AISF 2010: Corcaigh vs Áth Cliath

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, August 01, 2010, 06:29:45 PM

gortnaleck

Did anyone watch the game online? I watched it on Setanta and it nearly wrecked my head with the pausing,stopping,refreshing etc.I'm just wondering if it was my computer or Setanta's fault.

ballela-angel

Gortnaleck - I watched it in the States with high-speed internet with no problems - Maybe the speed of your internet connection was the problem
That awkward moment - Not sure if you do have free time or if you're just forgetting everything!

Tell me this lads my eyes must have been playing tricks on me but had B.Brogan an ear piece

Fair play to Cork...after all their heartache over the years they deserve an All-Ireland.

The future for Dublin is looking an awful lot brighter at the end of the season than it did at the start. Give all the guys who got the experience in their first year at this level another season or 2 and combine with guys like Griffen, Ross O'Carroll, Mark Davoren coming back from injury and guys like B Brogan getting better things are looking up...

Lads, did anyone else think Paddy Kellys point towards the end (after the quick free) looked wide?

Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2010, 05:40:43 PM
Lads, did anyone else think Paddy Kellys point towards the end (after the quick free) looked wide?

Was pretty sure it was but thought the umpires couldn't have got that wrong...

Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2010, 05:40:43 PM
thought that myself

guevara

First & foremost congrats to Cork!! Great comeback after it looked like they had played into Dublins hands & kicked themselves out of it!
Maurice Deegan definitely sided with the Dubs today......they were getting decisions Cork were getting pulled up for & like Tyrone they lived on the edge for a lot of the 70 mins.
Their tackling at times was foul after foul but Deegan seemed to let them away with it for most of the game.
Bernanrd Brogan was sensational & tore Cork to shreds but outside him they had nobody worth while in their forward line.
O'Gara was poor, Alan Brogan was very quiet & the wing forwards were very poor.

They continually crowded their own half with 12 players at times to force Cork into carrying the ball into the congested areas & with Deegan semmingly allowing their illegal tacking it resulted in a lot of turnover ball in the Dubs favour.
But saying that some of Corks decision making was terrible. Aidan Walsh was very poor as was Kissane, Alan O'Connor & Sheehan.
But the introduction of Colm O'Neill seemed to give them some belief.
The penalty decision was correct in my opinion as Dublin just had to keep O'Neill away from shooting ....whereas indiscipline left Deegan with little choice.

Finally small point on the Dubs support...thought it was very poor showing the constant jeering & goading of the Cork team throughout & as usual as soon as they went few in front they got carried away & celebrated like they were in the final already! No class at all......Im aware all teams have a few idiots who follow them....but Dubs seem to enjoy being arrogant & booing, taking the mickey & overall acting the eejits when they are in front!! Maybe they should wait until they are at least dominating the game of football before acting like they are the Kilkenny of football !!!
"Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen"

Michael Jordan

haze

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2010, 05:17:26 PM
Adrian Walsh sealed donkey of the yr, how that man gets on the cork team i dont know. There is no football in him.

I'd have him just behind Niall Corkery and Eoghan O Gara for that award. I dont mean to be harsh on Corkery because he is a trojan work horse but cant see how Flynn would not be picked ahead of him.

Alan Brogan and Cluxton must be wondering will they ever reach an All Ireland Final

Quote from: haze on August 22, 2010, 05:58:25 PM
Adrian Walsh sealed donkey of the yr, how that man gets on the cork team i dont know. There is no football in him.

I'd have him just behind Niall Corkery and Eoghan O Gara for that award. I dont mean to be harsh on Corkery because he is a trojan work horse but cant see how Flynn would not be picked ahead of him.

Alan Brogan and Cluxton must be wondering will they ever reach an All Ireland Final

Did you see Corkery's pass for the goal by any chance???

Jaysus the whole bar I was in must have been watching a different game if some here think Deegan favored the Dubs ???
Absolutely not.!!

haze

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 22, 2010, 06:00:28 PM

Did you see Corkery's pass for the goal by any chance???

I did yeah, and i thought it was the most positive contribution he has made all year for Dublin but that does not escape the fact that i think (though open to correction if clearly wrong) that Paul Flynn is a better footballer. I'm all for half forwards working their socks off but they need to have the quality to take a score when the opportunity arises. Cullen for example fits the Dublin model well.

Davoren for O Gara and Flynn for Corkery next year and i think the Dubs will be an even more formidable outfit

Lady GAA GAA

Quote from: Hardy on August 22, 2010, 05:18:56 PM
What the f*** is a "goal kick"?

I think it's a term peculiar to a foreign sport. I refuse to write it's name on this sacred side of the gaaboard.

I can't speak for you buddy, but Irish folk using these terms in relation to gaelic games makes me sick!

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 22, 2010, 06:05:22 PM
Jaysus the whole bar I was in must have been watching a different game if some here think Deegan favored the Dubs ???
Absolutely not.!!

100% agree with this. Deegan did his job today. Christy will be pleased.

If you think Aidan Walsh is a donkey then you know absolutely nothing whatsoever about football. I'll post on the game itself later. But i thought it was a great game, if the quality was be bit less than we would have hoped for.