Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Quote from: REDCOL on June 01, 2010, 10:53:01 PM
There seems to be general consensus on the Mayo Team now.

Clarke

Barrett       Cafferkey    Higgins
Vaughan     Cunniffe     Mc Loughlin
            Parsons McGarrity
Moran     S O Shea      Mortimer
Mortimer      Freeman    Varley

Dillon will be a huge loss

No Aidan O Shea either? What happened there?

Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on June 01, 2010, 07:28:45 PM
Mayo news podcast is up and they expect this to be the team named.

Clarke

Barrett     Cafferkey    Higgins

Vaughan    Cunniffe  McLoughlin

Parsons   McGarrity

Dillon     T Mortimer  A Moran

C Mortimer  B Moran   A O'Shea

...meaning no place for Gardiner, Varley, Freeman, Ronaldson or (surprisingly for me) Seamus O'Shea.

If Trev starts ahead of SOS then I give up

Quote from: AbbeySider on June 01, 2010, 10:59:29 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on June 01, 2010, 07:28:45 PM
Mayo news podcast is up and they expect this to be the team named.

Clarke

Barrett     Cafferkey    Higgins

Vaughan    Cunniffe  McLoughlin

Parsons   McGarrity

Dillon     T Mortimer  A Moran

C Mortimer  B Moran   A O'Shea

...meaning no place for Gardiner, Varley, Freeman, Ronaldson or (surprisingly for me) Seamus O'Shea.

If Trev starts ahead of SOS then I give up

Unfortunately that's the way it looks. Only way Seamie will start is if Dillon is injured. Can't see Varley starting either Redcol, not saying he shouldn't, just don't see it happening the way things have been going. Barry Moran will be back fit, Alan Freeman wil go to the corner and Varley will lose out. Not beyond the bounds of possibility that he;ll go with Aidan O'Shea beside Moran either. But looks unlikely. I'll hold my fire for now.

GBXII

Why no Aiden O'Shea??

Surely if Barry Moran is fit it will be a FF line of C Mortimer, B Moran, A O'Shea?

I will also give up if Trevor starts ahead of Seamus O'Shea given how solidly O'Shea has played all league. Trevor can prove his leadership qualities by coming on with 15/20 to go and adding some extra drive and ball winning skills around the middle.

Quote from: GBXII on June 01, 2010, 11:27:52 PM
Why no Aiden O'Shea??

Surely if Barry Moran is fit it will be a FF line of C Mortimer, B Moran, A O'Shea?

I will also give up if Trevor starts ahead of Seamus O'Shea given how solidly O'Shea has played all league. Trevor can prove his leadership qualities by coming on with 15/20 to go and adding some extra drive and ball winning skills around the middle.

I'm not disagreeing with you at all, just it looks like JOM sees things differently.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 01, 2010, 11:21:21 PM
Unfortunately that's the way it looks. Only way Seamie will start is if Dillon is injured. Can't see Varley starting either Redcol, not saying he shouldn't, just don't see it happening the way things have been going. Barry Moran will be back fit, Alan Freeman wil go to the corner and Varley will lose out. Not beyond the bounds of possibility that he;ll go with Aidan O'Shea beside Moran either. But looks unlikely. I'll hold my fire for now.

I was thinking that it would be harsh for Varley to lose out as he has not done a lot wrong.
I prefer Freeman on the half forward line as I think he is more creative than playing in the fullforward line.

Conor would be better being sprung from the bench as when he is he plays with a point to prove.

o mahony may well be a gobshite but he knows his own mind and is usually consisrtent in his selections and  has given no indication that SOS and AOS are anything but 1st choice players
Wy would Trevor start? how about years of loyal dedicated service and leadership and bringing a workrate to the team no one else on the squad can?

Quote from: rosnarun on June 02, 2010, 12:20:41 AM
o mahony may well be a gobshite but he knows his own mind and is usually consisrtent in his selections and  has given no indication that SOS and AOS are anything but 1st choice players
Wy would Trevor start? how about years of loyal dedicated service and leadership and bringing a workrate to the team no one else on the squad can?
When it comes to the Championship, it should be about the here and now and reputations have to go out the window. Trev hasn't been playing well this year and SOS has.

Cosmo Kramer

The thinking now seems to be that SOS was never first choice, he only played to fill gaps. He was in the half forward line while Dillon was away and moved to midfield when Dillon came back and McGarrity got injured. O'Mahony seems decided on Parsons and McGarrity at midfield and it they're all fit it is hard to see him dropping Dillon, T Mort or A Moran in the half forwards, so SOS would miss out. Personally I would have him ahead of Mortimer every day of the week. We should find out tonight anyway.

REDCOL: I wouldn't like to go to Sligo with your full forward line, picking both Freeman and Varley would be a massive gamble. Varley seems to have dropped down the order a bit in the last few weeks.

REDCOL

Cosmo, Its not my full forward line but speaking to some people close to the team that is the team they think will start, btw I agree with you

Indeed ros, why would Trev start? All he seems to do is give the ball away. Not something a man in the captain's role should do...

Lets call a spade a spade. He struggles to solo the ball, he runs into trouble, cant kick a point, his kick passing is wild at the best of times.

