Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

MadMayo

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 03, 2010, 10:44:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2010, 07:54:52 PM
Last time Mayo started without a Crossmolina man was in 1993. Against Sligo in Markievicz. Result Sligo 1-6 Mayo 1-14. ;D

There it is, there it is everyone, mayo will win because the last time no crossmolina man was in there starting team they beat us, we are doomed :D

No, its because ye are shite at football....  :-[

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2010, 07:54:52 PM
Last time Mayo started without a Crossmolina man was in 1993. Against Sligo in Markievicz. Result Sligo 1-6 Mayo 1-14. ;D

Sorry Farr but I just had a look at WJs site. In fact to find the last time Mayo started a Cship game without a Cross man you only have to go as far back as 2007. Bit of a shame as it would have been a good stat!

Gardiner and McD coming on as subs in Celtic park.

QuoteROUND 2: Derry 2-13 Mayo 1-6 (Celtic Park, Derry, 14/7/2007). MAYO: D Clarke, T Cunniffe, L O'Malley, T Howley; D Heaney, D Kilcullen, T Mortimor (0-1); P Harte, D Brady; BJ Padden, P Hanley (0-1), A Dillon; C Mortimor (0-1, free), B Moran (1-2), A Moran (0-1). Subs: A Kilcoyne (0-1) for Dillon (half-time), A Campbell for Kilcoyne (43 mins, inj), K O'Neill for Padden (51 mins), P Gardiner for Cunniffe (55 mins), C McDonald for Campbell (58 mins). Blood sub: R McGarritty for D Brady (69 mins).
Match reports: [Western People] [Mayo News] [Derry Journal]

To find the last time a Crossmolina man played you have to go to the previous year against Donegal, although I'd bet good money that streak will continue, with Gardiner playing some part on Saturday.

QuoteSEMI-FINAL: Donegal 0-13 Mayo 0-9 (Croke Park, 16/8/1992). MAYO: G Irwin; K Beirne, P Forde, D Flanagan; A McGarry, T Tierney, P Butler; S Maher (0-1), TJ Kilgallon; J Jennings (0-4, frees), K Staunton, T Morley (0-1); R Dempsey (0-2, one free), L McHale (0-1), A Finnerty (0-1). Subs: N Durcan for Finnerty, P Brogan for Maher.

Wouldn't it be great to knock all this arrogant confidence off Sligo peoples faces with aeven a one point win tomorrow!

Mano

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 04, 2010, 08:43:13 AM
Wouldn't it be great to knock all this arrogant confidence off Sligo peoples faces with aeven a one point win tomorrow!

What a load of rubbish. The only arrogance and confidence on this board is coming from the Mayo side. Even the usually confident Sligonian isn't going over the top.
The odds of 11/4 against Sligo say it all - bookies don't get it wrong too often.

blast05

QuoteSEMI-FINAL: Donegal 0-13 Mayo 0-9 (Croke Park, 16/8/1992). MAYO: G Irwin; K Beirne, P Forde, D Flanagan; A McGarry, T Tierney, P Butler; S Maher (0-1), TJ Kilgallon; J Jennings (0-4, frees), K Staunton, T Morley (0-1); R Dempsey (0-2, one free), L McHale (0-1), A Finnerty (0-1). Subs: N Durcan for Finnerty, P Brogan for Maher.

Jaysus, look at the size of that Mayo forward line and midfield. Larry was the smallest and 'small' was never a word you would really use to describe him.

Quote from: western exile on June 03, 2010, 11:36:16 PM
A Saturday evening game is a novelty for a Connacht Championship.  I will be staying in town after the game. What are the best football watering holes?

The Sligo team will be in Fiddler Creek afterwards if your looking to get autographs ;)

I'm hearing that a lot of the south Sligo boys that night be in and around Enniscrone Golf club or into Ballina are expecting a Sligo win - not hoping now, expecting it. Let's hope we can disappoint them - unfortunately not going to be able to see the game, have it set to record but it will be Monday afternoon before I'll get a chance to sit down and watch it.

Quote from: stephenite on June 04, 2010, 12:38:37 PM
I'm hearing that a lot of the south Sligo boys that night be in and around Enniscrone Golf club or into Ballina are expecting a Sligo win - not hoping now, expecting it. Let's hope we can disappoint them - unfortunately not going to be able to see the game, have it set to record but it will be Monday afternoon before I'll get a chance to sit down and watch it.

I think everyone in Sligo is expecting a Sligo win, but unlike Mayo we are not expecting an easy game with winning pulling up by about 6-10 pts. Im expecting a 1pt win as JJJ with the winning point coming in the last 10 secs of injury time after a serious effort. I know some in Mayo expect a tough game but ye would be in the minority. Whoever loses will be disappointed kinda goes without saying. I do think its arrogant for either side to go into this expecting it to be easy, we in Sligo have every right to expect to win, but we know it will take a huge performance.

