Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

well done to sligo the hungrier and better team
comparing there style organisation and hunger to ours shows up 4 years of team building as an utter shambles
hate to say it but if anyone else in charge other than o mahony hed be given road long time ago
plenty of ball players in the county mayo all we expect is someone to maximise our potential

Brilliant result altogether, fair play to Sligo, this win will give them all the confidence i the world and they will be hard to stop going forward.

Mayo are a class act but it will be hard for them to pick themselves up after this result.

Quote from: orangeman on June 05, 2010, 06:22:30 PM
Mayo totally inept this evening.

Sligo have bossed them all over the pitch.

Costello is some reject !!!

Back door boys Mayo.

Hard to believe.

Not hard to believe at all. Mayo class act you say stew, oh I wish. I don't know what to say as I've said it all before time and again. Honestly, no leadership out there today from a Mayo perspective anyway, backs poor, midfield useless, forwards useless. And then O'Mahony brings on BJP! I think that says it all.

Congrats to Sligo though, have to say you have fine footballers and I wonder why I got sucked into any kind of blind optimism at all. I suppose you have to when following a team like Mayo.

congrats to sligo on their well deseved win today best team by a mile won , thought the two mayo men for sligo were brilliant  ;) we just were not at the races seemed to me that we had no game plan only pump the ball in high and after that nothing fair play to walsh and sligo they had this sussed after 10 minutes and dropped o 'hara back to win they ball and after that were not really in trouble in the backs back contrast this to what o mahony did in relation to vauaghan on kelly surely some one else should have been put on kelly who was out standing instead of leaving vaughan on him for the full game. surely at this stage we should be allowed to question o mahony and his management skills? its time to to  call a spade a spade he is just not up to it any more and has been living on his past reputation , of course the players have a lot to answer for  they looked completely dead on their feet the last 20 minutes why was this ? has any one been working one on one with aidan o'shea like cork did with aiske o'halpin surely he needs to be nutured his confidence must be shattered . and i  don't want to hear that this is an old team THIS IS O MAHONYS TEAM and unlike other managers who he was only to willing to have a go at they don't seem to want to play for him why is this.however i suppose he has another year to manage mayo or at least untill the election is over  :( >:(

Geoff Tipps

Just back from the game. Absolutely clueless both players and management. Sligo bossed us all over the pitch apart from full forward where Freeman was having a field day until they stopped sending the ball into him. Subs introduced far too late in the game. Midfield and half forward line was a disgrace with Mort and Parsons particularly to the fore here. He may be captain but he proved yet again today that he shouldn't be playing intercounty football. Parsons looked like he was playing a training game.

Fair play to Sligo though. They minimised the impact of our half backs and won the individual battles all over the pitch.

Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 05, 2010, 06:36:45 PM
Well done Sligo great performance and well worthy of their win. Some of the Mayo players look as if they have lost their appetite for the game and Its clear that Johnno no longer has anything to offer.

Congrats especially to Sligonian who clearly has shown he knows his football.

I think that's fair comment and I hope the queue of people who were so keen to belittle him man up and admit they were way off beam.

Good performance from Sligo. The two sweepers made the first half hard to watch for the neutral but it was a necessary move for Sligo. When we went back man to man for the second half our lads knew we had them for the taking. Jimmy White did his best but even his considerable help wasn't enough for Mayo. In a funny was he did us a favour as if we'd got fair play we might have won by 7 to 10 which would made it twice as hard to keep the feet on the ground. While we played well there's still a lot to work on if we're to beat Galway in Salthill but again we'll go into it with no fear. Very proud of the lads and especially my two club mates today. Costello let his football do the talking when it mattered most. You don't get through 70 minutes like that if you're "a bit tubby" as someone said. As for Keelan - looked like he was there for years.

This result was not a shock though despite what the ill-informed media guys who make money from rubbish say.

Will post more later, going for a few panadol now. Louth just completed my clean sweep of bets today!

chrissears

Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 05, 2010, 08:30:44 PM
Just back from the game. Absolutely clueless both players and management. Sligo bossed us all over the pitch apart from full forward where Freeman was having a field day until they stopped sending the ball into him. Subs introduced far too late in the game. Midfield and half forward line was a disgrace with Mort and Parsons particularly to the fore here. He may be captain but he proved yet again today that he shouldn't be playing intercounty football. Parsons looked like he was playing a training game.

Fair play to Sligo though. They minimised the impact of our half backs and won the individual battles all over the pitch.

An Gaeilgoir

Just back from the game, well done to Sligo, no amount of Skill can match desire, hunger, teamwork and a willingless to put the hand in to win the hard ball. Not on to our lads, this team lacked all of the above. The lack of desire and leadership was stark. We in Mayo talk about leadership, this team have played more high profile games for both clubs and county at all levels, this shound nurture natural leadership skills but yet again all our experienced men hid away, our midfielders and our captain especially. Mayo tonight were not a team lacking a large number of players through injury, we should have enough to have won this game. As for the backdoor, i'd say most of these lads would rather be relaxing for the summer now. Ffs if we have forwards kicking balls in to a goalkeepers hands from 30 yards out, we do we start. This Mayo horse along with its managment team should either be sent to the glue factory or out to pasture, either way it will be al ong summer. One of the most disapointing results over the past 10 years. I wonder will the Mayo News print the photo of the Mayo team on Tuesday?

