Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 04, 2010, 10:07:53 PM
Quote from: stew on June 04, 2010, 07:51:06 PM
In fairness its hard not to be disrepectful. It all comes down to pride. Mayo people expect to be one of the top teams in the country, so we expect to beat Sligo and win well. As they said its hard to swallow your pride. Maybe its unrealistic on my part, but its just the way i feel.

If you disrespect an opponent it tends to bite you in the arse, I hope it does, to all the Sligo lads on here I hope you get the job done against a team that thinks they are a huge step up in class from ye.
Bullshit.
I think you are very much OTT here.
First of all, the 'team;' neither the manager nor any of the players have ever said they regard tomorrow's game as a pushover or claim they are a step above Sligo in any way. Every indication is that they feel they will have a tough battle on their hands.
If you are referring to the posters here, you will find there are well over forty who have contributed and you'll be hard pushed to come up with a handful that are dismissive of Sligo's chances in any way.
If you are going by any banter between some of us and Sligonian, you really need to chill out. That fella is an icon in Mayo GAA circles and most of us would have withdrawal symptoms if he were absent from any Mayo-related thread for more than a day.
You can support whoever you damn well like and I doubt that anybody in Mayo would feel offended in any way but you could  leave the sh*t stirring out of it.

My intention was not to offend Mayo people or anything else, I addresed the Sligo fans.

I was not shit stirring but I have in the past and I am getting away from that shite.

Sligonian is a legend, no doubt about that. ;D

small white mayoman

In fairness its hard not to be disrepectful. It all comes down to pride. Mayo people expect to be one of the top teams in the country, so we expect to beat Sligo and win well. As they said its hard to swallow your pride. Maybe its unrealistic on my part, but its just the way i feel.

If you disrespect an opponent it tends to bite you in the arse, I hope it does, to all the Sligo lads on here I hope you get the job done against a team that thinks they are a huge step up in class from ye.
Bullshit.
First of all, the 'team;' neither the manager nor any of the players have ever said they regard tomorrow's game as a pushover or claim they are a step above Sligo in any way. Every indication is that they feel they will have a tough battle on their hands.
If you are referring to the posters here, you will find there are well over forty who have contributed and you'll be hard pushed to come up with a handful that are dismissive of Sligo's chances in any way.
If you are going by any banter between some of us and Sligonian, you really need to chill out. That fella is an icon in Mayo GAA circles and most of us would have withdrawal symptoms if he were absent from any Mayo-related thread for more than a day.You can support whoever you damn well like and I doubt that anybody in Mayo would feel offended in any way but you could  leave the sh*t stirring out of it.

crikey larnap you should have a warning on your last post i nearly choked on my toasted ham and cheese sambo when i read sligonian and icon in the same paragraph  :D
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

Quote from: stew on June 04, 2010, 10:18:55 PM

Bullshit.
If you are going by any banter between some of us and Sligonian, you really need to chill out. That fella is an icon in Mayo GAA circles and most of us would have withdrawal symptoms if he were absent from any Mayo-related thread for more than a day.
You can support whoever you damn well like and I doubt that anybody in Mayo would feel offended in any way but you could  leave the sh*t stirring out of it.

My intention was not to offend Mayo people or anything else, I addresed the Sligo fans.

I was not shit stirring but I have in the past and I am getting away from that shite.

Stew : "Young people of Sligo......I laaauve you"

Longest wait for game ever now..8am and have to wait till 2am..jaysus. Lar, you not far off legend status yourself now!

blast05

QuoteI think everyone in Sligo is expecting a Sligo win, but unlike Mayo we are not expecting an easy game with winning pulling up by about 6-10 pts. Im expecting a 1pt win as JJJ with the winning point coming in the last 10 secs of injury time after a serious effort.

Sligo or Mayo to win by a point scored in the last 10 seconds of injury time would be long odds in a bookies. Surely you can't be serious in saying that is what you expect to happen ? Fair enough that a player uses mental imagery to imagine every sort of positive scenario or a supporter day dreams of what they would like to see happen but i don't think anyone can rationally say they 'expect' your scenario to happen. Of course its possible time to consider logic and probability

And by the way ... to use the word expect to win suggests an arrogance that you and others are accusing Mayo of. "I'd be confident of victory" or "i'd be fairly hopeful that we can win it" would certainly be more my type of tone when warranted .... as per tomorrow evening, based on no more than i feel Mayo are capable of playing the game at a slightly higher gear based on the experience of Div 1 football and also that the new faces are i feel made of the right stuff in terms of leadership, attitude, etc.

