What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

Quote from: redhandluke on July 12, 2010, 02:56:19 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 02:50:01 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 12, 2010, 02:48:09 PM

His actions after the final whistle told a quare story.

Only after the controversial games he officiates ;)

What are u on about - if a player uses foul language before OR after a game, the ref is quite entitled to record his details.  Don't be so thick!

What the feck are you on about? You edited the post I was replying too. Go back and read it.

Quote from: redhandluke on July 12, 2010, 02:22:55 PM

Judging by comments for example by Sunday Game panelists and Martin Carney,

Martin Carney and Mandela were both on telly yesterday and it bought me back to that great joke about what Mandela said when he was released from (Arjen) Robben Island- "Is Martin Carney still playing for Mayo?" 

redhandluke

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 02:57:36 PM

His actions after the final whistle told a quare story.

What are u on about - if a player uses foul language before OR after a game, the ref is quite entitled to record his details.  Don't be so thick!

Quote from: Louth Exile on July 12, 2010, 01:35:39 PM
I would please simply request that all stop referring to those involved in the scenes after the game as Louth Fans, I would hope and expect that they won't be allowed enter a pitch in the county, ever again as a result of their actions. They are the minority who could not control themselves. Every county has them, ours got lose in Croker yesterday in front of all the cameras!

A prominent ex Louth player this morning rang the man who struck Mark Ward and advised him to contact Dublin Gardai to give in his details, he has done so. All of those involved have been identified as far as I am aware and they will be dealt with. How bad would it have been if it was not for the actions of Fitzer? No right minded Louth Fan can or will defend the actions of those invloved those scenes.

Juice you are a credit and fair play to you sir, as you say if Meath offer the replay and the GAA don't run with that then they have done all that they can do and made a fantastic gesture towards justice. I reiterate, it shouldn't have to come down to this and hopefully as a result of this the CCCC will be given powers to deal with such an event in the future.

As for your comments Jinxy, they are saddening and disappointing. There has been very little reference to Thierry Sheridan on this board, so why come on her complaining about what is being said on Hoganstand! I have watched it several times, leaving the square ball out of it, he clearly dives for the line in an attempt to gain a penalty and con the ref, there was no honour in what he did and his comments afterwards were a disgrace and a blight on Meath football. Seamus Kenny was man enough to admit that it wasn't a legitimate goal!

I just have one question for you Jinxy. All of Joe Sheridans intentions aside, can you say that it was a legitimate goal that should have stood?

No.
And I never said otherwise.
I'm sick of this nonsense talk about honour and cheating at this stage.
If that's the road you want to go down there wasn't much honour in JP Rooney driving the ball as far away as he could, not once but twice, to stop Meath taking a free in the last minute.

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 02:50:01 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 12, 2010, 02:48:09 PM

You'd think someone from Tyrone would be best placed to give an insight into how poor his refereeing is. You can't defend him, controversy follows him in nearly every game he officiates. His actions after the final whistle told a quare story.

Only after the controversial games he officiates ;)

The original post >:( thick

pkerin

I have another question. Who appoints the umpires at these games? Are they refs themselfs or someones buddy?

I never said the ref had a bad game in general just that he was an accident waiting to happen - from the time of his appointment!

kerrylions

the ref brings his own umpires to games,his friends mostly blind or dumb ones by the look and actions of them.the gaa usually apoint the linesmen

talktothehand

Quote from: seafoid on July 12, 2010, 02:30:19 PM
If the Louth supporters had had more experience they would have been able to invade the pitch before the final whistle went and do a sit down a la the Offaly fans the time of the famous Jimmy Cooney Watch incident.

I must say the Meath reponses I have seen from Crawford and Sheridan have been most disappointing. I thought Meath footballers had a bit more integrity than that.

up in tyrone we learned what they were like in '96

pkerin

Yep. thats what I thought. That sounds like the GAA. Lets put someone that has no experience, in fact we the GAA have no idea who these people are out on the field in a Leinster Final. Think about that... So the ref gets to bring his old buddy from school or where-ever to help officiate a Leinster Final. Thats just great. Should we really be surprised how the game ended? Should be more surprised it doesent happen more often.

