Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2010, 09:45:24 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 24, 2010, 12:09:00 AM
Lads, how is Ronaldson travelling this weather? He had a massive league by all accounts, and if I was to play the 2 big men FF line with a nippy corner forward, his pace would be excellent, in the same way Kilcoyne was last year.

Conor is a great man to bring off the bench, and can make an impact in a game, esp with tiring defenders, but he's not as quick as Kilcoyne/Ronaldson....

And our lads showed serious signs of tiredness in Croke park a few weeks ago. ::)
Aye and imagine how tired they are now with all the sleepless nights they've been having..... ;)

Quote from: ballinaman on May 24, 2010, 11:45:50 AM
Lads, how is Ronaldson travelling this weather? He had a massive league by all accounts, and if I was to play the 2 big men FF line with a nippy corner forward, his pace would be excellent, in the same way Kilcoyne was last year.

Conor is a great man to bring off the bench, and can make an impact in a game, esp with tiring defenders, but he's not as quick as Kilcoyne/Ronaldson....

And our lads showed serious signs of tiredness in Croke park a few weeks ago. ::)
Aye and imagine how tired they are now with all the sleepless nights they've been having..... ;)

The only man having sleepless nights is JOM, if ye lose he is gone, under serious pressure.....

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2010, 11:50:00 AM

The only man having sleepless nights is JOM, if ye lose he is gone, under serious pressure.....

Gone? Or under pressure? Make up your mind.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 24, 2010, 12:03:27 PM

Under serious pressure for Sligo game at present,,,, i put it at the end to highlight my conclusion, fairly simple stuff..

Who have lined up to replace him if the inevitable happens?

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2010, 12:23:10 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 24, 2010, 12:03:27 PM

Under serious pressure for Sligo game at present,,,, i put it at the end to highlight my conclusion, fairly simple stuff..

Well if it was simple, you wouldn't have structured the sentence the way you did. It is as clear as mud.

But he is under serious pressure. But if we lose, and there's a more than slight chance that we will, he won't be gone.

Why not? What has he to do to be axed?

I think you've misunderstood. I meant that at a time in the game (usually 55+ minutes gone) when defenders generally tire and fresh legs off the bench makes a big difference, especially if its an experienced player like C Mort.
Not a dig at Sligo defenders by any means, Jeez you're just waiting to get offended at any perceived slight

Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 24, 2010, 10:00:30 PM

I think you've misunderstood. I meant that at a time in the game (usually 55+ minutes gone) when defenders generally tire and fresh legs off the bench makes a big difference, especially if its an experienced player like C Mort.
Not a dig at Sligo defenders by any means, Jeez you're just waiting to get offended at any perceived slight

He knew well what you meant but Sligonian likes raise his hackles even when there is no slight intended. Fair play to him. Not sure this thread is suiting him so far. We have nt been disparaging about Sligo and we re not very bullish about our own chances.

As regards you post about tiring of course you re on the money. Especially if the weather is like last few days - and even if it is an evening game. The game does get stretched after 50 minutes. All managers should be budgeting for impact and a 20 man game. However it is 5-12 rather than corner men that you would expect to fade. Ronaldson and Conor Mort looked very good the last evening. Conor would be fancied to start of the 2 because of balance, not least with free kicking. So I see it as a choice between Conor and Varley for 13. I also think Harte can be used to great effect as a sub in this one. There is no doubt in my mind he is capable of being a big player for us if he gets a chance. Looked hungry as hell the other evening and has more edge and explosive dash that the other big men in this county don t have.

Quote from: moysider on May 24, 2010, 08:58:53 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 24, 2010, 08:39:09 PM

Lose the following game as well.
If that should happen, bang goes his deposit at the next election.

Fair enough never beat the deeler, i didnt exactly raise the hackles with my reply or do i get offended without good reason. Move along nothing to see here.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 24, 2010, 10:56:34 PM

hes definitely be gone if we lost to a division 3 team, but that's not going to happen. we need to prepare for the galway game and the best wy is to experiment and aybe give a few last chances to players like cafferkey BJP Id also like to see nally douglas and Freeman get some championship time and Sligo is the place to do that

Quote from: rosnarun on May 25, 2010, 02:11:44 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 24, 2010, 10:56:34 PM

hes definitely be gone if we lost to a division 3 team, but that's not going to happen. we need to prepare for the galway game and the best wy is to experiment and aybe give a few last chances to players like cafferkey BJP Id also like to see nally douglas and Freeman get some championship time and Sligo is the place to do that

You're right. Sligo are a Div 2 team.  ;)

From sligogaa.ie
Sligo v Mayo SLIGO TICKET ARRANGEMENTS

Saturday June 5th 5pm

This game is All Ticket

Ticket Prices:

Stand  €30

Terrace €20

Children €5 (Under 16) Terrace only

Students can get refund of €10 on Terrace Tickets with valid ID at designated stile.

OAPs can get refund of €10 on stand or Terrace Tickets with valid ID at designated stile.

Tickets will be available from the following Outlets from Friday 28th May: Clifford Electrical Carraroe, John Kent Sports Sligo, Toolan's Ballisodare, Lavin's Menswear Ballymote, Killorans Tubbercurry

Tickets will also be available from GAA Office Humbert St, Tubbercurry from 10am to 1pm Monday 30th to Thursday 3rd. Office Number 071 9120632

Tickets will be available through local Clubs from Friday 28th May. Check with your local Club for selling arrangements or see www.sligogaa.ie for more details