Sligeach v Maigh Eo. 5ú Meitheamh 2010

Started by Farrandeelin, April 29, 2010, 09:09:50 PM

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 11, 2010, 11:35:49 AM
I'm being deadly serious here:
On the day of the league final, Kieran Shannon (?) had a Trevor Mortimer interview in the Tribune. It was 100% identical in its message to what was in the Indo this week.  I don't mean 99% now; it was the full nine yards.
Some of the details were obviously different; they had to be, but the overall tone in both cases were the same.
Conoreen was mentioned in the same light; bit of a character but has returned full of fight for the cause. Trev didn't quite know what his little bro was up to and didn't keep tabs on him but the said little bugger was a really serious individual all the same etc. etc.
Pressure from the fans (us??) was unreal; elated after a win; disappointed after a loss- no in-between at all. Trev was hard at work while the interview was going on. He kept getting up and going out of the office to check lorries in and out while talking to Shannon. Different pic also but the only major change was the T-shirt.
Anyway, I haven't the heart to go on. The gist of the piece was identical to the latest makeover in the Indo. 
Now, I don't disagree at all with what was put across but I am concerned at what I see as a PR job to cast the team and Johnno in a favourable light. I accept that Trev and his colleagues are doing their bleddy best and all have jobs to think or studies to attend to but I'm certain he and the others are buying into the idea that the pressure is getting them down when push turns to shove. It's preying on his mind and the same goes for the rest of the crew.
I'm also I'm damn sure the interviews were not spur of the moment affairs and I don't think Trev was speaking for himself alone. I think I can spot a PR job when I see it and I suspect that both were arranged with a definite purpose in mind and Mort was only the mouthpiece.
That's feckin' serious; no doubt about it.
Like moysider says, every manager and player in the country know that this Mayo team is soft - mentally and physically - and if the opposition want it badly enough Mayo will let them have it.
I had no problem at all if the trip to Portugal had gone ahead; the poor devils must be feeling shattered right now and I figured that a spell away from it all would help them to sort out their arses from their elbows and try and get their act together. It goes beyond the bounds of coincidence that two seasoned reporters, from two papers, would conduct identical interviews and try and get the same message across. Those interviews were pre-planned and Trevor Mortimer has some assistance in rehearsing what he was going to say. Johnno didn't know in advance what his team captain was going to come out with, did he? Nah, it's just my bad mind, thinking overtime.
I agree that the time for sympathetic interviews is over and the only way to break the hoodoo or whatever is for the team to stuff history down the jacks.
My real fear is that the younger lads may have become infected with the Mayo, God help us syndrome and will also start to go belly up at the first sign of pressure.

Sligonian wins another over to his way of thinking!

Lar I guess he gave the interview at the Championship launch?

And of course there was a near similar story with Keith Duggan

Foreverhopeful

Quote from: AbbeySider on May 11, 2010, 11:38:13 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 11, 2010, 11:04:09 AM
go on have a go abbeysider, you know nothing about football if you disagree with so much...
So how is that suggestion stupid??? Some clowns in Mayo if they don't see that.

As a matter of interest, what age are you?
what difference does that make... If you can't see any reason behind them moves (which i haven't said should be definite) than i would have to wonder about your football intellect. You haven't suggested anything yet you are putting me down. Extremely disrepectful..

Look back on my posts. I was the one harping on about getting Seamie O'Shea in the team last year. I was constantly derided for it. Some of the posters on this site are so backward and it is clear they never played football.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 11, 2010, 12:52:00 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 11, 2010, 11:38:13 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 11, 2010, 11:04:09 AM
go on have a go abbeysider, you know nothing about football if you disagree with so much...
So how is that suggestion stupid??? Some clowns in Mayo if they don't see that.

As a matter of interest, what age are you?
what difference does that make... If you can't see any reason behind them moves (which i haven't said should be definite) than i would have to wonder about your football intellect. You haven't suggested anything yet you are putting me down. Extremely disrepectful..

Look back on my posts. I was the one harping on about getting Seamie O'Shea in the team last year. I was constantly derided for it. Some of the posters on this site are so backward and it is clear they never played football.

Hang on a second, take a few deep breaths and pull your horns in.
WTF is the story with all the aggression?

