International Rules 2010/2011

Started by Estimator, March 31, 2010, 02:14:23 PM

well the kids that were at croker on Sat night seemed to enjoy the spectacle.
Another glorious loss for old Ireland. At least we are now bringing that message to the modern day kids by having loads of them to these matches.

So what if we dont win. Its not like we are world beaters in any other sports !!
rugby we are currently competitive but wont ever win anything more (in heineken cup we are cheating as we have provinces with multiple clubs in them while the rest of europe just have clubs - though scotland and wales are now following suit).
in soccer we are dreadful.

the IR is prob a junket. if it gives an extra holiday to the players - great. A non violent game like this is still better to wath than the hyped up brum derby birmingham 0 aston villa 0.

The recognition the Irish players get by getting onto the panel is a great acolade.
why kill it off.
As long as sponsorship covers it then fine.
Its off season entertainment.
Its not like its Gaelic football or hurling.
There are a lot of aspects that teams and players can learn from watching the aussies.
Even if FGM's conspiricy theory is correct - who cares !

chillax lads. enjoy these things !

Went to this on Sat after getting great tickets. Was very poor apart from the last quarter, there was more atmosphere in the breaks between the quarters until the Irish lads started to close the gap. I wouldn't be in either the love it or leave it camps but I'd be pretty indifferent towards it. Give me properly marketed inter-provincials any day.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 09:56:45 AM
Another glorious loss for old Ireland. At least we are now bringing that message to the modern day kids by having loads of them to these matches.

So what if we dont win. Its not like we are world beaters in any other sports !!
rugby we are currently competitive but wont ever win anything more (in heineken cup we are cheating as we have provinces with multiple clubs in them while the rest of europe just have clubs - though scotland and wales are now following suit).

the IR is prob a junket. if it gives an extra holiday to the players - great. A non violent game like this is still better to wath than the hyped up brum derby birmingham 0 aston villa 0.

The recognition the Irish players get by getting onto the panel is a great acolade.
why kill it off.
There are a lot of aspects that teams and players can learn from watching the aussies.

agree with all that LB, I wish a few posters would stop pedalling that shite that the interpros properly marketed.......
FFS it's been tried and patently failed.

Quote from: Bogball XV on November 01, 2010, 02:29:48 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 09:56:45 AM

why kill it off.

agree with all that LB, I wish a few posters would stop pedalling that shite that the interpros properly marketed.......
FFS it's been tried and patently failed.

Yeah but HQ went arseways about marketing it. After being held abroad for a few years they then tried to throw it into Croke Park with a couple of weeks notice. Not nearly enough time to market it properly and as a consequence it didn't register with many/enough people and died a death. The IR is still living off the history and tradition of the scraps back in Jacko's days. Like the IR the GAA need to set aside 2 successive weekends every year, market it properly and build it slowly. Have the finals in the lower capacity county grounds, fiver in with the kids free. Get the best players playing, move the venue's around (but keep it central to the participating provinces, i.e. Munster - Connacht in Ennis) and the interest will increase year on year. As the crowds get bigger move towards the Gaelic Grounds of this world. In 5 - 10 years there will be enough interest/demand to have the finals in Croker, it all depends on whether the will is there to see through a long term strategy.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 01, 2010, 02:51:09 PMlike this is still better to wath than the hyped up brum derby birmingham 0 aston villa 0.

Yeah but HQ went arseways about marketing it. After being held abroad for a few years they then tried to throw it into Croke Park with a couple of weeks notice. Not nearly enough time to market it properly and as a consequence it didn't register with many/enough people and died a death. The IR is still living off the history and tradition of the scraps back in Jacko's days. Like the IR the GAA need to set aside 2 successive weekends every year, market it properly and build it slowly. Have the finals in the lower capacity county grounds, fiver in with the kids free. Get the best players playing, move the venue's around (but keep it central to the participating provinces, i.e. Munster - Connacht in Ennis) and the interest will increase year on year. As the crowds get bigger move towards the Gaelic Grounds of this world. In 5 - 10 years there will be enough interest/demand to have the finals in Croker, it all depends on whether the will is there to see through a long term strategy.
You can do whatever you want in terms of free tickets etc, but in order to make it work, you have to get people to care about who wins and the time when that was the case has long passed.

There's no reason why 40,000 kids couldn't be brought along to the Railway Cup too.
They didn't drive themselves to Croke park.
That said I think the railway cup is a dead duck.
This time of year should be for the clubs.

The Biff

How many of you "whingers" actually went to one of the Interprovincial matches?  How many can remember any really good competitive Interpro games?  I did, and I cant remember any good games.  They seemed less competitive than a Challenge match between two neighbouring clubs.

St Patrick's Day used to be the standard date for the Railway Cup in Croke Park.  As the crowd dwindled, it was moved to provincial grounds.  I remember Tullamore was the first one used, deemed to be the most central.  Then it travelled around.  The crowds dropped almost every year.  Then they tried the "Weekend Tournament" format ... no improvement.