In the past he relied on workrate and pace, and he has lost both this year IMO.
Its harsh but its the way I see it.

Whats in the past is in the past. David Heaney, James Nallen, Ciarain McDonald or any other players that gave years of service and leadership, by your logic thats enough to start them if they were still involved?
(Ok McDonald being the exception on that list but thats another argument  ;) )

Mano

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on June 01, 2010, 06:24:26 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 01, 2010, 08:52:47 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 01, 2010, 01:51:28 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 31, 2010, 10:07:58 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on May 31, 2010, 08:06:41 PM
There is no way of saying this nicely so as not to hurt the Sligo lads feelings but i think we are a far superior team. Lets face facts they are a Division 3 team (Not Division 2 untill next year) and there is a vast difference in quality between the 1st and the 3rd. I think Mayo will win by +7 possibly more.

I'd admire your confidence Peter. The Sligo boys would call it arrogance. If arrogance is misplaced confidence, then I'd agree with them. This is going alll the way to the wire. What will, for me, decide this game is if Sligo believe they win the game. They didn't against Galway and Kerry last year and got all rabbit in the headlights in the last few minutes. If they've developed from that, we're in for an upset. I just don't see Mayo playing well enough to win this on their own merits.

well said peter , i remeber the same defeatest crap befor the roscommon game last year absolutly no reason to fear sligo. their best player is well past his best and next to him is a mayo reject .Kelly is a handy corner forward but not the big burly type that cause mayo problems. I hope the mayo players have a littlebit more confidence in their abilities than most posters here. On one had slagging them  off for losing national finals and on the other urging caution against 3rd division teams.

As the game gets closer after 24 pages the Mayo arrogance & superiority complex over Sligo is beginning to raise its head-what took ye so long lads?

As regards the game and the likely lineups. Mayo will know the likely Sligo starting team and will have their team setup for each possibility. I think that the Sligo management need to change the approach or the lineup to throw Mayo off for the first few minutes - maybe start Sweeney and O'Hara in the full forward line early on to test Mayo's weakest line. However if we are getting little ball at midfield one of those 2 will have to move out to middle.

The Mayo team is harder to select but the injuries to Kilcoyne, Howley and Harte have made it slightly easier and absence of these 3 weakens their options. If B Moran & O Se start it will make it difficult for the Sligo full backs but they are able to cope with Harrisson picking up Mortimer

Mayo have often been accused of losing the run of themselves but you Sligo lads are taking it to a new Level i dont get where this over confidence is coming from. Mayo have beaten the likes Derry, Tyrone, Cork and Kerry away from home i think we should by all accounts beat Sligo and beat them well in theory. Its true i dont know alot about this Sligo team bar Costelloe, Kelly and O Hara but it would be a complete bottling act by Mayo if we lose, worrying for Sligo is we dont bottle it until we get to Croke Park. Mayo will be up for it we have a lot to prove.

Its hardly losing the run of oneself to disagree with you that Mayo will win by 7+ points

Mayo people are making a big deal of the difference between divisions and yes there is a considerble difference but on any given day a team from a lower division can beat another in the championship. I think Meath (a division 2 team) managed it last year in the quarter final.....who was that against ;)

In 1996 Mayo played in Division 3 and lost the AIF in a replay. Championship is very different from the League.

However one of the things that separate the two is tradition.

Sligo have a full team of IC players these days. They can beat anyone on their day, League or Championship. Their problem is conquering the prejudice of tradition and most of that problem is in their own heads. They should beat us more often than they do, just like they should have beaten Kerry last year.

If Mayo supporters are confident it is probably because of tradition as much as anything else, in the same way that Kerry supporters won't lose any sleep if they see Mayo in the parade in Croker in September.

Sligo need a lot to go right to win. They seem to have done little wrong recently though so it could easily happen for them.

I remember the last time in Sligo, but despite that, history suggests a Mayo win.

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: ludermor on May 29, 2010, 01:46:25 PM
Thats it? No backup whatever? Come on there must be a youtube link, a paper reference  or something!!! It cant be that you just made it up!
Surely not....

I hope foreverfullofshit isnt watching the Magner League final where Heasllip was left for dust by Lee Byrne , it was only over 15m, maybe if it was 30m he would have caught him  ;)
Lar noone has said big fellas cant be fast im just saying that Victor Costello was not quicker than Hickey.

couldn't find reference but why would i make it up????? Doesn't make any sense why i would pick Victor Costelllo (retired 4-5 years now) and Hickie (retired 2-3 years) out of the top of my head.. No need for the foreverfullofshit remarks... Just trying to make a valid point but a lot of ye are very ignorant to some common sense.
Look at Pearse O'neill for Cork. Brilliant when running from no.11 but i bet if he was moved to no.14 he wouldn't be up to much.

From what i gather Barry Moran seems to be nailed on for a spot ahead of a lot of others barring injury. i don't see many too upset by that and the possible exclusion of Aidan O'Shea from the full forward line.... The tide turns. Amazing. A lot of abuse for Barry a couple of weeks ago and now i see very very little... Fickle lads - ludermor, Abbeysider etc.......