I simply said that I disagreed with a lot of what you said and you have since then gone mental.
Your the one that mentioned any posts being stupid, calling people backward, making up stories and assumptions about playing careers and on about football intellect.

I simply said that I disagreed with you. Why are you so offended?
Did I call you stupid or undermine your character? Can someone not disagree with your opinion?

I struggled to begin to reply to your post in question as I dont want to bash players or nail them to the wall. ( I have done enough of that in the past )

Foreverhopeful

to say there was so many things wrong with my original post that you couldnt even begin to disagree...??? Suggest something or comment ....not that reply you gave.
There was no player bashing involved. You CAN comment on the mayo team with honest opinions without getting involved with bashing players.

Foreverhopeful is right about Andy Moran you know. I think he might have began to fade against Cork already!  :o I also agree with him as regards Dillon at no 11, but Trevor Mortimer isn't a no 11 either. Players who wear the no 11 shirt need to be creative.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 11, 2010, 05:34:22 PM
to say there was so many things wrong with my original post that you couldnt even begin to disagree...??? Suggest something or comment ....not that reply you gave.
There was no player bashing involved. You CAN comment on the mayo team with honest opinions without getting involved with bashing players.

Thanks for telling me when I can comment.  ;) But you shouldnt be as sensitive when someone disagrees.
Here it goes...

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 10, 2010, 04:00:13 PM
great to see barry moran get 1-4 from play.... It was against Donegal so whoever was on him can't have that bad... I reckon he will be a big player for Mayo this Summer at 14.
I hope you right, its encouraging but I wouldnt read too much into challange games as mannix said. Also Barry Moran has been involved in the senior setup since his first year U21 and always promises big things but IMO he has never bared the fruits at Senior level. But I hope your right. 

Aidan O'Shea to 11. We need to get some height into that forward line. Cork's forwards were all 6-2 or 6-3 bar Kerrigan.
Ok, AOS to 11...
Why would you move Seamus from CF? Surely the best football Mayo have played is with SOS at 11 and McGarity and Parsons at midfeild, giving us three options for kickouts? And also letting Dillon play 12.
If you move AOS to 11, where are you putting SOS? To midfield? at the expense of Parsons or McGarity?
Also, moving AOS out; we are losing our main target man in the FF line, would you just change the whole attacking formation?
Are you suggesting having a small FF line or Baz Moran the only big man in the FF line?
Having Barry Moran and AOS in the FF line alleviates the pressure off each other and causes panic to FB lines under hight balls or any type of ball. If anything having two big men, that are good in the air and can get out in front means that the ball in doesnt have to be on a silver plate as they can win their 50-50 and even 60-40 balls.
As well as the above, has AOS the stamina as an IC Center Forward? Seriously?
The FF line suits him as he gets long breaks and plays in bursts.

Billy Joe is an interesting player.
Not so sure about that

He is an outstanding club player
I disagree, he is average enough IMO

but never received the plaudits at IC level
because he is average enough IMO

I think he has been moved around too much.
probably because he is not good enough in any position

If left at one position (maybe 11, maybe 6) for a prolonged period then he could be an important player for us.
Or it could be a disaster. IMO he is the type of utility player that will fill a gap, but I dont know if he knows himself where his best position is. The best I have seen him play was against Kerry in 2004 at CF but that was 6 years ago and I havnt seen him play that well since. I dont know how you would just trust him at CB just like that. Bit of a bold move since he is totally unproven as a defender. IMO he is more of an attacking player, not bad at winning breaks but not really having the defensive qualities for CB.

When i was thinking of center backs for Mayo i kept thinking of a McGeeney-type player.. He seemed to direct everything from 6. His passes were always well directed. Billy Joe would be similar in this regard and it would mean that the likes of Andy Moran wouldn't have to be coming back so deep to act as playmakers.
Im not sure if your referring to Andy Morans role in the first half of the NFL final where he was playing deep, but his role that day was to get men behind the ball early so there is space to attack into and space in front of our FF line. I dont think his role was ever to drop deep solely to act as a play maker.

