Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Quote from: ballinaman on May 10, 2010, 02:00:18 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 01:41:18 PM
Meath 0-20 Galway 1-11 in a challenge at the weekend. FYI.
What sort of a Galway team?  Half jet lagged and jarred from New York maybe?

No idea of the team but I'd say they were in little mood for football anyway. It took them days and a marathon trek to get back from NY.

Quote from: mannix on May 10, 2010, 02:11:34 PM
challenge games are not a reliable gauge of much, can you see b moran knocking in 1. 04 in the real game?

Not beyond the bounds of possibility, I would imagine.

Heard Leitrim beat Sligo in a challenge at the weekend too. I believe Sligo travel to Meath this weekend. Important games for trying things even if the results dont mean much.

Foreverhopeful

great to see barry moran get 1-4 from play.... It was against Donegal so whoever was on him can't have that bad... I reckon he will be a big player for Mayo this Summer at 14. Aidan O'Shea to 11. We need to get some height into that forward line. Cork's forwards were all 6-2 or 6-3 bar Kerrigan.

Billy Joe is an interesting player. He is an outstanding club player but never received the plaudits at IC level. I think he has been moved around too much. If left at one position (maybe 11, maybe 6) for a prolonged period then he could be an important player for us. When i was thinking of center backs for Mayo i kept thinking of a McGeeney-type player.. He seemed to direct everything from 6. His passes were always well directed. Billy Joe would be similar in this regard and it would mean that the likes of Andy Moran wouldn't have to be coming back so deep to act as playmakers.

Also interesting that Andy hasn't been mentioned for half back. I know we are top heavy there at the moment but he did recieve an all-star nomination for that position last year. He seems to be a player for facing the goal rather than with his back to it. Worth having a look at Andy at 7 with Kevin Mcloughlin at 10 in challenges... If Andy plays 10 against Sligo he will be inviting Johnny Davey forward ( not a good idea). Whereas at 7 he will be going forward making Alan Costello defend (which he isn't too good at)...

Just give me the job and i'll deliver Sam!!

Quote from: moysider on May 10, 2010, 03:21:54 PM
challenge games are not a reliable gauge of much, can you see b moran knocking in 1. 04 in the real game?

Heard Leitrim beat Sligo in a challenge at the weekend too. I believe Sligo travel to Meath this weekend. Important games for trying things even if the results dont mean much.
Where did you hear that? I heard we won by 2pts from a unreliacble source.

I stopped taking heed of challenge results when a full strength sligo beat a full strength donegal and then 2 weeks later we got beat out the gate at carrick. But still nice to hear how things are going at the same time.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 10, 2010, 04:00:13 PM
great to see barry moran get 1-4 from play.... It was against Donegal so whoever was on him can't have that bad... I reckon he will be a big player for Mayo this Summer at 14. Aidan O'Shea to 11. We need to get some height into that forward line. Cork's forwards were all 6-2 or 6-3 bar Kerrigan.

Billy Joe is an interesting player. He is an outstanding club player but never received the plaudits at IC level. I think he has been moved around too much. If left at one position (maybe 11, maybe 6) for a prolonged period then he could be an important player for us. When i was thinking of center backs for Mayo i kept thinking of a McGeeney-type player.. He seemed to direct everything from 6. His passes were always well directed. Billy Joe would be similar in this regard and it would mean that the likes of Andy Moran wouldn't have to be coming back so deep to act as playmakers.

Also interesting that Andy hasn't been mentioned for half back. I know we are top heavy there at the moment but he did recieve an all-star nomination for that position last year. He seems to be a player for facing the goal rather than with his back to it. Worth having a look at Andy at 7 with Kevin Mcloughlin at 10 in challenges... If Andy plays 10 against Sligo he will be inviting Johnny Davey forward ( not a good idea). Whereas at 7 he will be going forward making Alan Costello defend (which he isn't too good at)...

I hope your JOM, i really do.

June 5th will be enough of a challenge game for any and all interested. Challenge games mean nothing, not a thing. I read Trevor Morts piece yesterday on the independent, he sounds like he would walk away if he had something else to occupy him. I really hope all goes well for him this year win or lose.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 04:10:40 PM

I stopped taking heed of challenge results when a full strength sligo beat a full strength donegal and then 2 weeks later we got beat out the gate at carrick. But still nice to hear how things are going at the same time.

Heard it from what should be a reliable source. Somebody close to a member of the backroom team.  Not that these results mean anything.

mannix I saw that interview as well yesterday.

I wiish Trevor and his colleagues which just keep their mouths shut and their heads down.

Too many times we have read of rehabilitation and hunger blah blah blah in newspapers from Mayo players. We're not interested - do your talking on the pitch.

We saw more of the same before the League Final.

As for Andy Moran at wing back. It worked last year bar he was of limited effect in the Meath game. It is probably the only position that he has played well in the championship for Mayo.

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 04:14:12 PM

What's wrong with my suggestions? If Kevin Mcloughlin played at 10 against Cork he would got 2-3 points from play. Andy could do his playmaking from half-back rather than us being a man down in attack because he was coming back to try and get the ball. We need someone back there who can play top quality passes into the forwards. Billy Joe is also an example of someone who can do this. But i doubt we will see him there. For me no. 6 and no.11 are the two problem areas in our team. We havent had a good 11 since Ciaran McDonald. Alan  Dillon is not a no. 11. We are taken away 3-4 points from play by placing him here rather than at no.12 - his best position. Aidan O'Shea/ Tom Parsons need to be tried here.

Quote from: Barney on May 10, 2010, 06:38:17 PM
mannix I saw that interview as well yesterday.

