Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

J White is the referee for this match, a donegal man im nearly sure which worries me. It rarely happens but hopefully he'll be fair too both sides.

Is Howley much of loss?

Well my Dad is a Donegal man he's always liked Sligo over Mayo maybe White will feel the same Sligonian  ;)

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 27, 2010, 02:57:11 PM

Victor Costello (former irish rugby player who played as a no.8) was faster than dennis hickie (winger) over 30m.

I  would love to see you back up that statement!!! Costello had a burst of pace but to beat one of irelands fastest wingers ever over 30m is stretchig it a wee bit! 

Quote from: ludermor on May 28, 2010, 07:54:50 PM

Victor Costello (former irish rugby player who played as a no.8) was faster than dennis hickie (winger) over 30m.

I  would love to see you back up that statement!!! Costello had a burst of pace but to beat one of irelands fastest wingers ever over 30m is stretchig it a wee bit!

I needed a laugh. Thanks.  :D :D :D :D :D :D

Unless  the 'm' in 30m stands for meals?

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2010, 08:46:12 PM

it's true.. obviously after that 30metres there was only one winner. Have any of ye any clue about running at all? Did ye see Jamie Heaslip against Munster. Speed merchant and he's 18st. It's measured over  a distance. Why do you think there is so many race distances?

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2010, 01:56:40 PM
QuoteFor example, saying he is too slow for 14 yet somehow fast enough for 11 and saying he has no natural ability.

It's about the initial burst you muppet. Have you ever ran. e.g. some players are better over longer distances. Barry Moran will beat Aidan o'shea over 20 metres but over a 100m it would be very close. Once O'Shea gets going at no.11 he won't be stopped.

He's not a natural footballer in the alan dillon/stephen o'neill mode. Natural footballers can bring others into the game with ease [no matter of age]
But he has the abilities to be a brilliant footballer but he wouldn't be considered as naturally gifted. It's not a bad thing saying that - there are very few naturally gifted footballers in Mayo. Ciaran mcdonald was, kevin o'neill to a slightly lesser degree. David Brady wasn't a natural footballer but he was a brilliant footballer!  He probably had more impact than those two because of his physical attributes and his sheer desire rather than his skillls.

Ye don't have to be so narrow-minded about replying to my comments re: Aidan O'shea at no.14. There is validity to my comments. I am keeping him in my team at no. 11.
Your point about speed off the mark vs speed over a set distance is a very valid one.
Mick O'Dwyer once said that whenever he took over a team, his first priority was to fix on the fullback. To do this, sez he, he would line the lot of them up along the endline and get them to race out to the 21, turn and come back. First over the endline again was the new fullback!
I'm not sure if he was 100% serious when he said this but Micko rarely, if ever, said anything just for fun.  I think he was referring to the need to have a no. 3 who could get out to meet a ball being pumped in from outfield as he went on to say that a FB didn't need fancy footwork and the first priority was to have him keep the ball away from the area in front of goal at all costs. Micko wasn't a fan of complicated inter passing in the full back line- jus get it out to midfield as fast and as direct as possible. Maybe Aidan O'Se would wind up at no. 3 on a team managed by Micko!
Maybe Victor Costello would as well.
I'm told Vic was a useful sprinter as well as an Olympic shot-putter but I doubt he would have the other attributes needed to be an IC Gaelic player. On the other hand, I think Aidan has quite a lot but I honestly can't see him as a top class centre forward now or ever.
He will sink or swim at full forward unless I'm very much mistaken. He is tall enough and strong enough to make life difficult for any full back and should be able to outpace most in a race for the ball. He is also extremely hard to dispossess and is one of the very few current players who is willing to aim for the net. No matter how badly he might be playing, I doubt that any FB would risk letting Aidan out of his sight for a second.
The same could be said for Conoreen and Kevin O'Neill was another who needed minding at all times. Ronny is the only other of the present set up that is composed enough to have a cut when given half a chance.
I think Aidan is not playing as well as is expected of him right now because he is being asked to take over the leadership of the attack when he is only finding his feet at IC level while he has to be distracted by the Australian connection.
It may well be flattering to be looked up to by some around him who are 10 years his senior but they don't seem able to play to his strengths and he has to attempt to forage on his own. It's a bit like leaving Conoreen isolated against Gormley and then slating him for his crap display as happened in the game vs Tyrone in 2008. Aidan won't pose the same goal threat if he is moved out to the 40 or indeed when pushed into a corner either. Because of that alone, I'd prefer to see him where he is and get others to play to his undoubted strengths; then I'm confident he'll be able to live up to the 'leader' tag.
BTW; I think GBX11 has put his points very well.