Quote from: redhandluke on July 12, 2010, 02:22:55 PM
Have to say that contributions by the likes of Barney and joemamas about the ref having a bad game before the goal incident as lazy analysis and pathetic.  Very easy to say "ah the ref was crap".

Judging by comments for example by Sunday Game panelists and Martin Carney, and also from the likes of IN columnist K Madden, they all agree that the ref was having a good game up until the end.  FFS joemamas, what other way do you want the ref to referee the game if not by the rulebook.  Have to say IMHO he got all the calls right up until the very end.

The ref is an amateur, and he made a genuine mistake, you would think from the reaction from some people he set out from home that morning to put one over on Louth.  Get over it and concentrate on the next game

If you are going to reference my comments, do not be selective, please refer to everything I said, that is truly lazy etc.

I thought the ref was overly picky, and made some incorrect calls during the game, as all ref's do, a fact that Martin Carney alleuded to if I am not mistaken. btw, do we now take what the "analysts" say as gospel.

My comments were more to do with referring in general, how it has changed, and the majority of referees seem to be referring purely by the book, for fear of being "dropped' from the elite group that ref intercounty games.  In my mind, there should be a certain amount of discretion used by referees, more of a common sense approach to games, while still maintaing control of the game.

Quotereferring purely by the book

What does that mean?

rionach 4

Lets not blame the umpires . It is not their call . I repeat it is not their call.. The umpires can only assist the referee in stating whether the ball crossed the line or not and not whether it was thrown rolled carried etc over the line. . They do not have any power of square ball  penalty awards or anything else bar off the ball foul play and scores. The only mistake they made yesterday was not to raise the green flag. It's up to the ref to decide whether or not it was illegal or otherwise.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 03:03:37 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 12, 2010, 01:35:39 PM
I would please simply request that all stop referring to those involved in the scenes after the game as Louth Fans, I would hope and expect that they won't be allowed enter a pitch in the county, ever again as a result of their actions. They are the minority who could not control themselves. Every county has them, ours got lose in Croker yesterday in front of all the cameras!

A prominent ex Louth player this morning rang the man who struck Mark Ward and advised him to contact Dublin Gardai to give in his details, he has done so. All of those involved have been identified as far as I am aware and they will be dealt with. How bad would it have been if it was not for the actions of Fitzer? No right minded Louth Fan can or will defend the actions of those invloved those scenes.

Juice you are a credit and fair play to you sir, as you say if Meath offer the replay and the GAA don't run with that then they have done all that they can do and made a fantastic gesture towards justice. I reiterate, it shouldn't have to come down to this and hopefully as a result of this the CCCC will be given powers to deal with such an event in the future.

As for your comments Jinxy, they are saddening and disappointing. There has been very little reference to Thierry Sheridan on this board, so why come on her complaining about what is being said on Hoganstand! I have watched it several times, leaving the square ball out of it, he clearly dives for the line in an attempt to gain a penalty and con the ref, there was no honour in what he did and his comments afterwards were a disgrace and a blight on Meath football. Seamus Kenny was man enough to admit that it wasn't a legitimate goal!

I just have one question for you Jinxy. All of Joe Sheridans intentions aside, can you say that it was a legitimate goal that should have stood?

No.
And I never said otherwise.
I'm sick of this nonsense talk about honour and cheating at this stage.
If that's the road you want to go down there wasn't much honour in JP Rooney driving the ball as far away as he could, not once but twice, to stop Meath taking a free in the last minute.

Enough said! Jp's stupid actions are way down the scale and were dealt with

Mac2

Just been confirmed by the GAA. The referee has admitted he made a mistake re: the goal, however GAA rules state that his report re: the score is final & the result cannot be changed.