Well done Sligo. Played with great hunger and won easily. They ll have to wait for another day to see how good they are because they were given no type of test at all today. I m not surprised by our performance and even worse I m not even disappointed. I m just angry this set-up has been allowed to fester on. It s been a wasted four years. This should have been nipped in the bud long ago. The best that this team can hope for now is a quick clean death the next day, at a venue far, far away with few witnesses.
There ll be no back door run for us. When a team is only 2 points down with 20 minutes to go but still obviously going to loose there are more problems than a few changes and a few weeks can change. It was obvious today that Mayo had no stomach for it after 15 mins when they realised that it would take more than a lively start to win. A pathetic display. And his holiness's ramblings in the press conference afterwards said it all really. Loads of posturing - nothing of substance. A smoke screen of words. Damn it, even if he sounded angry it would be something. This team had lost the supporters before today but I m angry the jersey has become a joke and ridiculed even within football strongholds within the county. The board will now be ruminating about loans and no game in Castlebar this year. As regards funding to train the county team next year. The manager will want to start practicing making sandwiches himself. I would nt like to be getting the clubs to sell board tickets next year.

shaund10

Well done Sligo, great performance. If Sligo can replicate that next time, Galway will have to play to a high level to get past them

Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2010, 09:00:52 PM
Well done Sligo. Played with great hunger and won easily. They ll have to wait for another day to see how good they are because they were given no type of test at all today. I m not surprised by our performance and even worse I m not even disappointed. I m just angry this set-up has been allowed to fester on. It s been a wasted four years. This should have been nipped in the bud long ago. The best that this team can hope for now is a quick clean death the next day, at a venue far, far away with few witnesses.
There ll be no back door run for us. When a team is only 2 points down with 20 minutes to go but still obviously going to loose there are more problems than a few changes and a few weeks can change. It was obvious today that Mayo had no stomach for it after 15 mins when they realised that it would take more than a lively start to win. A pathetic display. And his holiness's ramblings in the press conference afterwards said it all really. Loads of posturing - nothing of substance. A smoke screen of words. Damn it, even if he sounded angry it would be something. This team had lost the supporters before today but I m angry the jersey has become a joke and ridiculed even within football strongholds within the county. The board will now be ruminating about loans and no game in Castlebar this year. As regards funding to train the county team next year. The manager will want to start practicing making sandwiches himself. I would nt like to be getting the clubs to sell board tickets next year.

was there much mayo support there today moysider ?

Yeah, the white elephant development stand took a shake today! Hard to believe peolpe spent so much money on a development that over caters for our county team.

You are right the clubs will have to pick up the loss. Only advantage for county board is they will not have any county team expenses in a couple weeks time.

Well done and fairfuckingplay to Sligo for a thoroughly deserved victory.
Ill echo what other posters have said and say Sligo stood up to be counted today by showing hunger and belief and showing they were the better team.

Mayo lacked leadership all over the field and ill hold off before I go lambasting of some players after their performance today.
Off the field we lacked leadership too, as was previously mentioned the changes came far too late, and when they did come they were pathetic.

BJP for Seamus O Shea? FFS thats a joke. A guy who joins the panel 3 weeks ago gets thrown in for someone who wasnt doing all that bad. 
The problem was we had no ideas after O Hara played as an extra defender, we needed to change the FF line, SOS was hauled ashore needlessly.
Conroy for McGarity (as poor as he was) was a terrible decision as McG was our only aerial threat.
JOM doesnt have a clue.

Ill post more thoughts on individual performances later.

Do people think Cuinneffe answered any of his critics today?
FFS, 43 clubs in the county and we choose him as our centre back even though he played about 3 club games in the last year and did dam all besides in the last 2 and a half.

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 05, 2010, 09:09:53 PM

Yeah, the white elephant development stand took a shake today! Hard to believe peolpe spent so much money on a development that over caters for our county team.

You are right the clubs will have to pick up the loss. Only advantage for county board is they will not have any county team expenses in a couple weeks time.

The county board loses nearly 100k by not having the Connacht final in McHale park.
If the knives are not out of the drawer for JOM ill be shocked.

Noel Connelly could be brought straight in

chrissears

Watched the game on tv in London and it didn't look good there either. Mayo piss poor all over the park, agree with comments about t mortimer but he wasn't the only one. i hope we get loser of Cork v Kerry in qualifiers and the put the dying dog out of its misery. As for JOM not sure the all those challenge matches did us any good at all, Mayo looked drained of energy as the match went on, we were second to every ball. Do other counties play so many challenge matches? Are they instead of or in addition to training? Either way its clearly not working.
Fair play to Sligo you were the better team, defence was very good especially in second half and the forwards took there points when they came.