Blast from the past

Started by AZOffaly, August 04, 2010, 02:35:14 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/BmgZpNW4mtw

Kerry's blatant negative tactics were deservedly undone by Darby's strength :D

Good man, AZ. Why not?

(Pitch invasions started before the game was over in those days).

I thought soft frees were a recent development in football but that free given for a "foul" on Sean Lowry for Offaly's last point was as handy as I've seen.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2010, 02:35:14 PM

Jaysus AZ ye got away with murder! Tomas O'Connor hopped the ball at least 3 times in a row, a clean pick straight off the ground, dodgy free and not to mention the amount of "lateral" hand passes! :D :D :D
Wasnt a "push" in the back though  ;) ; :D

We did in our Barney. Kerry pulled everyone back and deserved everything they got. Tomás O'Connor didn't hop the ball 3 times, he bounced it 3 times basketball style to get it under control. That's perfect.

In all seriousness, that was a good Offaly team. A great Kerry team obviously, but a very good bloody Offaly team. Sean Lowry looks fit enough today to play county football.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2010, 03:05:02 PM
We did in our Barney. Kerry pulled everyone back and deserved everything they got. Tomás O'Connor didn't hop the ball 3 times, he bounced it 3 times basketball style to get it under control. That's perfect.

In all seriousness, that was a good Offaly team. A great Kerry team obviously, but a very good bloody Offaly team. Sean Lowry looks fit enough today to play county football.

he always kept himself in great shape, a true gent . did he get 2 or 3 all stars i know he definatley got 2 one at centre half back and one at cetre half forward

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 04, 2010, 02:50:48 PM

Jaysus AZ ye got away with murder! Tomas O'Connor hopped the ball at least 3 times in a row, a clean pick straight off the ground, dodgy free and not to mention the amount of "lateral" hand passes! :D :D :D

picked the ball off the ground after handling it on the ground beforehand.

Even Cooper would be way too embarrassed to go down like Lowry did ;D
Matt Connor was just about able to hobble there or had he a strange gait?
See the linesman placing the ball very nicely for that lineball?

Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2010, 03:20:12 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 04, 2010, 02:50:48 PM

picked the ball off the ground after handling it on the ground beforehand.

Even Cooper would be way too embarrassed to go down like Lowry did ;D
Matt Connor was just about able to hobble there or had he a strange gait?
See the linesman placing the ball very nicely for that lineball?

Ara Lads it was a wet day. :D Why are ye not asking about why Jacko and Mikey were back in the full back line? I thought only Tyrone circa 2003 did that? :D

Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 04, 2010, 03:14:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2010, 03:05:02 PM

he always kept himself in great shape, a true gent . did he get 2 or 3 all stars i know he definatley got 2 one at centre half back and one at cetre half forward

Nearly right, he got two, one at Full Forward in 1979 and one at Centre Back in 1982. However, he also has two All Irelands from 1972 (9 point win over Kerry in a replay) and 1982 at Centre Back.

Edit, I sold him short there. He has 3 All Ireland medals. He got a sub medal in 1971. When you factor in he was winning Connacht Medals in 1986 (I think) that's a fair stretch of success.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2010, 03:05:02 PMTomás O'Connor didn't hop the ball 3 times, he bounced it 3 times basketball style to get it under control. That's perfect.

i know that hopping basketball style was allowed but is it still ?
has to be best finish to any ai final

Quote from: spuds on August 04, 2010, 03:44:57 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2010, 03:05:02 PMTomás O'Connor didn't hop the ball 3 times, he bounced it 3 times basketball style to get it under control. That's perfect.

i know that hopping basketball style was allowed but is it still ?
has to be best finish to any ai final

Unless something has changed, then yes it is. You are allowed bounce it like that (without catching it) to get it under control. At least I think you are :D

Even now watching it, for a few seconds you think Kerry will surely equalise in that last move and keep their dream alive for another day.

Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2010, 04:40:26 PM
Even now watching it, for a few seconds you think Kerry will surely equalise in that last move and keep their dream alive for another day.

Yeah, when Furlong loses it out there near the corner you're still expecting the ball to go over the bar. What was Furlong doing? :D

furlong doing his best to give a free away  :P
amazing how reluctant they were to handpass the ball to each other
offaly to their credit worked the ball better (in the few mins there) than the animals who just hoofed the ball

In fairness Paddy Cullen got penalised for less in '78.