If we were expecting to lose we wouldnt bother turning up, i think a huge Sligo crowd will turn up and as I said we are not turning up to watch us lose.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 04, 2010, 01:13:53 PM
Quote from: stephenite on June 04, 2010, 12:38:37 PM

I think everyone in Sligo is expecting a Sligo win, but unlike Mayo we are not expecting an easy game with winning pulling up by about 6-10 pts. Im expecting a 1pt win as JJJ with the winning point coming in the last 10 secs of injury time after a serious effort. I know some in Mayo expect a tough game but ye would be in the minority. Whoever loses will be disappointed kinda goes without saying. I do think its arrogant for either side to go into this expecting it to be easy, we in Sligo have every right to expect to win, but we know it will take a huge performance.

If we were expecting to lose we wouldnt bother turning up, i think a huge Sligo crowd will turn up and as I said we are not turning up to watch us lose.

That's all fair enough - I think it's the slagging and the confidence of the Sligo supporters that I've heard about that made me write that post. I grew up to not hearing a peek out of the Sligo lads in school/work in the weeks before a championship game, nearly resigned to being beat. That's all changed now obviously and I think that's brilliant.

I'm away too long at this stage I suppose and that's about as much as I can post on-haven't see Mayo play yet this year. :'(

Mayo to win by 4 based on nothing but history and my own ignorance of where both teams are at.

If there are over 10 or 12 thousand at this game I'd be surprised given the circumstances.What would constitute a huge Sligo crowd exactly? It's 2am throw in over here....will have been long on the batter by then...text updates will have to do. Could seriously do without a loss added to the inevitable hangover :-\

Quote from: ballinaman on June 04, 2010, 01:38:16 PM
What would constitute a huge Sligo crowd exactly?

game in the showgrounds
:P

Quote from: spuds on June 04, 2010, 01:52:56 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 04, 2010, 01:38:16 PM
What would constitute a huge Sligo crowd exactly?

game in the showgrounds
:P
About 2,000 so or should i say 1,999 less my ticket! :D

Quote from: GBXII on June 01, 2010, 08:36:31 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 01, 2010, 08:23:47 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 30, 2010, 08:27:59 PM
You know it makes me laugh when I hear the likes of longfords, westmeaths, donegals go on about if they were in Connacht they have a better chance, when you see the shite of longford/louth donegal/down games, and we might face Galway or Mayo first round every yr, its way harder, any chance of letting Sligo into Ulster? You we might get an easier first rd match... Sligo are going to have to be alot better than any team in championship so far to beat mayo. No chance of easing ourselves in like 07..
;D ;D ;D
Sligo get the better of Antrim (traditionally the 9th best football team in Ulster) in Div 3 and 4 league football, and you think that that makes them ready to survive  the fire and brimstone that is the Ulster Championship!   ::)
Oh... the naiveté of the innocent  8)

Idiotic comment all right.

Jaysus, of all the shite you've posted on here Sligonian, that takes the biscuit. Who if anyone from Westmeath has ever harped on about wishing to be in Connacht? Not to mention Longford or Donegal. Take a redner...

What's the word on tickets boys? Is this thing sold out yet?

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 04, 2010, 02:01:19 PM
Quote from: GBXII on June 01, 2010, 08:36:31 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 01, 2010, 08:23:47 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 30, 2010, 08:27:59 PM
You know it makes me laugh when I hear the likes of longfords, westmeaths, donegals go on about if they were in Connacht they have a better chance, when you see the shite of longford/louth donegal/down games, and we might face Galway or Mayo first round every yr, its way harder, any chance of letting Sligo into Ulster? You we might get an easier first rd match... Sligo are going to have to be alot better than any team in championship so far to beat mayo. No chance of easing ourselves in like 07..
;D ;D ;D
Sligo get the better of Antrim (traditionally the 9th best football team in Ulster) in Div 3 and 4 league football, and you think that that makes them ready to survive  the fire and brimstone that is the Ulster Championship!   ::)
Oh... the naiveté of the innocent  8)

Idiotic comment all right.

Jaysus, of all the shite you've posted on here Sligonian, that takes the biscuit. Who if anyone from Westmeath has ever harped on about wishing to be in Connacht? Not to mention Longford or Donegal. Take a redner...

Not you then, but there are other people besides yourself from westmeath, Ive heard it enough times from Longford, Westmeath and donegal people over the yrs having a go at connacht... Id take playing wicklow over mayo this weekend to get into a provincial semi final.