The Savage Eye

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, December 09, 2009, 11:39:56 PM

Quote from: Pangurban on March 05, 2010, 01:00:22 AM
Infantile trash,with not one redeeming feature,    if it were funny you could excuse it, but the only joke in it is that some programme planner thought it fit to put on our screens

Find that a mad analysis. Everyone to their own but I thought that show turned all the conventions of an RTE comedy on its head. It was innovative, unpredictable, seriously clever, biting and laugh out loud funny. And it got the Irish down to a tee. I admit it may have been crude at time but....Jaysus.

I agree. First class comedy and satire and just about the only funny thing I can remember emanating from RTÉ since Scrap Saturday, apart from the Apres Match lads. Unfortunately, crudeness is ingrained in the genre now; that will change too, in time, but it'd be a baby/bathwater job to dismiss it for that alone.

gerrykeegan

Back to the golf for me. Struggled to laugh to be honest, a few small laughs
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Very funny. Never heard of it before.

All of a Sludden

"embrace the inner culchie"
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Anyone see the soccer sketch on this last night? It was followed by Keano giving a good reinactment of Joe Pesci's "Funny Guy" speech in Goodfellas at Mick McCarthy. Funny Guys.

Very funny. Though I had to suck it up when they were having a go at the GAA and GAA types and slagging about Ireland being the only country that invents games nobody else wants to play.

Harold Disgracey

Very funny, I thought the wife was going to wet herself laughing at Joe Duffy & the vuvuzela. I didn't know David McSavage was a son of David Andrews & brother of Barry Andrews.

For me, McSavage seems to be going in the opposite direction to most comedians in that his TV show is far better than his Stand Up.
Seen him loads of times on the street and thought he was very funny but seen him on stage and he was shite.

heh heh we're the nordies......

All of a Sludden

I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Did you hear Mary Robinson going on about how her Fanny's "trimmins" was more an "irish" than a Brazilian in that it was wild and full of all sorts of wildlife but would scare the shite out of any british invader :D

Capt Pat

The roy keame  goodfellas speech gets top marks.
It would be nice thpugh if you did't have to be related to the foundee of the station to get a job there.