Also interesting that Andy hasn't been mentioned for half back. I know we are top heavy there at the moment but he did recieve an all-star nomination for that position last year. He seems to be a player for facing the goal rather than with his back to it. Worth having a look at Andy at 7 with Kevin Mcloughlin at 10 in challenges... If Andy plays 10 against Sligo he will be inviting Johnny Davey forward ( not a good idea). Whereas at 7 he will be going forward making Alan Costello defend (which he isn't too good at)...
I wouldnt change things when they are not necessarily broken. Kevin McGloughlin seems to be playing brilliant stuff from wing back so why would you change that? Im suggesting that Kevin McGloughlin is a better wing back than Andy Moran. And that Andy Moran is a better wing forward than Kevin McGloughlin.

Mayos problems are at Centre Back, possibly Full Back and perhaps in one of the corners. Vaughan and McGloughlin have nailed the wing back positions down. I wouldnt be in favour of changing and trying things this late in the season.

Just give me the job and i'll deliver Sam!!
:-X  ;)

Foreverhopeful

i would never put trev at 11. No way. If i was looking at panel i would say that Aidan O'Shea would be best suited. Was very good there for minors. Billy Joe ticks a lot of the boxes for the position but i don't know if he is good enough. Does it at club but not sure about county. Maybe??? If given a long run but sure he wont get that. Don't think Harte is a playmaker either. Ronaldson would be good if he was over 6ft.

Foreverhopeful

QuoteThe best I have seen him play was against Kerry in 2004 at CF but that was 6 years ago and I havnt seen him play that well since

Billy Joe didnt start in 04... He played wing-forward in 06. 

QuoteHe is an outstanding club player

I disagree, he is average enough IMO
He has carried that belmullet team. He quite simply has been brilliant for them.

Why when we have quality corner forwards: Conor Mort, Killer, Varley, Ronaldson (and freeman, douglas) would be play the two boys (B Moran and A O'Shea) in the ff line. We need some height in the half-forward line.

QuoteWhy would you move Seamus from CF? Surely the best football Mayo have played is with SOS at 11 and McGarity and Parsons at midfeild, giving us three options for kickouts? And also letting Dillon play 12.
If you move AOS to 11, where are you putting SOS? To midfield? at the expense of Parsons or McGarity?
I would play Seamie O'Shea with Ronan. Parsons needs a a little reminder and the bench will do that for him. He has to toughen up.

QuoteI wouldnt change things when they are not necessarily broken. Kevin McGloughlin seems to be playing brilliant stuff from wing back so why would you change that? Im suggesting that Kevin McGloughlin is a better wing back than Andy Moran. And that Andy Moran is a better wing forward than Kevin McGloughlin.
Do you not agree with Andy Moran at 7 after him receiving an All-Star nomination there last year in his only good championship campaign for Mayo. Kevin Mcloughlin was outstanding in the league final as an attacking source primarily. I def could have seen him get 3-4 points if attacking from no.10 that day as he was on a better side for shooting with his left foot. He can also pass the ball well. I'm not saying he should be first choice there as there is strong competition there already but i do think he is better back there ( he was a leader for us in this position).

Cheers for replying AbbeySider. Obvious you have totally different views than me but sure thats for discussion!!!

I wouldn't play Parsons at all. And to be totally honest, McGarrity is only good when things are going well for the team, if the chips are down I don't think McGarrity will put his neck on the line enough to change the outcome of the game. Who's the best midfield pairing, I suppose Foreverhopeful would be right when picking McGarrity and O'Shea only for the fact that Parsons is not shaping up at all to what he should be.

I m not sure where I would be on the Andy Moran stuff. Overall I thought he had a good league and was showing real leadership too. As for the Cork match I dunno. We were overwhelmed in the possession stakes and the whole half forward line must take a hammering for not winning more dirty breaking ball than they did. Andy and the rest were on the back foot most of the time while in other league games they were on top around the middle. The thing is though can he do better? And have we better? I honestly think McLoughlin is a much better 7 than Andy. He s better defensively and his awareness is better and passing is at least as good. 

