What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

JMohan

Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 11:01:47 AM
Yeah but my point isn't about the officials.
They obviously f*cked up.
What's annoying me is the level of abuse being directed towards Joe Sheridan.
He's been labelled a liar and a cheat on a few different forums now.
For what?

Well that personal stuff is completely out of order.
I can't understand it either.

I think Sheridan would have been better advised to keep his mouth shut but I wouldn't be too hard on him for words or deeds in/shortly after the heat of battle. Calling him a cheat is plain wrong. He did make a genuine attempt to play the ball. Cheating is like what Henry did in the soccer match against Ireland - blatantly and knowingly breaking the rules.

For what?
For claiming in the post match interviews that he scored a legitimate goal.

Carrying the ball over the line or even being pushed over the line is not a legitimate goal.

But maybe he's not a liar. Maybe he's just stupid.

For what?

He did what any player would do in that stituation, but he's obviously a sandwich short or lacks cop on by claiming it was a legitimate goal, he's making a complete tit of himself.

In the heat of the moment and straight after the match I can understand his reaction. But in the cool light of this morning I think he should stop digging. He knows himself he didn't score a legitimate goal and I looked at again this morning and it was more like an american football touchdown than anything else.

fearglasmor

Lar you have it completely wrong on the Offaly Clare game. Offaly were behind at the end and a replay was orderedby the gaa as the referee failed to complete the game by not playing the correct time.

Also there was a huge contrast in the way Cooney was spirited of the field immediately while Sludden was left exposed to the abuse that came his way.

I Have huge sympathy for the referee in this. I cant understand how we can hapilly accept endless mistakes and errors of judgement by players in the course of a game  but yet for some reason we dont accept them from referees. They are human just as players, they are also part of the game just as players  are. Players make mistakes that lead directly the result of a game going one way or the other. Yesterday the referee made a wrong call that lead to Louth losing  the game. Not fair, but there are lots of thing that arent fair.  The two Louth players wo between them coughed the ball back up to Sheridan equally made a mistake that led directly to the goal.  My viewis that we have to accept that the referee is equally part of the game and equally prone to making mistakes.Louth would be better accepting it for what it was and getting on with the qualifiers.  Next thing Kerry Mike will be on looking for a replay of 82   

Well, I am once again left bewildered and saddened by the GAA after yesterday's events. A certain amount of love I had for the game died yesterday. What was up until the last few minutes a great occasion turned a very nasty shade quite quickly. I may not toe the line with other Meath posters or Meath county officials but unless we offer a replay I don't think our Leinster title 'win' will have any credibility.

I would offer it, though the GAA might feel such action would undermine its authority and the referees. I know it sets a dangerous precedent for other games but it hopefully force the GAA's hand in some areas to do something about the current situation with refereeing/umpires and reviewing incidents. They might actually come up with some concrete rules in this regard.

I was initially celebrating until I saw the replay, the incompetency of the officials and then the ugly scenes that followed, well I don't know if I can stomach any more. Couldn't even raise a smile as Nigel lifted the trophy other than to say he deserves the trophy for all his years of graft. But not in that fashion. If we offer a replay even if it never happens it will be some reparation for the soul and integrity of the game.

Otherwise I don't know if I will take much further interest in Meaths 2010 campaign. Can't help how I feel I'm afraid.

mckieran

QuoteWhat's annoying me is the level of abuse being directed towards Joe Sheridan.
For what?

For his behaviour afterwards as I have stated in the other thread. His momentum took him over the line. But He knew it was illegeal. He shouldnt have gone to the ref and said that it wasnt a goal. The ref made a balls of it, tht wasnt Sheridans fault. But Sheridans behaviour afterwards with that big silly grin, trying to influence the referee into saying it was a legal goal was completely wrong. It just cannot be defended.

mckieran

The lone garda is getting a lot of stick here. But he deserves credit; He was the only 1 to know to go over to the ref straight after the whistle and seemed to be telling him to get off the pitch. He should have had assistance. Probably, too many guards go to croke park wanting to get handy overtime

Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2010, 11:08:30 AM
For what?
For claiming in the post match interviews that he scored a legitimate goal.

Carrying the ball over the line or even being pushed over the line is not a legitimate goal.

But maybe he's not a liar. Maybe he's just stupid.

If you're a defender in possession running across the goalmouth and I shoulder you fairly and you end up in the net, is that a goal?

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2010, 10:59:35 AM
QuoteSo there were at least two previous instances of games being replayed following on from referees' errors

Incorrect. The Carlow v Laois game was only replayed cos Laois offered it. Had they not done so (as was their right) then Carlow could, officially, swing.

We are fairly sound fellas in Laois though

mckieran

QuoteIf you're a defender in possession running across the goalmouth and I shoulder you fairly and you end up in the net, is that a goal?

is that what happened?

Was I talking to you?
Liveline will be started in a couple of hours so I hope you have the phone handy.

mckieran

QuoteWas I talking to you?
Liveline will be started in a couple of hours so I hope you have the phone handy

Sorry for interupting a personal conversation on a public GAA discussion board!