What should be done about the Leinster Final Fiasco?

Started by muppet, July 11, 2010, 06:05:28 PM

What should be done?

Award Louth the title and Meath enter qualifiers
39 (22.8%)
Order a replay
69 (40.4%)
Meath are champions and Louth enter qualifiers
63 (36.8%)

Total Members Voted: 170

Well said juice and fgm.

Irrespective of what happened, the treatment of the referee was disgraceful.  He got it wrong, very, very wrong.  But he is the official in charge - putting procedures/rules in place to avoid this kind of disaster isn't his responsibility, it's the responsibility of club members everywhere to use their democratic voice within the organisation not on Joe Duffy.  If we really want change then we need to ensure it happens through the procedures of the organisation. 

That said, rules created as a reaction to a one-off event rarely work in the way to which they're intended.  I have a lot of sympathy for Louth, but teams that earn our respect react to correct adversity on the field, not off it.

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 11:26:16 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2010, 11:08:30 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 11:01:47 AM
Yeah but my point isn't about the officials.
They obviously f*cked up.
What's annoying me is the level of abuse being directed towards Joe Sheridan.
He's been labelled a liar and a cheat on a few different forums now.
For what?
For claiming in the post match interviews that he scored a legitimate goal.

Carrying the ball over the line or even being pushed over the line is not a legitimate goal.

But maybe he's not a liar. Maybe he's just stupid.

If you're a defender in possession running across the goalmouth and I shoulder you fairly and you end up in the net, is that a goal?

Yes, but what has that to do with this thread?  ???

Both situations are explicitly covered in the rules. One is a score, the other is not.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 11:26:16 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2010, 11:08:30 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 11:01:47 AM
Yeah but my point isn't about the officials.
They obviously f*cked up.
What's annoying me is the level of abuse being directed towards Joe Sheridan.
He's been labelled a liar and a cheat on a few different forums now.
For what?
For claiming in the post match interviews that he scored a legitimate goal.

Carrying the ball over the line or even being pushed over the line is not a legitimate goal.

But maybe he's not a liar. Maybe he's just stupid.

If you're a defender in possession running across the goalmouth and I shoulder you fairly and you end up in the net, is that a goal?

Yes it is

Estimator

Meath will be in the history books as Leinster Champions.  There will be no asterix beside 2010 stating that Louth were robbed.  Its tough, but thats the way it goes.

In the '97 Ulster Championship final Cavan were awarded a point for a shot that was well wide.  Everyone on the hill side of the pitch could see it was wide yet the umpire waved the white flag.  Cavan won that game by a point.
Ulster League Champions 2009

mckieran

QuoteLouth should be banned from next year's championship. I really hope the GAA throw the book at them for those disgraceful scenes after the match.
Let's not beat about the bush here, what those supporters did yesterday was fcukin horrible.

Bit extreme to be honest; Should the Louth players & management be punished for what their fans did? Same for the Louth county board. What could they do about it? It may be difference if this happened at a county ground where the county board would be responsible. But this happened at Croke Pk. Louth county board could not have done anything to prevent this. It would be very harsh to ban them then.

Galwaybhoy

So will the GAA ban all those fans who assaulted the ref from Intercounty matches?  It would be very difficult to do this but it happens in soccer and something has to be done to stop this carry on from happening.  The ref was very lucky to get off the pitch yesterday without getting a proper punch or belt from one of those fans.  But I have noticed this sort of thing creeping into games over the last few years.  I have been at matches where programmes and even bottles have been thrown onto the pitch during games.  Anyone that does such an act should be escorted from their seat and thrown out of the stadium.

Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2010, 11:37:15 AM
Louth should be banned from next year's championship. I really hope the GAA throw the book at them for those disgraceful scenes after the match.
Let's not beat about the bush here, what those supporters did yesterday was fcukin horrible.
What rubbish, you can't blame a whole county for a couple of drunken numpties letting themselves down. What happened the referee is a disgrace no doubt, but what was he doing standing in the middle of the field continuing to take names when it was time to get out of town. Hopefully the authorities will learn not to appoint sub-standard referees to major games, he has made a number of mistakes in big games so far this year and they give him a provincial final in Croker!!!
I'll say again it doesn't justify what those eejits did to him on the field.

JMohan

I don't like conspiracies ... BUT ...

Why in Croke Park on this day after that decision was only one Garda allowed or sent out to the ref?

Was this the instigation to ban all crowds on the fields?

fearglasmor

Onlyfor Peter Fitzpatrick and some of his players, a lot more idiots would have got swipes in at Sludden.

mckieran

QuoteOnlyfor Peter Fitzpatrick and some of his players, a lot more idiots would have got swipes in at Sludden.

Yeah, in fairness to some of the Louth players, they seemed to tell a few fans to feck off the pitch. And they protected the ref from the first few fans that encroached

Louth should be banned from next year's championship. I really hope the GAA throw the book at them for those disgraceful scenes after the match.

TBH that's bollix HS, how in gods name was it Louth's fault for what happened. What the 'supporters' done to is a complete disgrace but to punish the counties senior football team would be out of order. Identify the scum who attacked the ref and don't let them near a GAA match again and if needed let the Garda throw the book at them.

True. I seen a post a good few pages back that sugested Louth put on some sort of protest. If this goes to a replay Referees should refuse to officiate in protest.

I don't think Louth should be punished in any way, unless they refuse to cooperate with identifying the people if asked.

What a stupid comment.Why should Louth be punished for the actionsof a handful of idiots who may well have bought their tickets through Ticketmaster and may not even be in a club?

I voted for a replay. This is an amateur sport, and fair play should prevail in this instance.