What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

Louth County Board should make every effort to indentify those thugs (no other word for them) who disgraced their county and the organisation yesterday. Once that's done they should ensure they receive a life ban. On top of that the Gardai should charge them with assault.

If it was a soccer match we'd all be labelling them typical hooligans. Those scenes were an affront to every decent GAA member throughout the land. It's vital for all concerned that its dealt with quickly and tranparently.

The ref's family or friends watching that on TV or from the stand must have found it very upsetting. Nobody deserves to be treated like that no matter how big of a mistake he made.

That being said his mistake was unforgiveable from a technical point of view. He clearly either froze of panicked. He was unsighted for the "goal" because he was so far behind the play. If Galvin... O'Se etc deserve punishment for on camera misdemeanours then he should be removed for a period of time from the intercounty referee panel.

I agree with O'Rourke last night when he said it should'nt be up to Meath to offer the replay. It shouldnt but unfortunately due to no official procedure from on high in dealing with such matters it is. However its not their fault so if they decline to offer it they should'nt be made feel guilty over this.

Feel desparately sorry for Louth - it was an accident waiting to happen. Having seen Sludden ref before he goes in the "incompetent in the extreme" bracket with many others and how he got such a big game I don't know.

There will be a replay but I don't think there should be.

We need to move on from the fact that everybody outside of Meath were hoping Louth would win and are disappointed that they got caught at the end. If it was Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone that were caught there would be many that would criticse the ref while having a quiet laugh to themselves.

There is also a dangerous precedent where any disputed decision that has such a serious effect on a game is open to challenge. The GAA have made their own stick to beat themselves with on this one - if they review the players, the refs should also be subject to review.

How the hell did he stay on the pitch looking to book half the Louth lads, when it was clear that there was outrage. Why was he so arrogant enough not to talk to his umpires? The ref is an amateur and in no way is physical violence condoned but the GAA charge big prices to supporters who are entitled to see some kind of control kept on a game, and at the very least a fit referee.

The standard of refereeing is at an alarming low because of incompetencies, players play-acting and constant rule changes.

Quote from: Barney on July 12, 2010, 01:16:10 PM
Feel desparately sorry for Louth - it was an accident waiting to happen. Having seen Sludden ref before he goes in the "incompetent in the extreme" bracket with many others and how he got such a big game I don't know.

There will be a replay but I don't think there should be.

We need to move on from the fact that everybody outside of Meath were hoping Louth would win and are disappointed that they got caught at the end. If it was Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone that were caught there would be many that would criticse the ref while having a quiet laugh to themselves.

There is also a dangerous precedent where any disputed decision that has such a serious effect on a game is open to challenge. The GAA have made their own stick to beat themselves with on this one - if they review the players, the refs should also be subject to review.

How the hell did he stay on the pitch looking to book half the Louth lads, when it was clear that there was outrage. Why was he so arrogant enough not to talk to his umpires? The ref is an amateur and in no way is physical violence condoned but the GAA charge big prices to supporters who are entitled to see some kind of control kept on a game, and at the very least a fit referee.

The standard of refereeing is at an alarming low because of incompetencies, players play-acting and constant rule changes.

Barney,

You hit the nail on the head, I thought the ref had a poor game yesterday, He was almost referring for the so called "assessors", every bull*hit foul, resulted in him taking out his notepad. It was brutal to watch. Common sense seems to be gone out the window. I wonder what the head of the referres committee will say on it. He should be asked some probing questions.

Having said that, as I said yesterday, I did not believe the goal call was his error. It was his umpires.

What happened after the game disgraceful, and was an embarrassment for all GAA fans.

I would please simply request that all stop referring to those involved in the scenes after the game as Louth Fans, I would hope and expect that they won't be allowed enter a pitch in the county, ever again as a result of their actions. They are the minority who could not control themselves. Every county has them, ours got lose in Croker yesterday in front of all the cameras!

A prominent ex Louth player this morning rang the man who struck Mark Ward and advised him to contact Dublin Gardai to give in his details, he has done so. All of those involved have been identified as far as I am aware and they will be dealt with. How bad would it have been if it was not for the actions of Fitzer? No right minded Louth Fan can or will defend the actions of those invloved those scenes.

Juice you are a credit and fair play to you sir, as you say if Meath offer the replay and the GAA don't run with that then they have done all that they can do and made a fantastic gesture towards justice. I reiterate, it shouldn't have to come down to this and hopefully as a result of this the CCCC will be given powers to deal with such an event in the future.

As for your comments Jinxy, they are saddening and disappointing. There has been very little reference to Thierry Sheridan on this board, so why come on her complaining about what is being said on Hoganstand! I have watched it several times, leaving the square ball out of it, he clearly dives for the line in an attempt to gain a penalty and con the ref, there was no honour in what he did and his comments afterwards were a disgrace and a blight on Meath football. Seamus Kenny was man enough to admit that it wasn't a legitimate goal!

