Ray Darcy - "I will leave the country if Enda Kenny becomes Taoiseach".

Started by muppet, February 13, 2010, 10:42:37 PM

Quote from: muppet on February 17, 2010, 11:27:13 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 17, 2010, 01:46:40 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 11:54:39 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 11:44:47 PM

Thirdly, none of them shouted or even murmoured stop, thus how do we know they'd have been ridiculed? 

Who was Bertie asking to commit suicide? It was those that even thought to say stop. Anyone who was vocal about it were dismissed as they didn't know anything about economics.
so why weren't bruton, rabbite etc, people who might have been respected shouting stop?  No, they were happy enough to talk about expanded public services, increased public sector salaries, lowering tax rates and maybe a wee bit of a tinkering with stamp duty should be enough to get the wagon back on track.  In the 9 months prior to the 07 election, barely a property sold, it was blamed on McDowell by everyone bar the PD's, all presumed that it was a temporary blip.  The people however had a fair idea what was coming down the tracks, remember what voters (including some on here, bless) - "better the devil we know", "FF a safe pair of hands :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D" etc, why didn't FG/Lab take them on, stop going along with FF's rosy pictures and say, no, we're fcuked and we don't want the same idiots who got us into this mess to try and navigate a way back out of it.

Kenny public was against Benchmarking and has always called for public sector reform.
from memory he definitely promised 2000 more guards (blueshirts are always tough on crime you see) and to increase the old age pension to €300, i'm sure there were plenty more of promises that would now be rowed back on.
Don't remember the benchmarking and sure who wouldn't have been calling for public sector reform (bar ahern possibly, who always felt he was still the shop steward at the mater). 

Eoghan Mag

If D'Arcy wants to leave then I'd let him. In fact I even found the perfect place for him. Its in Canada and its called D'Arcy (check your online maps) and there is even a radio station in the area.  ;D

Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 17, 2010, 11:43:00 PM
If D'Arcy wants to leave then I'd let him. In fact I even found the perfect place for him. Its in Canada and its called D'Arcy (check your online maps) and there is even a radio station in the area.  ;D

Or he might feel at home here.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Yis are very harsh on Darcy.

And for the record if you actually listen to his show he's as much anti-FF as he is FG.

Kenny's satisfaction rating is 26%!!! It has gone down 3%, while FF has gone up to 34% For the leader of a party in oppoisition to the current FF govt, that is unforgiveable.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 12:18:01 PM

And for the record if you actually listen to his show he's as much anti-FF as he is FG.

Kenny's satisfaction rating is 26%!!! It has gone down 3%, while FF has gone up to 34% For the leader of a party in oppoisition to the current FF govt, that is unforgiveable.

I don't think so. It typical of FFers to rally around their leader in time of crisis. FG aren't facing a crisis and so feel comfortable enough to be honest re their leader.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 12:29:20 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 12:18:01 PM

I don't think so. It typical of FFers to rally around their leader in time of crisis. FG aren't facing a crisis and so feel comfortable enough to be honest re their leader.

Regardless of Cowen's ratings, it reflects public perception. FG are up a few points, yet the public show no confidence in Kenny. Opposition leader's approval generally peaks when in opposition, particularly with an unpopular govt.

If Kenny can't win approval when FF are doing their best to f*ck things up themselves, what does that say about his prospects of leading the country that needs a fresh start?

FF's there for the taking.
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 01:59:11 PM
Regardless of Cowen's ratings, it reflects public perception. FG are up a few points, yet the public show no confidence in Kenny. Opposition leader's approval generally peaks when in opposition, particularly with an unpopular govt.

If Kenny can't win approval when FF are doing their best to f*ck things up themselves, what does that say about his prospects of leading the country that needs a fresh start?

I thought it was the rating from within the party. As in they determine what party you will vote for and then ask you do you rate the leader of that party?

