Well done Pat Gilroy

Started by Jinxy, July 31, 2010, 05:34:59 PM

Line up here to apologise to Pat.
Lets be 'avin you Indiana!  :D

I think Indiana will wait until tomorrow (after the Hangover).

I know I shouldn't and I know the same could be probably be done to me but I have really enjoyed the games on the pitch tody and I can't help enjoying myself here as well.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 08:09:52 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 27, 2010, 07:52:33 PM
Meath seemed hungrier for the ball.  Dublin players appeared to be carrying some weight?

It may be a blessing in disguise as Dublin will have to go back to the drawing board.

There are no pages left on the drawing board Denn!

Quote from: Declan on June 28, 2010, 08:28:24 AM
One of Gilroy's mantras was that the team that got hammered by Tyrone and Kerry were psychologically damaged goods and incapable of winning any big games as a result and so he had to clean them. Wonder how he feels this morning if his selection will be damaged by the worst beating by Meath in living memory

Harsh Muppet  ;D

There's not one us here that haven't reacted to a bad defeat with some poorly choosen comment..

I am on the record as saying people were being too harsh on Gilroy and he should be given time.
The amount of lads I know that said last year that the best thing for Dublin would be a run in the qualifiers and then when they do go into them they are calling for Gilroys head!

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 05:43:55 PM
Harsh Muppet  ;D

There's not one us here that haven't reacted to a bad defeat with some poorly choosen comment..

I'm sure they will be happy enough after that to deal with any flak.

Will we see the return of GNevin and Tankie?

About 25 minutes into the Dublin - Armagh qualifier a few weeks ago Armagh had just gone 6-2 up. A Dub a few rows over from me in the lower Hogan stands up and roars down at Gilroy along the line in front of us, 'Just quit Gilroy, you bollix! You're a f**king disgrace!'. Some tube.

haze

I thought he was after committing career suicide taking off Brogan...

Fair play to him, finally has a Dublin team playing and fighting as a unit

To be fair I think he wanted to give Brogan a breather.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:47:45 PM
To be fair I think he wanted to give Brogan a breather.

He should have given him a breather in the first half when he was shite. He was flying when he took him off.

I agree muppet, I've been one of Gilroy's biggest supporters around here but that decision had me pulling my hair out. It struck me as something he planned to do anyway and didn't change even when it was the wrong thing to do.

haze

He deserves credit for leaving O Gara on aswell- i'd have had him off.

I sort of like O Gara but oh my god he is so over hyped i find myself noticing all the mistakes he makes on the field

Maybe he is a luxury type player that they have to leave on in the hope he will knick a goal or two ala Jayo in 95

Quote from: haze on July 31, 2010, 06:57:42 PM

I sort of like O Gara but oh my god he is so over hyped i find myself noticing all the mistakes he makes on the field

Maybe he is a luxury type player that they have to leave on in the hope he will knick a goal or two ala Jayo in 95

Did he not spend most of the match playing way too far from the goals?

Quote from: haze on July 31, 2010, 06:57:42 PM

90% of the time he looks like a junior B player.
The other 10% of the time he's scoring goals!

I'd disagree with that Jinxy, O'Gara would be a handful for any full back in the country in terms of ball winning it's just that when he gets it he won't trouble the umpires too often. He is a fine hard working target man and should be used as such and let Bernard do the rest.