Car Insurance!!!!!

Started by balladmaker, January 21, 2010, 07:18:31 PM

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 11, 2024, 09:00:34 PM
Quote from: Armagh Girl on May 30, 2024, 09:22:20 PMHusband's Car Insurance was due a few weeks ago, We have both our cars plus our House Insurance with Direct Line for a good few years, which were always competitive.  The quote came in for almost £600 -up £300 since last year (yet we have never had any claims ever).  They looked at quote and took it down to around £570, so i went online and got it with Budget Insurance (underwriters Liverpool Victoria) for £290. House Insurance has just been quoted and up almost £100 since last year but still the best at that price. 
It is no wonder that Insurance Policy's are up given the many crashes etc that are happening with huge insurance claims arising from them, along with fraudulent claims being made.  This along with accidents being caused by non - insured drivers, that we are all being penalised for :(    Yet with all this the Insurance Companies profits have never been greater!

What online sites  do you recommend?

I've never done  the online quote thing .  I'd rather speak to someone on the  phone .

Do you or anyone  have any  good/bad experiences with  the online  quotes/policy?
Me too, but sure half the time they're filling in the exact same shite you're filling in online and you get the same quote.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 11, 2024, 09:48:19 PM
Quote from: Armagh Girl on May 30, 2024, 09:22:20 PMHusband's Car Insurance was due a few weeks ago, We have both our cars plus our House Insurance with Direct Line for a good few years, which were always competitive.  The quote came in for almost £600 -up £300 since last year (yet we have never had any claims ever).  They looked at quote and took it down to around £570, so i went online and got it with Budget Insurance (underwriters Liverpool Victoria) for £290. House Insurance has just been quoted and up almost £100 since last year but still the best at that price. 
It is no wonder that Insurance Policy's are up given the many crashes etc that are happening with huge insurance claims arising from them, along with fraudulent claims being made.  This along with accidents being caused by non - insured drivers, that we are all being penalised for :(    Yet with all this the Insurance Companies profits have never been greater!

I've never done  the online quote thing .  I'd rather speak to someone on the  phone .

Do you or anyone  have any  good/bad experiences with  the online  quotes/policy?
Me too, but sure half the time they're filling in the exact same shite you're filling in online and you get the same quote.

Hmm that's what I was  sort of thinking.  But  I just find it more reassuring  checking over   The finer details with an actual human ,  or the fact you can ask a human a question about something

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 11, 2024, 09:52:45 PM

Hmm that's what I was  sort of thinking.  But  I just find it more reassuring  checking over   The finer details with an actual human ,  or the fact you can ask a human a question about something
Agree 100%

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 11, 2024, 09:52:45 PM

Get a couple of quotes online to see where you stand and then go into the phone queue.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Any tips on insurance companies for a 17 year old lad? He has just passed his test and was yapping about a Leon or a Golf (10 year old or so). The missus tried one company and it came in at 12 grand  :-\ . About 3300 for a Fiesta with a black box. I know nowhere is cheap for a fella just handed the books but the insurance is dearer than some of the cars I've been looking at!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2024, 04:45:23 PMAny tips on insurance companies for a 17 year old lad? He has just passed his test and was yapping about a Leon or a Golf (10 year old or so). The missus tried one company and it came in at 12 grand  :-\ . About 3300 for a Fiesta with a black box. I know nowhere is cheap for a fella just handed the books but the insurance is dearer than some of the cars I've been looking at!

Tell him insurance is unaffordable for a Golf or Leon at his age. I'd recommend a Clio, old style Auris or similar.

Was looking at a Hyundai i130 for some of mine, it's a tidy enough looking car, much lower group insurance & very low. car tax

Quote from: RedHand88 on July 04, 2024, 05:20:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2024, 04:45:23 PMAny tips on insurance companies for a 17 year old lad? He has just passed his test and was yapping about a Leon or a Golf (10 year old or so). The missus tried one company and it came in at 12 grand  :-\ . About 3300 for a Fiesta with a black box. I know nowhere is cheap for a fella just handed the books but the insurance is dearer than some of the cars I've been looking at!

Tell him insurance is unaffordable for a Golf or Leon at his age. I'd recommend a Clio, old style Auris or similar.
Oh he has already been told. He'll be getting a Fiesta but even they are scandalous. I think they are quite high because they are old and lack a lot of the safety features. He has a mate with a relatively fresh 1.6 Golf which is around 3 grand to insure which is the same as a 2011 1.2 Fiesta. 

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2024, 10:40:05 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 04, 2024, 05:20:38 PM

Oh he has already been told. He'll be getting a Fiesta but even they are scandalous. I think they are quite high because they are old and lack a lot of the safety features. He has a mate with a relatively fresh 1.6 Golf which is around 3 grand to insure which is the same as a 2011 1.2 Fiesta. 

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-insurance/85261/cheapest-cars-insure-uk

Delgany 2nds

TB...few wee points ..but your probably over it... add yourself and Mrs as named drivers.

Try multi car offers

Try quotes on different days / evening etc  ...https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/insurance/car-insurance/how-to-get-cheap-car-insurance/

If close to lads birthday wait to it ...plus look at least 5 weeks ahead for a price

Cheers lads. I'll pass all that info to the boss. Delgany that link looks useful.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2024, 11:24:04 PMCheers lads. I'll pass all that info to the boss. Delgany that link looks useful.

Make sure that at least one parent is on the policy, ideally one parent owns the yoke and adds the youth as a named driver.

As delgany says, if you can find a insurance company that will insure the lot, house, contents, multiple cars and so on there are big benefits over the year to be had
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Delgany 2nds

Quote from: armaghniac on July 05, 2024, 12:33:08 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2024, 11:24:04 PMCheers lads. I'll pass all that info to the boss. Delgany that link looks useful.

Make sure that at least one parent is on the policy, ideally one parent owns the yoke and adds the youth as a named driver.

Fronting a policy can be an issue if something goes wrong !

Quote from: Delgany 2nds on July 05, 2024, 04:20:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 05, 2024, 12:33:08 AM

Fronting a policy can be an issue if something goes wrong !

Yeah I had this issue once when I worked in Insurance. Insurance policy was under the Dad's name with the Mum and daughter named on the policy.

Daughter got into an accident and lo and behold the car was in her name. It was a massive headache and we were lucky the insurance company still covered the accident and only insisted on paying the difference in Premium which was £500.