I wiish Trevor and his colleagues which just keep their mouths shut and their heads down.

Too many times we have read of rehabilitation and hunger blah blah blah in newspapers from Mayo players. We're not interested - do your talking on the pitch.

We saw more of the same before the League Final.

As for Andy Moran at wing back. It worked last year bar he was of limited effect in the Meath game. It is probably the only position that he has played well in the championship for Mayo.

Agree Barney. No more f**king interviews for the love of God. I dont want to see an interview with Conor, Trevor or anybody else associated with this team for the rest of the bloody year. That yesterday reeked of martyrdom or maybe I m just paranoid. Maybe he s just being honest but I d prefer if he didn't show how vulnerable he and probably the rest of the team are. If they are that hurt it should be converted into defiance and hard graft. It certainly doesn't look good for the future. I doubt there is much belief left. This team will probably crumble at the next test again. And interviews like this will convince every manager and player in the country that this Mayo team is soft - mentally and physically - and if the opposition want it badly enough Mayo will let them have it. We are set up as a target for every slugger in the country will fancy us. Looks like Lar is right. Some of these guys must be mortally damaged at this level. The rebuilding will be going on a while yet.

Quote from: moysider on May 10, 2010, 05:14:13 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 04:10:40 PM

Heard it from what should be a reliable source. Somebody close to a member of the backroom team.  Not that these results mean anything.
Was talking to one of the Sligo players tonight, we won by 2pts but played bad, As you said challenge games are pretty meaningless, players are making sure they dont get injured etc...
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 10, 2010, 07:22:57 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 04:14:12 PM

What's wrong with my suggestions? If Kevin Mcloughlin played at 10 against Cork he would got 2-3 points from play. Andy could do his playmaking from half-back rather than us being a man down in attack because he was coming back to try and get the ball. We need someone back there who can play top quality passes into the forwards. Billy Joe is also an example of someone who can do this. But i doubt we will see him there. For me no. 6 and no.11 are the two problem areas in our team. We havent had a good 11 since Ciaran McDonald. Alan  Dillon is not a no. 11. We are taken away 3-4 points from play by placing him here rather than at no.12 - his best position. Aidan O'Shea/ Tom Parsons need to be tried here.
In fairness im not going to point out anything at this stage tactics wise.

Four times I went to reply to that but there is so much I disagreed with I just didnt know where to start.

Foreverhopeful

go on have a go abbeysider, you know nothing about football if you disagree with so much...Suppose you'd leave aidan O'shea at 14? Doesnt bring any other players into the game. Plays much better at no.11

I never said Billy Joe for def, i never said Andy Moran for 7 for def. But it amazes me how he can receive an All-Star nomination in a position and then be totally disregarded for that position then on. Everyone will agree that it was andy's best championship season. He always does well in league and fades but not last year. So how is that suggestion stupid??? Some clowns in Mayo if they don't see that.

I'm being deadly serious here:
On the day of the league final, Kieran Shannon (?) had a Trevor Mortimer interview in the Tribune. It was 100% identical in its message to what was in the Indo this week.  I don't mean 99% now; it was the full nine yards.
Some of the details were obviously different; they had to be, but the overall tone in both cases were the same.
Conoreen was mentioned in the same light; bit of a character but has returned full of fight for the cause. Trev didn't quite know what his little bro was up to and didn't keep tabs on him but the said little bugger was a really serious individual all the same etc. etc.
Pressure from the fans (us??) was unreal; elated after a win; disappointed after a loss- no in-between at all. Trev was hard at work while the interview was going on. He kept getting up and going out of the office to check lorries in and out while talking to Shannon. Different pic also but the only major change was the T-shirt.
Anyway, I haven't the heart to go on. The gist of the piece was identical to the latest makeover in the Indo. 
Now, I don't disagree at all with what was put across but I am concerned at what I see as a PR job to cast the team and Johnno in a favourable light. I accept that Trev and his colleagues are doing their bleddy best and all have jobs to think or studies to attend to but I'm certain he and the others are buying into the idea that the pressure is getting them down when push turns to shove. It's preying on his mind and the same goes for the rest of the crew.
I'm also I'm damn sure the interviews were not spur of the moment affairs and I don't think Trev was speaking for himself alone. I think I can spot a PR job when I see it and I suspect that both were arranged with a definite purpose in mind and Mort was only the mouthpiece.
That's feckin' serious; no doubt about it.
Like moysider says, every manager and player in the country know that this Mayo team is soft - mentally and physically - and if the opposition want it badly enough Mayo will let them have it.
I had no problem at all if the trip to Portugal had gone ahead; the poor devils must be feeling shattered right now and I figured that a spell away from it all would help them to sort out their arses from their elbows and try and get their act together. It goes beyond the bounds of coincidence that two seasoned reporters, from two papers, would conduct identical interviews and try and get the same message across. Those interviews were pre-planned and Trevor Mortimer has some assistance in rehearsing what he was going to say. Johnno didn't know in advance what his team captain was going to come out with, did he? Nah, it's just my bad mind, thinking overtime.
I agree that the time for sympathetic interviews is over and the only way to break the hoodoo or whatever is for the team to stuff history down the jacks.
My real fear is that the younger lads may have become infected with the Mayo, God help us syndrome and will also start to go belly up at the first sign of pressure.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 11, 2010, 11:04:09 AM
go on have a go abbeysider, you know nothing about football if you disagree with so much...
So how is that suggestion stupid??? Some clowns in Mayo if they don't see that.

As a matter of interest, what age are you?