International Rules 2010/2011

Started by Estimator, March 31, 2010, 02:14:23 PM

SS don't ya know you shouldn't reply to any Kerry posts otherwise you just look like a bitter nordie.  ::)

When we see a post from them we should just have a wee giggle to ourselves about how their looking for a bite and leave them to it.

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 19, 2010, 09:13:22 AM
SS don't ya know you shouldn't reply to any Kerry posts otherwise you just look like a bitter nordie.  ::)

When we see a post from them we should just have a wee giggle to ourselves about how their looking for a bite and leave them to it.

The next post from me will be about how Tohill probably would prefer more Tyrone men anyway.

HeaveHo

Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2010, 11:11:15 PM
How can you be a former aboriginal players?

Michael Jackson might have been able to shed some light on this. He used to be African American before finally expiring. His nose was from parts unknown.

Taken from hoganstand.com.

Beating Aussies would be a career highlight for McDonnell
19 October 2010

Steven McDonnell says captaining Ireland to victory over Australia in the International Rules series would rank alongside his sole All-Ireland success with Armagh in 2002.

"An All-Ireland is very special and it's hard to rank one achievement above another," the Killeavy man said.

"That's because everything you win as a footballer is special and something you look back upon when you retire. But, certainly, if we get to win the series it would be up there with the top awards or anything I've ever won."

McDonnell revealed that Ireland have been practicing their soccer skills in a bid to move the ball on quickly and not get caught up in the tackle, which is Australia's main strength.

"Soccer skills in this game are very important, especially for forwards," said the Killeavy man. "When you know you're going to get wrapped up in a tackle and the ball bounces in front of you that's the time to play it on.

"If you are tackled at that stage, and the ball is gone, you've got yourself a free. So we've been working on that and we'll also be using our natural skills to keep the ball in our possession and moving."

So now we're going to use soccer to beat them.  ::)
Could this 'sport' be anymore of a joke?
To see a fella like Stevie equating this nonsense with winning an All-Ireland medal is embarrassing.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 18, 2010, 09:42:11 PM
QuoteCanty was injured for much of the year, Shields could be playing in thte county senior  final
the day after the first test, they want to play for their country.

But for Kerry players club commitments is just an excuse, their county final is on today 6 days before the test and how many county players are playing? And its the same excuse they used to get out of playing in the charity match last year, which cost GOAL thousands of euros.
Just shows the contempt they have for the rest of the country. This Tohill business is just another excuse.
Its a disgrace a team of Kerrys ability dont want to help their country win.

f**k me you should still be celebrating, god knows ye usually have f**k all to celebrate in football in Cork and yet the bitterness seeps through, As you say yourself Canty was injured most of the year, and yet he still gets an All Star, anything to do with the Cork CCCC ape Cooney having the deciding vote as I've heard from a few circles  ;) now thats the disgrace, but if he wants to go play footie with the Aussie let him. Shields will be even a bigger langer if he misses the county final for Finbarrs against Nemo because he wants to play for Ireland the following day, this from the lad who was supposed to be homesick in Australia but more to the point was not able for it out there. Did himself and Cardigan get the teeth fixed yet, too much boxing last winter out in Rylane is to blame for that :D

FYI Gooch and Donaghy played in the senior final and Declan O'Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan played in the Junior final last Sunday. As for the rest of the Kerry players if they dont want to play so be it.

You don't know what you're talking about.
I followed his progress while he was there and he was well able for it.
They were sorry to see him go.

Quote from: Jinxy on October 19, 2010, 10:27:09 AM

19 October 2010

Steven McDonnell says captaining Ireland to victory over Australia in the International Rules series would rank alongside his sole All-Ireland success with Armagh in 2002.

"An All-Ireland is very special and it's hard to rank one achievement above another," the Killeavy man said.

"That's because everything you win as a footballer is special and something you look back upon when you retire. But, certainly, if we get to win the series it would be up there with the top awards or anything I've ever won."

McDonnell revealed that Ireland have been practicing their soccer skills in a bid to move the ball on quickly and not get caught up in the tackle, which is Australia's main strength.

"Soccer skills in this game are very important, especially for forwards," said the Killeavy man. "When you know you're going to get wrapped up in a tackle and the ball bounces in front of you that's the time to play it on.

"If you are tackled at that stage, and the ball is gone, you've got yourself a free. So we've been working on that and we'll also be using our natural skills to keep the ball in our possession and moving."

To see a fella like Stevie equating this nonsense with winning an All-Ireland medal is embarrassing.

What's embarrassing is begrudgers trying to take away from the lad when's he's representing his country at something he obviously enjoys doing.

I'd be more worried at the heads up he's just given the ozzies. 

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 19, 2010, 10:48:49 AM

19 October 2010

What's embarrassing is begrudgers trying to take away from the lad when's he's representing his country at something he obviously enjoys doing.

Exactly.
Whilst I wouldn't be a huge fan of the compromise rules it is obviously a huge thrill for Stevie to captain his country and I really don't see how anybody on here should be criticising him for his comments. 

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 19, 2010, 10:48:49 AM

19 October 2010

What heads up?
They can't tackle the Irish lads if the ball is on the ground and they haven't the skills to try the same tactic.
If I saw a fella running along with the ball at his feet during a gaelic football game I'd be praying for someone to open him up with a shoulder.

Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2010, 11:11:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on October 18, 2010, 06:40:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2010, 02:53:39 PM
How can you be a former aboriginal?

Not sure - but you can be a former aboriginal players

How can you be a former aboriginal players?

Having schizophrenia is an absolute prerequisite

He's told them that part of their tactics to avoid the tackle is to keep the ball on the ground which will win them a free if tackled. Now that the Ozzies know this it's not hard not take this into account during the game. So they'll be watching for this to prevent giving away frees.

Only a minor point mind you as I can't see it affecting the game.

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 19, 2010, 11:47:35 AM
He's told them that part of their tactics to avoid the tackle is to keep the ball on the ground which will win them a free if tackled. Now that the Ozzies know this it's not hard not take this into account during the game. So they'll be watching for this to prevent giving away frees.

It'll hardly be of much surprise to the Australians. 'Soccering' the ball has been a staple tactic of Irish teams for years.

It looks ridiculous.
Like they're afraid to pick it up.

Quote from: AFS on October 19, 2010, 12:51:13 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on October 19, 2010, 11:47:35 AM

It'll hardly be of much surprise to the Australians. 'Soccering' the ball has been a staple tactic of Irish teams for years.

True. I wasn't really having a go in regards to him saying it more that I would have had more issue with him saying that than him saying this was was up there with winning an AI. 

B agus B just sorted near Croker for next Sat, will be struggling to make the start of the match with playing up in the black north on Sat afternoon. Come onte fcuk Ireland, lets do this!!