  :-*

Trout

Go and take a shite Bananaman. Who put you in charge?
Sinn Fein delivers -

British rule