What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

stevecw

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2010, 11:36:23 PM
Quote from: stevecw on July 11, 2010, 11:34:12 PM
Meath co board meeting tomorrow night. They have to offer a rematch. Its only sensible solution to this.
Laois did it in 1995 when their "winning" point was proved to be well wide against us. Fair play to them it was the right thing to do. Meath have to do the same.

Poor but proud us Laois fellas...
We knew we'd hammer ye in the replay anyways ;)

Haha ye were behind for most of that replay!!! Lucky to scrape by with a 3 pt win in the end!! Was no hammering :)

Quote from: Royalranter on July 11, 2010, 11:55:53 PM
I do really feel sorry for the Louth players. They have been very hard done by but I dont think there should be a replay. For one, it would set a precident for every match that involves a controversial decision to be replayed, but a second point to note is that Louth were given many very dubious frees during the match with resulted in or led to scores for Louth. Im a firm believer that these decisions tend to even themselves out over the course of a match and i believe thats whats happened today.
Other replays have been given and you couldn't say any precedent was set.

I do really feel sorry for the Louth players. They have been very hard done by but I dont think there should be a replay. For one, it would set a precident for every match that involves a controversial decision to be replayed, but a second point to note is that Louth were given many very dubious frees during the match with resulted in or led to scores for Louth. Im a firm believer that these decisions tend to even themselves out over the course of a match and i believe thats whats happened today.

Can we end this particular spurious argument once and for all? All Irelands used to be decided by committee decades ago. The precedent has already been set for this therefore this game wouldn't set a precedent.

This crying is embarrassing lads. Teams lose games on bad referreeing / umpiring every week.

Shut up and get on with it

Mac2

Quote from: muppet on July 12, 2010, 12:02:04 AM

Can we end this particular spurious argument once and for all? All Irelands used to be decided by committee decades ago. The precedent has already been set for this therefore this game wouldn't set a precedent.
Do you not want the game awarded to Louth? Is there a precedent for that?

mckieran

QuoteThis crying is embarrassing lads. Teams lose games on bad referreeing / umpiring every week.

Actually, it is very rare for a team to lose on a decision that was so obvious as this. I am not a Louth guy and am completely neutral here. But that has to be one of the worst decisions I have ever seen by a ref (And I have seen bad ones)

Quote from: Mac2 on July 12, 2010, 12:07:39 AM

Many many precedents.

Read about the 1925 Championship.

Quote from: muppet on July 12, 2010, 12:14:37 AM

Many many precedents.

ANd the 1995 AIF ;)

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 12:17:32 AM

Many many precedents.

ANd the 1995 AIF ;)

The type of precedent I'm talking about is where Croker over-ruled the result.

mckieran

Was the replay shown on the big screen on croke park today?

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 12:17:32 AM

Many many precedents.

ANd the 1995 AIF ;)

True Zap: not only were we fcuked where a player didn't actually walk after a red-card (Charlie Redmond), but we were denied a perfectly valid equalising point at the death. *

In reality, tough though it was on Louth, they had more than enough chances to put the game beyond Meath, but weren't good enough to take them. The referee's mistake can't and shouldn't camouflage that.

* I know, I know, we'll never give over  ;)

zoyler

If these things tend to even out over time what non goal did Louth not score and get credit for or if its oovertime do they have to wait 50 years to be awarded a non goal!!

Mac2

And look at the mess that championship was. Has there been any in recent memory where a referee's decision re: a score was later overturned?

Many many precedents.

Quote from: mckieran on July 12, 2010, 12:10:23 AM
QuoteThis crying is embarrassing lads. Teams lose games on bad referreeing / umpiring every week.

Actually, it is very rare for a team to lose on a decision that was so obvious as this. I am not a Louth guy and am completely neutral here. But that has to be one of the worst decisions I have ever seen by a ref (And I have seen bad ones)

what about all of the rank decisions that went against meath in the first half? do they carry less weight?

the severity of the poor refereeing decision is the decisive factor?

Game over. meath win. hope an lu come back strong in the qualifiers

Quote from: DuffleKing on July 12, 2010, 12:39:04 AM
Quote from: mckieran on July 12, 2010, 12:10:23 AM

what about all of the rank decisions that went against meath in the first half? do they carry less weight?

the severity of the poor refereeing decision is the decisive factor?

Game over. meath win. hope an lu come back strong in the qualifiers

Yes.