Cork V Cavan Qualifier Round Two 10th/11th July

Started by BallyhaiseMan, June 28, 2010, 01:24:48 PM

We may not be too hot an outfit these days, and we have probably little chance of winning saturday week,but i take exception to being looked down upon by a bunch of chokers who shit themselves at the sight of a Kerry jersey in Croker.

Let them keep blathering away down in Cork about an easy match, suits us fine, the more of that talk the better.

put-it-up

Lads I have just realised something that is absolutlely disastrous regarding our hopes against the bellends Rebels.

Would you believe that Croke Park have gone and organised us to play a match on the weeknd of Oxegen again. Will we get enought to field a team ;D ;D ;D ;D

Chris agus Snoop

Some Kerry posters on here with a bee in their bonet about Cork trying to stir up anti-rebel feelings, shouldn't ye be concerned about Limerick?

And let me assure Cavan posters that proc.com is not an accurate representation of Cork football people. Its full of WUMs and soccer fanboys. You'll get a fine welcome on leeside, and we certainly aren't taking this match for granted. Genuine Cork fans know how the tag of favourites rest uneasily on our shoulders.

Have a gander at rebelgaa.com if you want to read the opinions of Cork footballing people.

Looking forward to this game. 4 c'ship meetings between them already, 2 wins each.
6 All-Irelands v 5 All-Irelands

The Breffni county vs Breffny's county
However I think the winner will be...

's county

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: blanketattack on June 30, 2010, 02:55:02 PM
Looking forward to this game. 4 c'ship meetings between them already, 2 wins each.

's county
Very good. Talking of welcomes, can you recommend a good spot for beverages and banter before and after the game? I reckon I'll make a night of it.

drici

Match time moved to a 3-00pm start.

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 30, 2010, 04:28:30 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on June 30, 2010, 02:55:02 PM

's county
Very good. Talking of welcomes, can you recommend a good spot for beverages and banter before and after the game? I reckon I'll make a night of it.

Washington Street has most of the best GAA pubs so I'd make my way down there after the game, the Wash, Courthouse, Riordans, The Classic and Costigans are all good GAA pubs and bar Costigans, they are all owned by GAA men. I'm trying to think what good pubs are closer to the pitch but I can't think of the names at the moment. I'll get back to you when I do.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Good man Zulu. With the earlier throw-in there'll be plenty of time plus it'll stop me getting half-full beforehand and roaring something I might regret. And what about after dark?

If you stay on Washington Street after the match you can't go wrong, all football teams socialise in that part of town and the Wash, Courthouse and Classic (also a nightclub) are all owned by West Cork football men. Riordans (massive late bar and nightclub) is owned by a West Clare football man who sponsors Bishopstown GAA and all the Cork players go there when clubbing after a match. Wearing your Cavan jersey will be no issue in any of those places, in fact it will probably be a big help!

Washington Street is a long way from the pitch so it isn't any good for you before or directly after the match but get there before 9pm as it should be jointed by then.

Beforehand if you go to a pub (name escapes me, might be called the corner house) at the end of Oliver Plunkett street, at the junction with Parnell place that's a right good spot too. It's owned by a former Bantry footballer called Paidi Regan and a lad from the same club as Colm O'Neill and both of them should be there working/drinking and are good craic if you meet them. It's still a nice walk to the pitch (30 min I'd say but the closer pubs aren't great and are only 5 or 10 min closer.

Here's a link to a map of Cork city http://www.goireland.com/cork/cork-city.htm#Directions you'll have to go center park rd. and on to the marina rd. to get to the pitch and there are no pubs along there. Alternatively you could go to the pitch and there are pubs on Monahan rd. at the back of the pitch but I couldn't tell you anything about them.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Zulu on July 01, 2010, 05:35:12 PM
If you stay on Washington Street after the match you can't go wrong, all football teams socialise in that part of town and the Wash, Courthouse and Classic (also a nightclub) are all owned by West Cork football men. Riordans (massive late bar and nightclub) is owned by a West Clare football man who sponsors Bishopstown GAA and all the Cork players go there when clubbing after a match. Wearing your Cavan jersey will be no issue in any of those places, in fact it will probably be a big help!

Washington Street is a long way from the pitch so it isn't any good for you before or directly after the match but get there before 9pm as it should be jointed by then.

Beforehand if you go to a pub (name escapes me, might be called the corner house) at the end of Oliver Plunkett street, at the junction with Parnell place that's a right good spot too. It's owned by a former Bantry footballer called Paidi Regan and a lad from the same club as Colm O'Neill and both of them should be there working/drinking and are good craic if you meet them. It's still a nice walk to the pitch (30 min I'd say but the closer pubs aren't great and are only 5 or 10 min closer.

Here's a link to a map of Cork city http://www.goireland.com/cork/cork-city.htm#Directions you'll have to go center park rd. and on to the marina rd. to get to the pitch and there are no pubs along there. Alternatively you could go to the pitch and there are pubs on Monahan rd. at the back of the pitch but I couldn't tell you anything about them.
You're some boy Zulu. Pretty comprehensive.
Any idea what tactics Carr should adopt?

put-it-up

I think it is fairly obvious that TC will start the game with 13 men.

However I think a 4-4-2 diamond would completely catch Cork on the hop.

QuoteHowever I think a 4-4-2 diamond would completely catch Cork on the hop.

He could try the 747 formation but there are no airports in Cavan big enough.

We may need to park the team bus in front of the Goals to give Fintan a hand.

This the formation id play with against Cork

Fintan
                            Nesty(as sweeper)
Mickey H   Ronan Flanagan         Mossy Corr         Michael Brides
                         Mark McKeever
Alan Clarke      John Mc C          Dermot Sheridan    Martin Cahill
         Mickey Brennan            Ciaran Galligan

Jelly               Cian Mackey

put-it-up

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 01, 2010, 09:49:14 PM
We may need to park the team bus in front of the Goals to give Fintan a hand.

This the formation id play with against Cork

Fintan
                            Nesty(as sweeper)
Mickey H   Ronan Flanagan         Mossy Corr         Michael Brides
                         Mark McKeever
Alan Clarke      John Mc C          Dermot Sheridan    Martin Cahill
         Mickey Brennan            Ciaran Galligan

Jelly               Cian Mackey

Not bad BHM, I always knew there was something in between your ears.

I think we need to get Jellly and Mackey in as much space as possible (although if Cork let us to that then they are bigger gobshites than I thought), with Nesty trying to supply them with ball. If I was Cork manager I would focus on Nesty. If you stop him you cut off the quality suplly, which our forwards need, going in. After that, I think everybody else is going to have to roll up the sleeves and be as hard-working, if not even more hard-working, than we were during that spell against Wicklow. Any 1/2 chance Cork get we will be punished (if they don't get cocky and over-confident).

We're playing with the big boy's now. We need to perform to our maximum potential and hope they take the foot off the gas to have a chance of winning. One can dream. Cavan for Sam. No matter happens, I think there is hope for us again in the future after the passion they showed against Wicklow. Maybe they are sick of being thought of as losers or maybe it was just a flash in the pan. Anyway there is hope and I would just love if we went down and stood up like men and gave it a rattle. After all, we have nothin to lose, except the game that is.