Thug who beat thug freed

Started by longrunsthefox, January 20, 2010, 11:24:59 AM

Quote from: ziggysego on January 20, 2010, 02:25:00 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 20, 2010, 02:22:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 20, 2010, 02:13:24 PM
Quote from: full back on January 20, 2010, 02:11:01 PM

No ziggy, you are talking about someone being judge & jury and deciding if someone is guilty.

These boys had just committed the crime of terrorising a family & were guilty.

How would you feel if it was your family or one of your close friends?
Would you let the perpertrator get away & hope he is caught and then hope he is dealt with by the judiciary system :-\

I'm not saying I wouldn't have done nothing, I just wouldn't have been so brutal.

RE: Leenie.

I wouldn't call him a thug.
So you would hit him just not as hard.

Enough to stop him in his tracks and time for the PSNI/Garda to arrive.
Very noble of you! So your family is tied up the house after getting terrorised and you would take the time to stop and think about how much force you need to subdue the sc**bag and keep them there until the police arrive. Saying it would take 10 mins for th ecops to get there you would be administering this force at regular intervals? How do you regulate what would be enough to stop him in his tracks? Is there guidelines to follow?
So you dont have a problem hitting the sc**bag but you do have a problem if someone hits them harder than you deem necessory

how hard is enough?

IMO it would be all the fuckin might I could muster across the hoors skull.

If they've no consideration for me or my family then I'd certainly have none for them.

the colonel

good man johnny, i wouldnt want to have to be doing two or three times at intervals, thats were you'll get into trouble. sure if everyone done the proper job the first time there would be more work done in the world

nice clean dig first time, make sure he stays down
the difference between success and failure is energy

Is it just me or is anyone else getting a a 'Shaun of the dead' flash back with the cricket bat.  :D

The problem with this case is that the guy chased the robber away from his home and there was gap between the actual robbery taking place and the beating that was handed out.
It has come out that the guy on the end of the beating had 51 previous convictions for this type of thing and was given a surveilance order because of mental defects after the beating ( which I would like to see for myself before believing )

End of the day we have become a completely PC soceity the simple fact is if this guy hadnt of attempted to rob this family he would not have ended up on the end of the cricket bat.

Quote from: ziggysego on January 20, 2010, 01:49:37 PM
Fair play to him? No way. Yes, he has a right to defend himself. Not to the point that he leaves the thug with permanent brain damage and possible physical disabilities.

Of course he had, these scum prey on the fact that they scare most people and many people, put in that situation, just want them to leave their house. If scum entered my house, scared the living daylights out of my wife and young kids by tying them up and threatening them and then proceeded to rob me of the money and possessions I had worked hard to gain I'd have no problem with shooting dead each and everyone of them and dumping their bodies in a shallow grave. In fact if you assured me I'd get away with it, I'd do it as soon as they stepped in the door. You may argue that society can't function if we encourage a vigilante society but as long as the law treat these vermin so leniently, then I'll certainly applaud those who do take the law into their own hands and get away with it.

Celt_Man

He is definitely not a thug... look if someone comes into your home and ties your family up - you really don't know where it'll end do you??  More than likely it's gonna be a robbery of some sort but at the same time you never know what could happen...

So if you get the chance to stop the intruders, well then it's Lord of the Flies time... You hit him, hard and make sure he isn't dazed or is gonna get up after hitting him... otherwise it's likely to get a whole lot worse very quickly - so you make sure you hit him hard enough the first time to put him down because you might not get a second one.

I'll wager you would struggle to find any person on the board who would not do the same in that situation.

If the intruder, like in this case, suffer a long term serious injury - like brain trauma not a something like a limp - well then that would be terrible and something that you would have to live with for the rest of your life.  But rather that, then he got up from you hitting him and cause harm to you or your family...
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Tend to agree with youse all.. just threw it in to see wud some gobshite like Strabane man give me a touch about ATM robberies  ::)
Thanks for the support all the same Ziggy.

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: Zulu on January 20, 2010, 04:39:02 PM
Fair play to him? No way. Yes, he has a right to defend himself. Not to the point that he leaves the thug with permanent brain damage and possible physical disabilities.

Of course he had, these scum prey on the fact that they scare most people and many people, put in that situation, just want them to leave their house. If scum entered my house, scared the living daylights out of my wife and young kids by tying them up and threatening them and then proceeded to rob me of the money and possessions I had worked hard to gain I'd have no problem with shooting dead each and everyone of them and dumping their bodies in a shallow grave. In fact if you assured me I'd get away with it, I'd do it as soon as they stepped in the door. You may argue that society can't function if we encourage a vigilante society but as long as the law treat these vermin so leniently, then I'll certainly applaud those who do take the law into their own hands and get away with it.