Quote from: stew on June 04, 2010, 10:18:55 PM

Fair enough, Stew; I have absolutely no problem with you supporting Sligo; I do it myself against all teams with the obvious exception of my beloved Mayo. But the same beloved Mayo are about as predictable as a baby's bum at present. They could bate Sligo up the N4 or they could just as easily lie down like sheep in a heap. I doubt that if many players feel they are a huge step above any side right now and certainly not against Sligo in Marky Park.
As for Sligonian, he deserves icon status. By his total and absolute devotion to his cause, he is outstanding in his field. (I hope he gets pissed on while he's standing out there but that's irrelevant,)
He also deserves icon status for his equally total and equally absolute contempt for all known forms of logic and probably all unknown ones as well.
The highest compliment I can pay him to rank him alongside Evil Genius, who merits both parts of his moniker, as my top 'must read' posters.
BTW, ballinaman, thank you very much for your kind compliment. Flattery will get you anywhere with me—as long as you don't come looking for a loan of course! ;D

sligoman2

Tried to stay outside the shyt stirring until now.  With the game only a few hours away I thought I would throw my opinion in the ring.

In my opinion this game will come down to midfield and the sligo half back line.  There are without doubt a lot of unanswered questions, Will Taylor and Gilmartin be able to hold their own or even win against a strong Mayo Midfileld?
Will Eamon Ohara play as a third midfielder, Is phillips ready to man mark and show us the ability he has, will Keelan Cawley be able to overcome the nerves and show the class he undoubtedly has?
Happy to see that Mayo are favouites as we always play better when considered the underdog.  I hope it's a good game of football and that this new fistpass rule doesn't make a joke of the game as it has done for other games this year.

Kevin Walsh has done a great job and I hope this continues tomorrow.  I'm expecting a fast paced, physiscal game with only a few points either way at the finish.

I will be watching from the US with my heart in my mouth, with a rake of Mayo boys.  Good luck to Sligo tomorrow, I know ye will do us proud.
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

well another championsip year begins with a tough outing against sligo, can't get to the game what the feck are the gaa at having a game at 5 o'clock on a saturday evening. don't know what to expect . like some of the posters said its hard to see where the scores are going to come from up front as we don't have high scoring half forwards unless moran has a super day at the office then it depends on what sort of quality ball we get into the full forward line really hope the debautants settle in to the game.whoever is heading to the match have a great day out ,weather is super here at the moment hope it holds till this evening .   

The word on the street last night was that Co. board had only moved 1800 tickets by close of business on Thursday evening. More worrying however Harte is out of this game entirely and probably Dillon too. Throw in Kilcoyne and Howley out and our bench is beginning to look a bit light.

Best of Luck to Sligo today. Got feck all sleep last night, visions of Ciaran McDonald coming on :P

Stew your support is most welcome, I hope plenty of neutrals today get behind Sligo whether it be in the Park or in the sitting room.

Jees are we going to learn alot today about Sligo, a day of many lessons. Safe journey to all fans coming to the game.

Sligeach abu..

Stew with the greatest of respect I couldn't give a shite who you support tonight. I'm sick and tired of hearing from other counties patronising shite that they would love to see Mayo win an All-Ireland. We don't want your pity. And we don't need it. Actually I'd prefer if every county hated us, it would be a sign we were removing our reputation as 'nice' footballers.

Looking forward to the game now, lovely day, this is championship, it is what its all about and there is a great sense of anticipation. Pity is that few enough Mayos talking about travelling. Croke Park defeat, JOMs ability to take the excitement out of everything and ticket prices all contribute. Mayo some misguided arrogance might too.

This, as I have said regularly, will go down to the wire. My info is Dillon will play SOME part. If he does, that will be of untold benefit. Like Muppet maybe the Green and Red mist may be descending but we may sneak this one. Only a few hours to find out. Up Mayo!

Mayo GAA

Match report will be on www.mayogaa.com within an hour of the final whistle in Markievicz Park. I won't commit to a time because that final whistle could be after extra time!

western exile

Quote from: Mayo GAA on June 05, 2010, 11:11:45 AM
Match report will be on www.mayogaa.com within an hour of the final whistle in Markievicz Park. I won't commit to a time because that final whistle could be after extra time!
Good to have county board representation on this board  ;)

Its good for Mayo to have a few injuries. Some of their younger players will be severely tested in a bearpit today. They'll know a lot more about themselves tonight then if it was played in Castlebar. Mayo to win by 2-3 points.

Hoping for a good game today, i shall be watching it in a irish pub in Gothenburg so i might get distracted by the blonde girls  ;) hard to pick a winner after looking at the line outs it might be a sub that win's this game

I'm sure Galway will be hoping for a Sligo win (meaning a home Semi)

Mano

Lovely sunny day here in Sligo which should lead to a good open game. As for game itself if we do reasonably well in middle third where mayo are strong we have a great chance. Time will tell. Enjoy the game