How else could you explain this?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0213/1233867934953.html

The wild swings in party support observed over recent polls are consistent with a hunger for answers and new ideas. Performance ratings for party leaders do not suggest this hunger is being satisfied. Enda Kenny's rating continues to drift, down to 30 per cent, while John Gormley (29 per cent) and Gerry Adams (32 per cent) are at or near their lowest ever performance ratings

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 02:06:09 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 01:59:11 PM

I thought it was the rating from within the party. As in they determine what party you will vote for and then ask you do you rate the leader of that party?

How else could you explain this?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0213/1233867934953.html

The wild swings in party support observed over recent polls are consistent with a hunger for answers and new ideas. Performance ratings for party leaders do not suggest this hunger is being satisfied. Enda Kenny's rating continues to drift, down to 30 per cent, while John Gormley (29 per cent) and Gerry Adams (32 per cent) are at or near their lowest ever performance ratings

I'm talking about the Millward Brown/IMS poll poll published in the indo 
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fine-gael-surge-but-kenny-slips-further-2061826.html

The poll reflects the opinion of the general public, (just over 1,000 people). I see what you mean, but I think the poll is intended to reflect the general public satisfaction of party leaders.

Kenny's 61% dissatisfaction is pretty terrible though, even from 1,000 people, it was taken nationwide and reflects badly who should be the next Taoiseach.
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 02:28:26 PM
Kenny's 61% dissatisfaction is pretty terrible though, even from 1,000 people, it was taken nationwide and reflects badly who should be the next Taoiseach.

In that article there is a total satisfaction rate of 164%.

61% dissatisfaction is spin.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 02:28:26 PM

In that article there is a total satisfaction rate of 164%.

61% dissatisfaction is spin.

Explain?
H. L. Mencken

Satisfaction rates-
Enda - 26%
Cowen - 22%
Gilmore - 54%
Gormley - 25%
Adams - 37%
Total - 164%

Spin is when you take a percentage as fact and protray the remaining percentage as the opposite of the first percentage.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 03:48:41 PM
Satisfaction rates-
Enda - 26%
Cowen - 22%
Gilmore - 54%
Gormley - 25%
Adams - 37%
Total - 164%

Spin is when you take a percentage as fact and protray the remaining percentage as the opposite of the first percentage.

Why are you adding the percentages. Approval ratings reflect the individual popularity of each leader. It does not provide a break down of the vote. That's a separate question, which showed FG on the rise.

From my understanding the Q would be for each leader:
Are you
A) Satisfied
B) Dissatisfied
C) Neither

To quote the indo story
"His satisfaction rating of 26pc is down 3pc on a year ago. But his dissatisfaction rating has reached a record high of 61pc -- up another 4pc."

There is 13% which reflects neither. The 61% wasn't plucked out of thin air. It reflects the opinion of over 1,000 people nationally. While i'd not always take polls as gospel, they do suggest trends.

I fully understand the concept of spin, it was your 164% that puzzled.
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 04:15:56 PM
I get it now. Apologies.

But you have a point. Instead of meaningless satisfaction rating ask the simple question:

Which of the following party leaders would you prefer as Taoiseach?:

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: muppet on February 18, 2010, 06:31:47 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 04:15:56 PM
I get it now. Apologies.

But you have a point. Instead of meaningless satisfaction rating ask the simple question:

Which of the following party leaders would you prefer as Taoiseach?:

Well yeah... but it's not like it's a Presidential campaign. You don't vote for the Taoiseach per se, you vote for the party. I would argue asking which leader you'd prefer as Taoiseach wouldn't give an accurate representation as who will win the election.

The satisfaction poll I suppose is meaningless in the sense that if or when FG get into power, Kenny will still be Taoiseach should he remain party leader. But it may give FG party food for thought, whether they could increase their overall lead if they had a better leader. Though its slim pickings.

These polls are overly complex in some respects. They try and present as much data as possible so they'll get hired again presumably.
H. L. Mencken