I think Barry Moran is as good a goal threat and prob better at bringing others into the game from 14. He hasn't played much for Mayo but he is a little wiser. Aidan is under pressure at 14 because we expect the same effect as Donaghy but he doesn't have the tools in the box to do that yet. Donaghy was about 25 (i think) when he was put in full forward. Aidan is trying to barge his way through lads for goals when he should be laying it off. He naturally like other young players is judging his performance primarily on what he adds to the scoreboard. It's human nature for a younger member of the panel to be like that. It ends up with them not always taking the right option. I'd say Donaghy doesnt give a flying f**k if he gets on the scoreboard.
For now Aidan is better suited to no.11 where we could do with his height, strength and superb long-range point taking. We seem to pinning our hopes on him getting an odd goal here and there. That isn't enough i'm afraid. We have the corner forwards this year to do some damage.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 29, 2010, 01:09:06 AM

it's true.. obviously after that 30metres there was only one winner. Have any of ye any clue about running at all? Did ye see Jamie Heaslip against Munster. Speed merchant and he's 18st. It's measured over  a distance. Why do you think there is so many race distances?

Stop your killing me.  :D :D :D :D :D Hickie hopped quicker than Victor sprinted.

Jeysus if only the Olympics had a 30m race. We'd have loads of Olympic golds. Victor 'Bolt' Costello, Jamie 'Abbot' Heaslip. Feck it the Claw was lightning over a foot.

Foreverhopeful, don't let them get to you; they're just a pack of jackasses, the whole effin' lot of them. A clutch of amadawns, as my granny used to say.

Here's the fella that will prove they are all talking through their tailpipes.

http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/10/16/jonahlomu_narrowweb__300x358,0.jpg

I bet the lot of them never heard of Jonah Lomu; that big lad could run even faster than me when last orders were being called.  :D

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 29, 2010, 01:09:06 AM

Ah will ya stop! Nobody is saying he wasnt quick but he was nowhere near as quick as Hickey over 30m!
If its so obviously true then you will have no problem backing it up! Denis Hickey was a school spint champion, Costello was a shot putt champion. He must be kicking himself that he chose the wrong sport for him to specialise in!
Not sure what the rest of your post is about to be honest.

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 29, 2010, 10:47:44 AM
Foreverhopeful, don't let them get to you; they're just a pack of jackasses, the whole effin' lot of them. A clutch of amadawns, as my granny used to say.

I bet the lot of them never heard of Jonah Lomu; that big lad could run even faster than me when last orders were being called.  :D
cheers

Thats it? No backup whatever? Come on there must be a youtube link, a paper reference  or something!!! It cant be that you just made it up!
Surely not....

I hope foreverfullofshit isnt watching the Magner League final where Heasllip was left for dust by Lee Byrne , it was only over 15m, maybe if it was 30m he would have caught him  ;)
Lar noone has said big fellas cant be fast im just saying that Victor Costello was not quicker than Hickey.

foreverfullofshit (what a nickname :D ) has everyone debating the pace of rugby players (because he cant back it up) as well as not letting go the point about AOS for god knows how many threads and pages even though he is not convincing anyone, and nobody even cares at this stage.

Any team news from either camp?

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 29, 2010, 10:47:44 AM

A bit harsh

GBXII

In relation to team news I would be a little worried about Keith Higgins

Quote from: GBXII on May 29, 2010, 09:25:00 PM
In relation to team news I would be a little worried about Keith Higgins

Very good point. Hard to see him being right. For those who haven't heard, Mayo hurler Adrian Freeman was killed in a car crash in Australia in the last 24 hours. He'd be roughly the same age as Keith and they would have lived a few miles apart in Ballyhaunis and Tooreen. Awful news about Adrian. He was a real gem of a hurler too. Next to Keith in importance for Mayo.

EDIT: Add Alan Freeman to that. His own clubmate. No relation but similar age, about three or so years apart. Would have hurled and played football together.