:o
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

A Quinn Martin Production

I seem to be in the minority here so here goes.  The sentence of two years was probably harsh but this was not a man using "reasonable" force to protect himslef, his family or his possessions.  The man is a thug.  This was an act of revenge.  A punishment beating if you will.  The amount of force needed to break a cricket bat over someone's head is extreme, not reasonable.  The perpetrator (of the robbery) did not go to jail because he was unfit to face trial due to the injuries he recieved.

Had he attacked the robber while he was inside the house, no problem, in fact it's unlikely he would have been charged.  Interesting that some posters consider burglary to be a capital crime.
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

Quote from: thebigfella on January 20, 2010, 12:29:38 PM
Hmmmm fair play to him  ??? Seem to suggest he hit the burgler with the bat while he was on the ground.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/beds/bucks/herts/8469850.stm

They were tied up but the businessman escaped and enlisted his brother to help chase the offenders down the street, bringing one of them to the ground.

The pair left Salem with a permanent brain injury after hitting him with a cricket bat.

The force of the blow was so hard that it broke the bat into three pieces.

Lord Judge said: "This trial had nothing to do with the right of the householder to defend themselves or their families or their homes.

"The burglary was over and the burglars had gone. No one was in any further danger from them."

The decision to free Hussain comes one day after judges rejected his appeal against his conviction.

Lord Judge said the case was one of "true exceptionality".

I dont understand the chain of events - he and his wife were tied up, he escaped, went and got a cricket bat and his brother (where was the brother???) and ran down the street after the intruder?  How had he time to do that and why wasn't the intruder miles away??

A good few have asked what we'd do in these circumstances, I think I'd be staying with my terrified wife and children and making sure they were ok rather than tearing down a street after them.  I think my fear for their safety would outweigh the anger, which would probably come later.

I've no sympathy for this boy left brain damaged, f**k him, but we can't have a society where people take the law in to their own hands and tbh this Hussain boy sounds to be a thug himself.

Quote from: ziggysego on January 20, 2010, 01:58:13 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on January 20, 2010, 01:55:58 PM

No mention about the trauma that the captive family suffered, break into someones private residence then prepare to reap the whirlwind. The scum bag who terrorised this family wont be doing it again and thats a good thing.

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.

Yip, they should have all shook hands and yer man should have forgiven them on the spot.

If it was your world ziggy with your people being robbed and tied up you would dance to a different tune.

The punishment was very severe however I understand why he got what he did.

Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on January 20, 2010, 06:02:10 PM
I seem to be in the minority here so here goes.  The sentence of two years was probably harsh but this was not a man using "reasonable" force to protect himself, his family or his possessions.  The man is a thug.  This was an act of revenge.  A punishment beating if you will.  The amount of force needed to break a cricket bat over someone's head is extreme, not reasonable.  The perpetrator (of the robbery) did not go to jail because he was unfit to face trial due to the injuries he received.

Had he attacked the robber while he was inside the house, no problem, in fact it's unlikely he would have been charged.  Interesting that some posters consider burglary to be a capital crime.

I'm with this. The description of events on the news don't sound too pretty. It seems he two brothers armed themselves, chased the thief, knocked him to the ground, and while he lay there unarmed, they tried to smash his head in with a bat. Regardless of what went on beforehand, I don't understand how anyone can see this as acceptable behaviour.

Premier Emperor

A burglar should be fair game for all forms of rough treatment once he crosses the threshold of your house!

Quote from: Premier Emperor on January 20, 2010, 08:26:10 PM
A burglar should be fair game for all forms of rough treatment once he crosses the threshold of your house!

We're about to amend the law here to that effect. It still won't allow you to form a posse and bate his brains out at some later time in some other place, though. We're expected to leave retribution to the law, unfortunately or not, however you see it.

Capt Pat

The outcome of this case seems reasonable enough. The guy who gave the robber brain damage did some time in jail as a warning but was let out early. You can not have people taking the law into their own hands or there would be anarchy. Having said that you can certainly understand why he did it. It was not just a case of someone breaking into a house and trying to steal a laptop. These thugs had the guys falmily tied up and made serious threats against them. The guy who got the brain damage was asking for it to be quite frank. It is not like it is any great loss to him as he is off doing petty crime again. It is not like he flew planes for a living and had to go back to work.