What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

Quote from: blanketattack on July 13, 2010, 03:14:02 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 13, 2010, 12:32:59 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 12, 2010, 10:56:33 PM
Not to trivialise the situation but here are the texts I got:
--------------------------------------------
Breaking news: The CCCC Held an emergency meeting straight after the Leinster final and after reviewing the Meath goal, they have decided to suspend Colm Cooper for a month.
--------------------------------------------
Am I missing something or is there a reason that this joke mentions Cooper and not Galvin?

The joke is to do with how ridiculous the CCCC suspensions are and including Gooch makes it even more ridiculous.
Maybe it should have been "they have decided to extend Galvin's suspension for another 4 weeks". That would be funnier (to me anyway).

let meath keep the trophy. next year get a new one. this will totally devalue meaths win. they are not the sportsmen that they think they are. i read that even sean boylan mr fairplay himself says keep the title. i really respected guys like him and the lads on that great meath team i thought they were real men i cant believe it. begs the question would armagh give a replay i'd like to think we would, its not sam thats at stake. but would fermanagh hand back the anglo celt? its hard to say, i genueinly think they would. "if your gonna do it do it right" (george michael) :)

So will Armagh offer a replay for the 2005 Ulster Final when the ref made two monumental errors in Armagh's favour?

yes we will. and will tyrone give a replay for when marsden was sent off for nothing robbing us ;)

The ref in 2005 admitted he was wrong. The ref in 2003 maintains he was correct.

Quote from: lawnseed on July 13, 2010, 09:19:25 PM
begs the question would armagh give a replay i'd like to think we would, its not sam thats at stake.
That's really missing the principle of the argument. You're also failing to consider that a provincial title would probably mean as much to the current Louth team as an All Ireland would to Armagh.

QuoteThe ref in 2005 admitted he was wrong. The ref in 2003 maintains he was correct.

A ref that is wrong and doesn't admit it is even worse.

QuoteYou're also failing to consider that a provincial title would probably mean as much to the current Louth team as an All Ireland would to Armagh.

So you decide what to do according to some formula about how long it is since a team won something? This case would be stronger if Louth had a run of losing finals, Mayo style, but they didn't get off the ground at all most years, which wasn't anyone elses fault.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

o'neill the red card was resended ref or not ::) ::) ::) i'm not doin this shite again :) worry about the farneymen you shit stirren fecker

Quote from: Maguire01 on July 13, 2010, 09:40:00 PM

That's really missing the principle of the argument. You're also failing to consider that a provincial title would probably mean as much to the current Louth team as an All Ireland would to Armagh.

Ridiculous.

Quote from: armaghniac on July 13, 2010, 09:43:44 PM
QuoteYou're also failing to consider that a provincial title would probably mean as much to the current Louth team as an All Ireland would to Armagh.

So you decide what to do according to some formula about how long it is since a team won something? This case would be stronger if Louth had a run of losing finals, Mayo style, but they didn't get off the ground at all most years, which wasn't anyone elses fault.
That's exactly the point i'm NOT making!
The previous poster had implied that it would be different if it was the All Ireland. It wouldn't.

Quote from: hardstation on July 13, 2010, 09:42:34 PM
begs the question would armagh give a replay i'd like to think we would, its not sam thats at stake.
Should there be a hierarchy of victims?

Not at all. Again this point seems to have been misinterpreted. If you think there is a basis for action here, you can't pick and choose when it is an important enough match to apply that principle. Lawnseed was implying that because it's not an All Ireland, Meath shouldn't mind giving it another go - my point is that it is irrelevant that it is a Leinster Final and not an All Ireland.

Quote from: hardstation on July 13, 2010, 09:42:34 PM
Should there be a hierarchy of victims?

The hierarchy here is hilarious.

The Central Council can't do anything.
The CCCC can't do anything.
So they all ask Meath County Board to do the right thing.
They can't seem to decide so they get the Meath players to vote.
The players vote no and lob in another insult to Louth (allegedly).
But then no one wants players deciding anything do they?
So....
We are back to the Meath County Board and waiting for a statement.

This is like waiting for the Leaving Cert results except this time I time I have done more study on the matter....

what have the GPA said on this havent heard a word? or have they become the stooges of crokepark

Onlooker

I was one of the 36 people who voted that the title should be awarded to Louth and Meath enter the qualifiers.  The more I think about it the more I am convinced that this is what should be done.

what i mean maguire is that theres a back door for the loser, unfortunatly because of that system provincial titles have been devalued. makes a case for a league type system then boobs like this would mean less. btw if it was a sam it would already have been taken onto the roof of the carrickdale and right through armagh (including keady have to mention them) wouldnt fancy trying to pri it out of the pale white hands of patk og to give it up for the likes of tyrone kerry or cork to have another go. :o