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2010, 08:59:20 PM
I wouldn't play Parsons at all. And to be totally honest, McGarrity is only good when things are going well for the team, if the chips are down I don't think McGarrity will put his neck on the line enough to change the outcome of the game. Who's the best midfield pairing, I suppose Foreverhopeful would be right when picking McGarrity and O'Shea only for the fact that Parsons is not shaping up at all to what he should be.
Agree totally. McGarrity has the capability to pull things out and stand up but just doesn't do it enough. Not too sure about Parsons to be honest.
I really hope things go well for Barry Moran this year and he stays injury free, really sound fella and has been fierce unlucky with injuries.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2010, 08:59:20 PM
Unfortunately, I think you are right on both counts!
Tom has had ample opportunity throughout the league to make his mark and I don't think he has succeeded in doing so. Without doubt, he is talented and should mature into a fine player indeed but he'd need to get his thinking right. Besides, there is stiff competition for midfield places and O'Mahony has plenty of options here; getting a pair that gels is another matter.
I see McGarrity and Harte played there against Donegal but Seamus was missing due to exams.  I think they are a good combination; the stylist and the grafter but, right now, I'd leaver Sheamie where he has played throughout the league. Probably, McGarrity will partner him – he should be fine as long as it's not Croke park. After that, I'd be a bit worried.
I'd agree with Moysider about leaving Kevin at no. 7; it's time for Johnno to start fixing players in positions and, like O'Shea at midfield, he is probably thinking of the long term here.
I agree with ballinaman re Barry Moran. He's been plagued with injuries but he is a skilful payer and could well figure in Johnno's plans for the future. Up to midfield, I'd say the said Johnno has few enough doubts about who is going to start where- there could be a bit of re-jigging and at most one personnel replacement. I haven't a clue about what he will eventually come up with, but I'd wager that he has more or less fixed on his preferred combination by now. That's fair enough but he's got a lot of head scratching to do when he starts with the forwards.

Quotegreat to see barry moran get 1-4 from play.... It was against Donegal so whoever was on him can't have that bad... I reckon he will be a big player for Mayo this Summer at 14. Aidan O'Shea to 11. We need to get some height into that forward line. Cork's forwards were all 6-2 or 6-3 bar Kerrigan.

I can't for the life of me see why you would play AOS at center forward. I think he did well at full forward in the league final, albeit too slow to use the ball, but he was winning his fair share. He is too slow in thought and action for center forward and would be unable to track an attacking center back. While he did play well at minor level as a center forward, his size and strength gave him a huge advantage and he would have marked some lads who'll never see a senior county jersey, in other words there is a marked step up to senior. I'd also have my doubts about Barry Moran at FF but he may do ok with more training and games under his belt but I certainly wouldn't start him against Sligo. Mayo had a good league and were beaten by a very strong Cork team so there is more right than wrong with the Mayo team. I wouldn't dismiss the league due to one bad result and line out in your first championship game of the year with a new center back, midfield pairing, center forward and full forward which is what you seem to be suggesting.

Foreverhopeful

okay so would you leave howley, parsons, dillon in their positions?
Aidan O'shea would have more room to get some speed up at no.11. He'd be hard stopped at full flight. At full forward you need a sharp burst and Aidan doesnt have that.He also doesn't have that craft for 14  to bring other players into the game.
Parsons has to go, he is not up to when the going gets tough. Bench him or else try him at 11 where he'd be out of the hard-hitting stuff.
Alan Dillon is not an 11, FFS. Can you not see that we are losing his input of scores from play? He takes too much out of it and can't take on his man in the middle (extra traffic/too small). At no.12 he can take on his man and he gets 2-4 points from play. He is one of the top no. 12's in the game but he wouldn't figure in anyone's list as an 11.

I see the point about Mcloughlin being a better 7 than Moran. However i think Moran gives more to Mayo as a 7 than as a 10 and i do think he deserves to be on the team. He is more confident, gets good ball into the forwards and is a leader back there. It's not a case of him versus Mcloughlin, more of where can we get the best out particular players. I think Mcloughlin has more guile and skill to play as a 10. I think if he was their he could be our playmaker.

We all saw that Howley wasn't a Center back in the league. That was obvious. Just a pity JOM left him there until he was roasted. Not fair on him cos he is a good footballer. I think we will see him at 4 for the Summer with Keith at 2 (hope Chris Barrett is accommodated because he is a talented footballer) It also takes the pressure off Ger Caf having them two there. Half back line is anyone's guess. Choose from Gardiner, Vaughan, Mcloughlin, Barrett, Nally, Howley, A Moran, T Mortimer, BJ Padden, L O'Malley (his natural place!), K Conroy.