International Rules 2010/2011

Started by Estimator, March 31, 2010, 02:14:23 PM

Quote from: stephenite on October 07, 2010, 10:19:21 PM
I'd rather win a North Mayo Winter league medal with my club - it doesn't take away from my ability to enjoy watching this game when it is played.

Still baffled, the old begrudgery excuse is fairly lame

don't be belittling the winter league Stephenite  ;) have one in me back pocket while playing for keenagh for all i know ros could have been on the same team

Redhand Santa

Quote from: Clarin Pearl on October 08, 2010, 08:48:35 AM
The attitude to sport in Oz is totally different around the tackle. Look at what AFL is up against......league....hard tackling. ireland haven't recovered from the Ozzies learning how to kick the round ball. if they don't find another upper hand, the series is finished.

Who won the last series?

Agree with you Hardy, but when it's all we have to showcase our best on a pseudo-international stage I'll row in behind.

I like Bud's idea. Let's promote our own unbastardised, non-hybrid sports to as wide an audience as possible, giving a much needed hand to those overseas who are tirelessly pushing the dream.

Why do the GAA feel that the only international dimension they can give to our great games is on the back of a mongrel?

Ah here, yis are just winding now - Mongrel sport it is now, and this from someone who'll row in behind it?

Again, if the players want to play in it and the fans want to watch, the hurlers on the ditch won't be listened to.

Cause we're a country of fecking begrudgers.

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 08, 2010, 12:31:32 PM

correct, winge'rs and whiners

I'm looking forward to it, always enjoy it. Maybe keep this thread for series buildup, squad selections etc and maybe Indiana, Jinxy, Hardy etc could have a hate-fest in the 'We Hate International Rules' thread (ye'd have to set it up)

Quote from: stephenite on October 08, 2010, 12:29:50 PM
Ah here, yis are just winding now - Mongrel sport it is now, and this from someone who'll row in behind it?

Yep, I'll row in behind it, and I'll be surrounded by Aussies (in Oz, for the first game). But sure if that's all I have to cheer for I'll do it and wish our lads well, but will still be wistful for the dream of unadulterated gaelic games across continents.

So feck you  begrudgers  :D

Quote from: J OGorman on October 08, 2010, 01:00:06 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on October 08, 2010, 12:31:32 PM

correct, winge'rs and whiners

I'm looking forward to it, always enjoy it. Maybe keep this thread for series buildup, squad selections etc and maybe Indiana, Jinxy, Hardy etc could have a hate-fest in the 'We Hate International Rules' thread (ye'd have to set it up)

Hate is a bit strong.
I just think it's a daft-looking, manufactured game.
I went to it last time it was here and was surrounded by people that clapped and cheered when we got a 'behind'.

GAA_Punter

Gary Ablett, the number one name in Australian Rules football at present, is a surprise absentee from manager, Mick Malthouse's 22-man squad named today.

Ablett recently made a big money move from Geelong to the new Gold Coast franchise. Considering the relative inexperience of the touring party, Ablett told Malthouse he needed time to sort out his new living arrangements on the Gold Coast

Sixteen of the Australian squad will make their test debuts in the series which takes place in Limerick and Dublin at the end of this month. Only six of the team have previous experience of playing in the competition – Matthew Boyd, Dustin Fletcher, Adam Goodes, Brad Green, Leigh Montagna and Kade Simpson.

Carlton and Sydney have the biggest representation with 3 players from each side making the squad. The Western Bulldogs, Fremantle, Melbourne, St Kilda, Collingwood and Geelong have two representatives each while Brisbane, Adelaide, Essendon and Richmond have one each.

Dustin Fletcher returns...
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/10/08/ablett-in-shock-omission-from-australian-international-rules-squad/

I have started taping the old games from TG4, so far I have only got the 1st test from 2003.  What year did Geezer get heavily involved with one of the aussies?  In the test I have recorded, there is a time where he punched a man right in the stomach - was a cracker of a shot. 

Looking forward to these, primarily for the reason that it'll be the last commentary from Micháel O M. I hope the games do his commentary justice.

Again, if the players want to play in it and the fans want to watch, the hurlers on the ditch won't be listened to.

Westlife want to "sing" their shite; fans in their millions want to listen to it. It's still junk.

In your opinion. Course there's a lot out there that would disagree with that.

Quote from: Hardy on October 08, 2010, 05:20:30 PM

Westlife want to "sing" their shite; fans in their millions want to listen to it. It's still junk.
So true