I believe the players just did not feel any affinity to the Interpro teams.  They were almost a step-down from Inter-county level, instead of the other way around.  When the Club Championships began to get more coverage (and that was not as a deliberate alternative to the Interpro's) very soon it seemed clear that there was nothing to "market" for the Railway Cup.  Think back to how little outcry there was when it was finally cancelled, especially from the players.  It's easy to say ... do this and that.  It was done, and it failed.
-------------------------------------
So ... if the "whingers" could stop flogging that dead horse .... I was in Croker last Saturday and I enjoyed the occasion.  The better team won, fair and simple.  Overall the game was a good spectacle under the floodlights.  It's great to be able to cheer "Ireland Ireland" in Croke Park.  So we lost!  It's not the first time.  Visiting teams have always done well in this code.  But it was not totally one-sided.  It was not a disgrace.  The players put in a lot of effort and should be recognised for that.  I look forward to next year in the hope that the Aussies can schedule the games for a time that means I wont be in work when they are broadcast here.
Never argue with a fool; He'll bring you down to his level and then beat you on experience.

Quote from: nrico2006 on November 01, 2010, 09:21:58 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on October 31, 2010, 05:25:43 PM
i think we had too many players who didn't want to know, Bernard brogan simply didn't want to tackle, Sean cavanagh hung around waiting to be taken off and only showed an interest when he saw that tohill was leaving him on no matter how bad he was and ireland started to make a come back. i knew Benny coulter would make a difference and he did, but it didn't make sense to leave brogan on and withdraw Stevie to midfield he simply competed with our own lads for the ball. (and did well)
i don't know whether this was big anto's best team selection or whether these are the only players who made themselves available when asked. i can think of dozens of players who can kick pass and kick the ball over the bar why weren't they wearing the Irish jersey? just think of the sentiment and passion before an Irish rugby match! wheres ours? the Irish management failed miserably to light a fire under our team.                                   
the practice of bringing players back from Australia eg kenelley or Walsh or using failed Aussie rules players eg Marty Clarke is at best questionable. when players sign for Aussie clubs they become professional and IMO rule themselves out we have enough Gaelic football players here to compete. also why do guys who fail at football in oz get first shout at representing ireland doesn't make sense.. Marty Clarke was anonymous over the two games.
   the timing of the tests is of distinct advantage to the Aussies with so many of our players club tied many players can't play IR. best example crossmaglen rangers- Arron Kernan's the only one i can think of to play for ireland. we should have won the series easy and made the aussies look good through our wastefulness.
  Its time to either shite or leave the pot! either we are going to play this game or pack it in? there are too many dissenting voices the matter needs to be raised and put to a vote at congress once a decision has been reached either way these guys need to shut up or start shouting 'ireland.' the games are in oz next year and we need to start selecting our best team, all players need to have a chance right throughout gaeldom from div 4 clubs and b teams the whole way up. the aussies have a cup with cormac mcanallens name on it and it belongs in ireland. chucky and all that 8)     

PS. the next test played in ireland if there is one needs to be in Belfast

I have always wondered why the hell players are picked just because they have some experience of playing Aussie Rules, there is alot of better Gaelic footballers out there than the like of Colm Begley, Brendan Murphy or the like of Setanta who also played before.  There is also players on the team who are nowhere near the best in that position, the like of Sean McDermott being an example.  Anyone who thinks that Marty Clarke or  Leighton Glynn would be more effective than the Gooch or Paddy or Eoin Bradley needs their head looked at too, we should be picking the best footballers with a good blend of speed and physicality in the team too.

To paraphrase the old one about the county manager and club player, when we are playing Oz at Gaelic football we will give them a shout.

Quote from: Bogball XV on November 01, 2010, 02:56:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 01, 2010, 02:51:09 PMlike this is still better to wath than the hyped up brum derby birmingham 0 aston villa 0.

You can do whatever you want in terms of free tickets etc, but in order to make it work, you have to get people to care about who wins and the time when that was the case has long passed.

I agree that people won't really feel much attachment to their provinces initially (unless you bus in the rugger buggers) but it shouldn't be marketed as such. They should sell it as the best players in Ireland up against each other, the cream pitting their wits against each other, Michael Murphy against Graham Canty, Bernard Brogan against Gormley, Michael Meehan against Marc O Se, John Galvin against Paddy Keenan, etc. Once it has gained some respectability, the crowds will start to filter back and in time I believe they will start to get behind the provinces again. The key is scheduling and committing to a long term strategy.

fearglasmor

Lads the perfect solution is staring ye in the face, I'm surprised no one has suggested..........a Provincial Rules Tournament.

zoyler

Was at both games and thankfully Saturday was a big improvement on the first night.  WE lost fair and square but our last quarter efforts restored the players honour and redemmed the series.  Instead of bemoaning our loss and talking sh*** about resurrecting the Railway Cups ( Just as AR fans talk sh*** about reviving Stae of Origin Aussie Rules) we should be learning from our defeat and seeing what we can take from the Aussies outstanding play. 
We can learn from their speed of thought, quick hands, support play, ability to play on from trhe mark etc.
I trust Antony Tohill and his assistants are in the process of writing a report to Croke Park on the subject and also on how selection and preperation of future Irish teams can be improved.  I saw and heard Colm O'Rourkes comments on RTE on the Bigfooty website today and agree with every word.
Also the series is self financing and offers a great chance for clubs to introduce young people to the thrills of Croke Park in a way that can't be done during the Championship.  Long may this continue.

