Started by lilpaulie85, July 27, 2010, 05:38:54 PM

who will be in the final

kk + wat
kk + tip
cork +wat
cork + tip

Tipp are the only team that are equipped to unseat Kilkenny. As great a performance that was from Kilkenny minors they may only get two or three players from it.

It seems according to all the pundits that Waterford haven't a chance next weekend ??

Why are most people ignoring them ?

Because they aren't good enough to beat Tipp.

Quote from: Zulu on August 08, 2010, 11:25:41 PM

Cork hockeyed Tipp. Waterford bate Cork in the Munster final and they've no chance ?

I don't accept that they've no chance and are not good enough to beat Tipp.

Incredible performance, pity they didn't power on and outdo last year's Nowlan Park scoreline. Cha has barely played championship hurling in two years and looked as if he'd never been away, Ryall was gone even longer. For Kilkenny's third choice centre-back to completely out-hustle the Cork captain was remarkable. Cody's confidence in his players in unreal. Ryall would never have inspired much and Cody clearly didn't even contemplate putting him in the corner and moving Tyrrell to CHB.

Best game yet I've seen Fennelly play. For a man who couldn't get a game last year, he's surely one of the front runners for HOTY. Great displays from Walsh, Delaney and Larkin as well.

Disappointed with TJ, he's not a man you'd be looking to to win you a close game just yet. Richie Power, on the other hand, is. KK need someone to step up if Shefflin is missing for the final and Power finally looks ready to be that man.

Cork were woeful. Half back and half forward lines got destroyed, Power made Cadogan look a fool and Fennelly and Cha wiped the floor with Naughton and Kenny. Horgan looked great in the last twenty mins when the match had been over for half an hour. Nice scores though. Jerry O'Connor should have been on a lot sooner, not that it would have made much of a difference. Worrying times for the Rebels as they don't seem to have too much coming through at underage.

Minor match was ridiculously one-sided as well. Considering the minor teams Galway have had over the last decade, today's team was awful. The younger Power and Walsh brothers on the KK team look like real prospects.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2010, 10:43:41 PM
why the hatred for yer man cadogan?? Not a hard core follower, genuine question;

Did you watch the first possession Richie Power had in the game and got blown for too long. Cadogan roaring full tilt into his face - god knows what he was shouting. Always at the off the ball stuff too and gets away with it.

Cadogan definitely has a mouth on him, which was quite firmly shut on him today.

Will be a while before Donal Óg mentions anything about Stepford Wives again I reckon.

Think the problem with Hogan was his fingers - Freshford lads in Meahers were saying before the match he was a doubt and that Ryall might be starting. At one point in the ten minutes where he was outstanding he caught a ball whilst retreating and after handing it off was clearly in pain and trying to shake it off.

Quote from: gallsman on August 08, 2010, 11:41:19 PM
Cadogan definitely has a mouth on him, which was quite firmly shut on him today.Will be a while before Donal Óg mentions anything about Stepford Wives again I reckon.

Think the problem with Hogan was his fingers - Freshford lads in Meahers were saying before the match he was a doubt and that Ryall might be starting. At one point in the ten minutes where he was outstanding he caught a ball whilst retreating and after handing it off was clearly in pain and trying to shake it off.

Watch the tape again and in the 70th minute, he was still hitting a KK lad with the hurl.

I watched Power in Csement last winter and he gave an exhibition that day. Class hurler.

Ryall was licking his lips as he came running on to the park today.

Any word of Hogan and Shefflin ???

Reillers

Quote from: orangeman on August 08, 2010, 11:30:13 PM

Cork hockeyed Tipp. Waterford bate Cork in the Munster final and they've no chance ?

But Cork were shocking against Waterford. They might do it, big game palyers, a lot of experience, but I can't see them beating Tipp.

Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 11:51:12 PM

But Cork were shocking against Waterford. They might do it, big game palyers, a lot of experience, but I can't see them beating Tipp.

I'm inclined to agree that Tipp will bate them but most people are writing Waterford off altogether. Wee Davy will love it.

