International Rules 2010/2011

Started by Estimator, March 31, 2010, 02:14:23 PM

Excellent piece in the Gaelic Life from Brolly on the Rules gfames in the 80's & 90's....If anyone has access to it maybe you would post it...a great yarn about McGilligan jumping with Stynes and smacking him on the back of the head every time they went for a ball in midfield. "It was like hitting a barn door Brolly"...he said...

Overthebar!

how many players are playing for their clubs the next day? it looks like kevin mckernan of down will be playing if selected the day before burren play Coleraine in Ulster...edited my post there 5 sams,meant to say ulster. think the international rules game is on sat 30th of oct and ulster game is the naxt day

Burren played today in the county final...though the Coleraine game in the 1st round of Ulster could be on the next day...

Banana Man

I see Pat Spillane was giving off yesterday that the gams are being shown o TG4 - what difference does that make, if you want to watch it then you will watch it no matter the channl

The vast majority of people won't understand the commentary

Will the Big Dippa' be having to speak as Gaelige then too?

Quote from: thejuice on October 18, 2010, 01:23:41 PM

He won't be over here this year - he made some choice remarks about a former aboriginal aussie rules player..

How can you be a former aboriginal?

The vast majority of people won't understand the commentary

People are always giving out about TG4. If you were at a game you wouldn't have a commentary, you'd just have to watch. But since commentary is mostly player names and a very restricted range of expressions the vast majority of people will understand the vast majority of the commentary. The analysis is a bit trickier, but the interviews with the Ozzies will probably be in their dialect of English.

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: heffo on October 18, 2010, 02:47:01 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 18, 2010, 01:23:41 PM

He won't be over here this year - he made some choice remarks about a former aboriginal aussie rules player..

He made a comment about Gavin Wanganeen being "a good player for an abo" and it was made out to be this massive racist comment....quite funny cause they are actually friends and Dipper is actually massively involved inhelping the Aboriginal community with the Auskick programme.

Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2010, 02:53:39 PM

Not sure - but you can be a former aboriginal players

QuoteCanty was injured for much of the year, Shields could be playing in thte county senior  final
the day after the first test, they want to play for their country.

But for Kerry players club commitments is just an excuse, their county final is on today 6 days before the test and how many county players are playing? And its the same excuse they used to get out of playing in the charity match last year, which cost GOAL thousands of euros.
Just shows the contempt they have for the rest of the country. This Tohill business is just another excuse.
Its a disgrace a team of Kerrys ability dont want to help their country win.

f**k me you should still be celebrating, god knows ye usually have f**k all to celebrate in football in Cork and yet the bitterness seeps through, As you say yourself Canty was injured most of the year, and yet he still gets an All Star, anything to do with the Cork CCCC ape Cooney having the deciding vote as I've heard from a few circles  ;) now thats the disgrace, but if he wants to go play footie with the Aussie let him. Shields will be even a bigger langer if he misses the county final for Finbarrs against Nemo because he wants to play for Ireland the following day, this from the lad who was supposed to be homesick in Australia but more to the point was not able for it out there. Did himself and Cardigan get the teeth fixed yet, too much boxing last winter out in Rylane is to blame for that :D

FYI Gooch and Donaghy played in the senior final and Declan O'Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan played in the Junior final last Sunday. As for the rest of the Kerry players if they dont want to play so be it.

Quote from: heffo on October 18, 2010, 06:40:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 18, 2010, 02:53:39 PM

Not sure - but you can be a former aboriginal players

How can you be a former aboriginal players?

Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 18, 2010, 09:42:11 PM
QuoteCanty was injured for much of the year, Shields could be playing in thte county senior  final
the day after the first test, they want to play for their country.

But for Kerry players club commitments is just an excuse, their county final is on today 6 days before the test and how many county players are playing? And its the same excuse they used to get out of playing in the charity match last year, which cost GOAL thousands of euros.
Just shows the contempt they have for the rest of the country. This Tohill business is just another excuse.
Its a disgrace a team of Kerrys ability dont want to help their country win.

f**k me you should still be celebrating, god knows ye usually have f**k all to celebrate in football in Cork and yet the bitterness seeps through, As you say yourself Canty was injured most of the year, and yet he still gets an All Star, anything to do with the Cork CCCC ape Cooney having the deciding vote as I've heard from a few circles  ;) now thats the disgrace, but if he wants to go play footie with the Aussie let him. Shields will be even a bigger langer if he misses the county final for Finbarrs against Nemo because he wants to play for Ireland the following day, this from the lad who was supposed to be homesick in Australia but more to the point was not able for it out there. Did himself and Cardigan get the teeth fixed yet, too much boxing last winter out in Rylane is to blame for that :D

FYI Gooch and Donaghy played in the senior final and Declan O'Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan played in the Junior final last Sunday. As for the rest of the Kerry players if they dont want to play so be it.

In 1915 the great Pat "Aeroplane" O'Shea forsook an inter-county career when his country came calling. A pity that the current crop, whose names I forget, have no concept of such duty.

The Bomber Liston, who has more All-Ireland senior medals than any of the refuseniks, seems to be able to answer the call to arms.

Shame on the little men from Kerry.