Whatever ye're opinions of the International Rules .... will ye please give over about reviving the Inter Pros.
They're dead and gone because nobody gave 2 flyin fcuks about them.
Maybe sad.... but true.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: sheamy on October 30, 2010, 09:22:16 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 30, 2010, 09:13:13 PM
A simple rule change is required to give the game back its soul. And re-instate Gaelic FOOTBALL not Handball. The last 2 weeks will be good to give everyone a good kick up the arse and kickstart a revival of the traditional values of the game.
what's the rule change you'd make?

irish players are taught to kick the ball so that it bounces in front of their team mate and is as easy to control as possible. in aussie rules the players focus in on catching the ball and nothing else (like his balance or what to do when he lands) as he is protected by the mark. This is why irish players suffer in this game.

The definition of a tackle defines a game and everything flows from there. That's where you need to focus on imo.

Must say I think this summarises perfectly what I think. No matter what they say about the roundball being an advantage to the Irish the mark and tackle are what define the game. This is playing to the strength of the Aussies. Even the rule that only 4 handpasses are allowed - although laudable- favours the Aussies as there are a number of times when the Irish players have to kick a fifty fifty pass which the Ausssie will usually win. Alot of people say that the series showed how poor Irish kicking is. To me this misses the point. When an Irish player has the ball he is trying to pass it to the chest (not to bounch in front as would be the norm) while waiting for a thumping tackle. This leads to many snapped passes. Even when kicking from a mark he has to break from his practice routine to walk backwards. This has to have an effect as Cavanagh, Brogan, McDonnell etc. all missed kicks they would normally easily get.
If we want to see if Irish players can kick the ball just look at Crossmaglen in the first half yesterday. A game where they kick passed the ball as much as possible- and well!

Redhand Santa

Quote from: Leo on October 31, 2010, 09:31:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 31, 2010, 09:12:03 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on October 31, 2010, 08:38:28 PM
looked like a near full house on the TV, anyone get the attendance figure?

61,824. The  Hill only had a few hundred on it.

Our only international fixture in two years, massively promoted on TV radio and in the press, vast numbers of freebie and special price tickets - and still 20,000 short of a full house!

I think people may be interpreting the statistics the wrong way - the GAA public is obviously and seriously disinterested in the bastardised game. You cant blame the players who get certain "international" kudos out of it - and the chance of an Aussie holiday.

Serious Note:  Our GAA officials are constantly on their FAS-style junkets so they are the turkeys who won,t vote for Christmass. - they will keep this rediculous series alive.

I'm with Mickey Harte on this one but I watched the Croke Park game on TG4 out of curiosity. Not only was I alarmed at the paucity of skill in our foot passing (but Maybe not all that surprised) but the brainless way people like Canty kept carrying the ball and getting caught suggested poor preparation and lack of understanding of the compromise rules (such as they are).

Somebody said earlier it is a huge waste of money .... with Coca Cola gone I'd say that's bang on. For once RTE are ahead of the jingoistic GAA-land lalas (for whom any thing emantating from Croke Park is a world-beater!) and they let TG4 take it to the "masses". Reason? - lack of audience.

It will go ahead because of the highlighted "serious point" above.

Austrailllia played 2 other internationals on Saturday (v England rugby league and New Zealand rugby union). There was a bigger crowd in Croke park than the other 2 combined. Given the negative publicity it was a very decent crowd. Some people might just have to accept its here  to stay and move on with their lives.

Quote from: zoyler on November 01, 2010, 05:56:20 PM
Was at both games and thankfully Saturday was a big improvement on the first night.  WE lost fair and square but our last quarter efforts restored the players honour and redemmed the series.  Instead of bemoaning our loss and talking sh*** about resurrecting the Railway Cups ( Just as AR fans talk sh*** about reviving Stae of Origin Aussie Rules) we should be learning from our defeat and seeing what we can take from the Aussies outstanding play. 
We can learn from their speed of thought, quick hands, support play, ability to play on from trhe mark etc.
I trust Antony Tohill and his assistants are in the process of writing a report to Croke Park on the subject and also on how selection and preperation of future Irish teams can be improved.  I saw and heard Colm O'Rourkes comments on RTE on the Bigfooty website today and agree with every word.
Also the series is self financing and offers a great chance for clubs to introduce young people to the thrills of Croke Park in a way that can't be done during the Championship.  Long may this continue.

Any chance Adam Goodes and Co can run kicking clinics for our players