Reillers

Cadogan definitely has a mouth on him, which was quite firmly shut on him today.

Will be a while before Donal Óg mentions anything about Stepford Wives again I reckon.

Did you read the book, or what the Stepford Wives, comment actualy was in reference to? Not a quote from a paper, but the actually book?
Hogan had, if I'm right, a chiped bone in his hand, played with it, no doubt probably got an injection before he went out, but he was a doubt to play. Hard to shake off something like that though.

Reillers

Quote from: orangeman on August 08, 2010, 11:53:26 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 11:51:12 PM

I'm inclined to agree that Tipp will bate them but most people are writing Waterford off altogether. Wee Davy will love it.

True, Waterford love to be written off. Long grass and all. Davy will be falling over himself with excitement. Tipp on paper have a better chance, but when has that ever really counted for anything. I think it'll be a close one. Should be a great match, great atmosphere, always is when two Munster teams meet on big days.

dowling

Quote from: spuds on August 08, 2010, 09:15:32 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 09:01:42 PM
Sometimes you just gotta put your hands up and say it when you see a class team, and they were, are, a top class team. Tipp (I presume) will give them a right run in the final. Cork were wasteful to say the least in the first half but weren't let play, were much better in the second half but still, out played, out classed.

Not sure what Walsh was thinking, Cian McCarthy on JJ, wasn't given a go all year and put in against Kilkenny, too much of an ask. He has all year to mould his team, Cork play 5 championship matches and still he has to start at debutant, for the semi final. Aisake got an awful raw deal, got no service and gets taken off.
Pa Horgan to be fair played his socks off and gave Tyrell a hard fuckin run, fair play to the lad, he's had zero confidence for a while and really turned up in the second half. Niall McCarthy worked his socks off as as well.

Some players though, are done I'd say. They've done us proud and given us great days in the sun in Thurles and Croker. But I think it's time for a few boots to be hung up. In a way, they're almost holding back some of our development these days.
Egan, Cronin, Cian McCarthy..some of the U21s, there is a few there to come through, but we really need them to get game time. But it is a dilema, play our argueably better players, or play the young lads and give them a go.

Who knows. It'll be a long year or so ahead though.

that s as honest and as straight a summary by a langer as is possible fair play
cork are in big trouble not giving more game time to younger bucks is going to backfire bigtime in next few years
kilkenny have constantly refreshed year on year without the wholesale changes that cork will have to undergo

It's only honest in as far as it goes but misses a big part of the picture.
A group of Cork players said that Cork hurling was being held back and went on strike. From what I can see all those players achieved was to put Cork hurling back and while I don't expect Donal og or the other strike leaders to admit that the pro strike posters on here now should. And I would suspect that certain players trying to dictate the gameplan is still going on. Gardiner indirectly expressed a lack of confidence in his forwards and what happens in the game first half? No decent ball goes into full forwards. If Walsh is playing Aisake you'd imagine he wants the ball hit into him. If it's not going in you have to wonder if some players have a different plan.
It seems to me that the confrontation these players have shown and their insistence to do things their way has held back the development of Cork Hurling. If I was one of those people who protested for them in Cork or a member of one of the clubs who backed them no end I'd be feeling a bit hard done by now. Let's just hope that for the sake of hurling in general and Cork in particular Donal og and co will no longer wield any influence.

Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 11:53:47 PM

Did you read the book, or what the Stepford Wives, comment actualy was in reference to? Not a quote from a paper, but the actually book?
Hogan had, if I'm right, a chiped bone in his hand, played with it, no doubt probably got an injection before he went out, but he was a doubt to play. Hard to shake off something like that though.

Like Eddie Keher, I wouldn't touch Donal Óg's book with a 40-foot pole.

Reillers

Quote from: gallsman on August 08, 2010, 11:58:28 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 11:53:47 PM

Like Eddie Keher, I wouldn't touch Donal Óg's book with a 40-foot pole.

So you go on and on about a quote taken out of context and use it like most journos, any way you want. Before you criticise what he says, how about you take a read of it. Same old same old from some people.