I just have one question for you Jinxy. All of Joe Sheridans intentions aside, can you say that it was a legitimate goal that should have stood?

mckieran

Quote1. A Galway point has been proven to be wide.
2. The score at the end of the game was level.
3. If the score is corrected, Offaly win.

All I'm saying is that it's extremely dangerous to make a ruling based on yesterday which could impact future games. I agree it's not right what happened to Louth, and is an obvious example of robbery, but you could (and it will be) argue that the next incident was 'nearly as bad' as the Louth one, so will that be appealed on this basis as well?

I see your point but I just dont think Galway would have lost that game because of that wide . score. Louth did not even have the opportunity for an equaliser which is something people are overlooking. With the commotion of the goal and the ref running into the umpires and listening to the protests of the Louth players, He probably should have allowed them 1 more attack.

It should be possible for somebody to look at eah match with some common sense. For example, we both agree that the Galway - Offaly & Meath - Louth instances are different. Why cant some committee come to the same conclusion?

Quote from: mckieran on July 12, 2010, 01:46:41 PM
Louth did not even have the opportunity for an equaliser which is something people are overlooking. With the commotion of the goal and the ref running into the umpires and listening to the protests of the Louth players, He probably should have allowed them 1 more attack.
That's just stupid. That would be acknowledging that the goal wasn't legit, in which case the ref shouldn't have awarded it. The ref can't decide to give a dodgy goal and then add on another minute to give Louth a chance to put it right.

pkerin

Still in shock.... at least you can all talk to each other and get it off your chest. Just trying to explain the rules of the game to Americans will get you crazy.
The GAA has put themselves in a bit of a pickle here. OK the ref blew the call, he got it wrong, we all see it happen all the time. Human error... it happens. Its part of the game, it sucks but it is a part of the game. But I feel that because the GAA have used RTE's and other video to go after players because the ref missed a nasty tackle or some off the ball incidence after a game has long concluded well that sure opens a can of worms doesent it... So now we all see a blown call that cost Louth a title. Now what do they do. Its right there to see. But we all know the GAA wont act on that video. The GAA will stick their heads in the sand and pray for it all to blow over. They will but the burden on Meath to do the right thing. Cowards. Have some balls GAA.... Oh thats right, the official comment is that its not in the rule book for a replay. Well is it in the GAA rule book to use video footage to go after players? Don't misunderstand me, if players need to be punished then so be it. Its the fact of how the GAA goes about gathering evidence. They use video. So why wont they do the same here? Yes I'm still a little angry. I thought we had it.

redhandluke

Have to say that contributions by the likes of Barney and joemamas about the ref having a bad game before the goal incident as lazy analysis and pathetic.  Very easy to say "ah the ref was crap".

Judging by comments for example by Sunday Game panelists and Martin Carney, and also from the likes of IN columnist K Madden, they all agree that the ref was having a good game up until the end.  FFS joemamas, what other way do you want the ref to referee the game if not by the rulebook.  Have to say IMHO he got all the calls right up until the very end.

The ref is an amateur, and he made a genuine mistake, you would think from the reaction from some people he set out from home that morning to put one over on Louth.  Get over it and concentrate on the next game

I think the fairest thing is for Joe Sheridan to admit it wasn't a goal and likewise Seamus Darby to admit he pushed Tommy Doyle in '82 and to replay both games in a double header in Croke Park on Sunday.  ;D

Quote from: blanketattack on July 12, 2010, 02:26:41 PM
I think the fairest thing is for Joe Sheridan to admit it wasn't a goal and likewise Seamus Darby to admit he pushed Tommy Doyle in '82 and to replay both games in a double header in Croke Park on Sunday.  ;D

If the Louth supporters had had more experience they would have been able to invade the pitch before the final whistle went and do a sit down a la the Offaly fans the time of the famous Jimmy Cooney Watch incident.

I must say the Meath reponses I have seen from Crawford and Sheridan have been most disappointing. I thought Meath footballers had a bit more integrity than that.

pkerin

So Meath are having a meeting tonight. Anyone want to predict what will come of it?

Quote from: pkerin on July 12, 2010, 02:41:54 PM
So Meath are having a meeting tonight. Anyone want to predict what will come of it?

I'd be very surprised if a replay is even on the Clar. The will talk about the best way to handle the result and fall out after but it will be nothing more than a press release.

Quote from: redhandluke on July 12, 2010, 02:22:55 PM
The ref is an amateur, and he made a genuine mistake, you would think from the reaction from some people he set out from home that morning to put one over on Louth.  Get over it and concentrate on the next game
You'd think someone from Tyrone would be best placed to give an insight into how poor his refereeing is. You can't defend him, controversy follows him in nearly every game he officiates. His actions after the final whistle told a quare story.

Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 12, 2010, 02:48:09 PM

You'd think someone from Tyrone would be best placed to give an insight into how poor his refereeing is. You can't defend him, controversy follows him in nearly every game he officiates. His actions after the final whistle told a quare story.

Only after the controversial games he officiates ;)