Paul Galvin

Started by sammymaguire, January 28, 2010, 10:24:15 AM

EagleLord

First of all it appears the young lad has genuinely incurred a fairly serious injury. Hardly a laughing matter if it was one of your own.

And I though capital punishment was banned a quarter of a century or more ago? I love the "it did us no harm " brigade.... first cousins of the "youth of today disgrace compared to our day" crew.

I abhor media intrusion in to the personal lives of amateur sportmen. But in fairness Paul Galvin is at the centre of a fairly serious case of at best what appears to be unintentional if reckless assualt on a student in his care. On top of that he's a high profile player  with a background in high profile violent incidents playing for the most high profile gaelic football team of all time. How in God's name could the media ignore it?

And not many of his supporters here complained when the same media awarded him a player of the year honour last season which was hugely infleunced by his "new image" etc. Personally I thiought and argued at the time that although he's a very effective footballer who had a fine season he received the award for sentimental/romantic reasons (similar to Tadgh's allstar). Canty should have been player of the year. He can hardly argue that the same media now are unfairly targeting him?  Much too much matyrdom talk on here on this topic methinks...

It's hardly a "fairly serious injury" matt!

I think the story is a teacher split a child's (legally) head. Not on. Totally newsworthy.

ardal

Quote from: ross matt on January 29, 2010, 08:51:48 PM
First of all it appears the young lad has genuinely incurred a fairly serious injury. Hardly a laughing matter if it was one of your own.

And I though capital punishment was banned a quarter of a century or more ago? I love the "it did us no harm " brigade.... first cousins of the "youth of today disgrace compared to our day" crew.

I abhor media intrusion in to the personal lives of amateur sportmen. But in fairness Paul Galvin is at the centre of a fairly serious case of at best what appears to be unintentional if reckless assualt on a student in his care. On top of that he's a high profile player  with a background in high profile violent incidents playing for the most high profile gaelic football team of all time. How in God's name could the media ignore it?

And not many of his supporters here complained when the same media awarded him a player of the year honour last season which was hugely infleunced by his "new image" etc. Personally I thiought and argued at the time that although he's a very effective footballer who had a fine season he received the award for sentimental/romantic reasons (similar to Tadgh's allstar). Canty should have been player of the year. He can hardly argue that the same media now are unfairly targeting him?  Much too much matyrdom talk on here on this topic methinks...

Nice one Matt, especially when fairly serious injury is compared to "The student sustained a hairline cut on his forehead for which he was treated by a local doctor.

Now what the hell is a hairline cut? Is it:
A) a cut near the hairline
B) a tiny little cut along the lines of a hairline fraction
or
C) a scratch?

I'm presumming the answer is "C", so how the feck do you only manage do this with a wooden duster? Was it in a fact a cloth duster, and thus Galvin has destroyed the laws of physics by throwing the cloth some 10,000 yrds to hit the lad? The 16 year old ( or young adult, the likes of who are eternally innocent) was bending down to put his books in his bag or something, apparently, it's some bloody shot, bounces of the wall, spins around and scrathes him, incredible.

2 of my lads were fighting in class recently, I lifted one of them and then physically held them apart until I settled the situation. If I was a county player, what would the papers have said?

Mountain, mole hill.

ardal

Well done RM

I asked what a "hairline cut" was, and gave several options. Perhaps you could endeavour to give me a definition of said injury; in my opinion it sounds like a scratch.

The family have apparently ran to their solicitor, why not the garda?

Yeah Galvin should be hung, drawn and quartered, because he's a sports star and therefore guilty until you and and the indo decide other wise.

Oopps yeah, sorry, the teenager involved is obviously innocent because, well, he just is, that's why.

Matt, people run to the doctors for f**k all you know, it doesnt mean it's serious. Sounds to me like his family seen legal case and were quick on the ball to get the doctor involved. 

Ardal, it doesnt matter what the teenager involved was at, the days where it's acceptable for teachers to throw dusters around are long gone, and rightly so.

Yeah pints true. Could be right but my point was it's still an obvious one for the media to report on regardless of the rights or wrongs of the incident.

Ardal time for ya to look at a career change I'd say judging from the tone of your text. You should actually try the media yourself for employment. You've an obvious talent for blowing what people say out of proportion.

I despair of the world we live in.

I split a boy's lip a year ago. Wasn't proud but he took it and didn't complain.

Saffron Sam threw a lad out of the second floor window. He's now head of a dept. In some places, Hardy, the ignorance is still reverred.

Quote from: ONeill on January 30, 2010, 12:08:48 AM
I split a boy's lip a year ago. Wasn't proud but he took it and didn't complain.

Saffron Sam threw a lad out of the second floor window. He's now head of a dept. In some places, Hardy, the ignorance is still reverred.

I was desperate to be consoled by all of that, and I was for a while.

At least it's good that the lad who was defenesrated went on to get a good job.

To paraphrase Jim Cole, 'it's all fun and games until someone loses an eye'...

if the guy can't deal with kids without firing dusters around a classroom, he is in the wrong job

020304 Tir Eoghain

If it was just another teacher, other than Paul Galvin, would it still have been as newsworthy?
Tír Éoghain '03, '05, '08.

Yes it would... he threw a duster at him and split his head... loads of blood, doctor... newsworthyimo. 'Teachers splits student with duster'   yip... that would make the news